We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price/quality balance”
Review of Hotel Merkur

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Merkur
Ranked #110 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good price/quality balance”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Small, but nice hotel, located within 10 minutes walk from Powder Tower. Close to the central railway station and Florenc subway station. It is not in the very center, but the neighborhood is quiet, there are no drunk crowds around.
Decent breakfasts, friendly staff, free WiFi. The only problem was that the bedspread was changed only once during our one week's stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank aliq123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    544
    153
    31
    43
See reviews for
331
383
62
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The word 'Hotel' here is actually quite a misnomer since its actually just a hostel and that too quite an average one! This was my third trip to Prague and my first with my newly wedded wife so I thought that lets make it special and stay in a proper Hotel instead of the usual hostels I would stay in. What an insanely huge mistake it was!!
The location is actually quite convenient right next to a Metro station but as you go around the city of Prague, one realizes that 'Location' is quite an over rated virtue for a hotel in Prague since the city is extremely well connected and has an efficient public transport system (one of the best in Europe actually!) It turned into a disadvantage for us in fact since, we were woken quite rudely by huge ruckus early in the morning by the cleaning crew of the tram station.
The room itself was OK but the floor was covered in an abrasive, ugly old carpet which was smelling of rot. The floorboards creaked almost everywhere. After an entire day of sightseeing, when we came back to the room at around 9 in the night, the room was full of all kinds of insects buzzing around the one central light in the room, in spite of all the curtains being drawn and the windows shut! When I called the reception to send someone to clear the room, lo and behold, I was informed that he is the only guy in the entire 'Hotel' and that there is NO other staff present! Shocking that a place which masquerades itself as a 'Hotel' doesn't have absolutely anyone other than a receptionist. This is worse than many hostels even! I was informed by the receptionist that there is just one can of bug spray which was given to some other guest and that I had to wait my turn and keep on calling to ask. Finally after an hour of calling, I was informed that it was back, so I went down took the bug spray, sprayed all over my room (now filled with dead insects) then had to go down to the reception to return it so that some other aggrieved customer could have it.
Horrible experience! Please stay away!! If you must though, do get your own Bug spray!!

Room Tip: None! Just stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kiran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The location is good for discovering Prague and at the same time for voyages from the city.
To Power Gate is about 10-15 min by walk, the Florenz Bus Station is in front of it.
The room was enough clean, spacious. The breakfasts were good. In sum, it deserves their good 3*, There was a bit noisy from the street (our room had the windows out to the road), but the main trouble was a temperature in a room. These winter was extremely warm, but we were freezing in the bed, the very small heat radiator was working, but didn't cope with it.
By the way, in the dining room there was even more chilly.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndryKuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, the rooms were clean and the staff was friendly, even though only reception spoke english or german. It is not as close to the sights as other hotels but the reliable tram system in Prague is right outside the door which made getting around very easy and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and diverse in buffet form which is always good and parking is also availabe. All in all we had a great 4 nights in Hotel Merkur and would not hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jem357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

When we arrived, we were told no our reservation could not be honoured as a man did a mistake. The lady could not explain the problem in proper english. She made us understood that the other hotel is a better location etc. She made us sign a voucher, which we saw later, indicated, that we agreed to the change and no further claims will be done. How unprofessional!

The hotel we where send too, the Brixon and not at all better.
If this happens to you, don't except.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

it is a nice hotel to stay, rather close to the Old City, staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are rather big and comfortable. The only disadvantage is cleaning, our room was put in order only once, in the first day, after that nobody even touched beds and there was constant lack of soap and shampoo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alinalisitsyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

A pleasant walk to the town past some much better looking "deco" inspired hotels.
This hotel is decorated in a depressing old style.I don't like holidaying in old run-down hotels .
Breakfast was very plain also.
We booked through Qantas and very disappointed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#122 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#138 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
AXA hotel
AXA hotel
#171 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Rubicon
Hotel Rubicon
#220 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Praha 8
Galerie Royale
Galerie Royale
#120 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Ibis Praha Old Town
Ibis Praha Old Town
#161 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merkur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merkur

Property: Hotel Merkur
Address: Teshnov 1162/9, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Prague
#192 Romantic Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merkur 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with cafe, bar & restaurant is located in the city centre; within walking distance of historical sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Merkur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merkur Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing