We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is second to none, steps away from the Charles Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #45 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location is second to none, steps away from the Charles Bridge”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Once you actually find this hotel, you will be glad you did! It was very difficult to locate (even with GPS and a call to the hotel), because you have to drive UNDER the Charles Bridge to Kampa Square. It is in a very quiet (for Prague, that is) area of the city. No elevator, but Ondrej was glad to help us carry our luggage to the top floor. We had a suite to accommodate my husband, myself and our two kids. Two very large beds, a living room and an eating area. It was VERY spacious and really clean. Free wifi and air conditioning. The breakfasts here are really very good, and we looked forward to eating in the cellar each morning. I am very glad we stayed on this side of the bridge. The other side (the Old Town square) is great during the day, but it can get very crazy and loud at night. Everyone in the family gave me a big "thumbs up" for booking the room here. It was perfect for us, and gave us a lovely home base each night after three days of sightseeing. It only has 26 rooms or so, and this made us feel like we were staying someplace kind of out of the way and unique. Forget a cookie cutter "Hilton" type hotel, you can stay at that kind of hotel anywhere in the world. This one made us feel like we were definitely in Praha!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RunningMom47201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a lovely feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I am truly happy that your family was satisfied with your choice and our service. It´s nice to read that you enjoyed your stay in Prague. As was written, we are not a big chain and what we really would like to do is to respect a unique peaceful location and offer to our guests a homely atmosphere, thanks a lot!
Best regards to Columbus,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    334
    42
    7
    9
See reviews for
227
677
29
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta Europe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Spent a week at the Archibald in Prague ... This hotel has the great convenience of being close to everything but being far from the noise..before going to Prague I was uncertain of whether to stay close to the old town or on the other side of the Charles bridge where the Archibald is located...I m so glad I chose the latter...for starters during the UEFA finals there was a big screen in the old town square...furthermore thousands of tourists flock the streets of the old town till very late at night....after sight seeing for long (hot) hours it was great to get back to our spacious room, strong shower and have a good nights rest followed by a fantastic breakfast. This coupled with a very helpful and obliging receptionist named 'Ondrej' made our stay very very comfortable .. We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay at it again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rammiebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel I would like to Thank you very much for your time taking to share your positive impressions with us and others travellers. This kind of feedback is always the best advertisement for all of us and I truly appreciate it.
I am happy that you were satisfied with your choice and that we were partly the reason why your fews days in Prague were comfortable for you...Thanks a lot for your recommendation as well!
Sincerely,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

An excellent hotel in a quiet square ( Kampa ) very close to many of the best sights in Prague with rooms overlooking the river Vltava ,and Charles Bridge.A couple of outside tables where one can enjoy meals and drinks at very reasonable prices watching the pleasure boats passing, and you can get on a boat here also.

Room Tip: Only rooms on top floor have A/C and some rooms have view of Charles Bridge and the boats on the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Mr. Michael,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Archibald At the Charles Bridge hotel and your nice comment written about it. It´s nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am glad that you liked our outside restaurant area exactly next to the river. I hope that you spent a memorable time in Prague and of course we´ll be happy to welcome you back anytime!
Kind regards to Warrington,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The photos of the hotel were what initially sold us, and they are 100% accurate! The hotel is literally steps from the bridge, but without the noise and fuss of traffic (foot or car). Our room (#11) faced the bridge, so we could see the river boats, paddle boats, and the "new town," yet there were nice curtains that blocked out the light when we wanted to nap or at night. Breakfast was a delight--cold cuts, cheese, breads, juices, cereal, yogurt...typically European, but served in the brick-covered cellar/ restaurant area. Just charming and beautiful. The best part of the hotel, though, was the warmth and helpfulness of the front desk staff. They were able to answer every question, made prints of web info for us, called us a car to get to the airport, handed out umbrellas when a shower sprung up, always had a smile and great suggestions. . .they even asked the kitchen staff make us sandwiches and gave us fruit for our early flight home. Be prepared for steps to get up to the rooms, but they are just starting to put in an elevator. I would go back tomorrow!
The "old town," or castle side of the river where the hotel is located seemed much safer and less touristy than the other side. Be prepared for a lot of graffiti, litter, and beggars in Prague. This is not Vienna or Munich. Bring change (Kc) for bathrooms (!) and keep an extra eye on wallets and cameras. We saw guys with laser pointers at the outdoor markets and tourist areas who would scout out potential victims while others in their group would cosy up next to tourists. It is a big city, but being smart about things will get you far. Enjoy the hotel--it was the best part of our stay in Prague!

Room Tip: Number 11 was great--facing the river and beautiful views, but the street views were really viewing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petra050, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Mrs.Jenn,
first of all I would like to Thank you so much for your stay in our hotel and your complete feedback you wrote to us and your lovely photos you added - they can say more then any description what we are ready to offer for our guests, thanks a lot!
I really appreciate your more then kind words addressed to my colleagues from reception and it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with them. You are right with an information about lift - we are finishing with installation ...so I hope that you´ll get a possibility to visit us again in future to see it, we´ll be glad to welcome you here!
Best regards to Illinois,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here with family of 4 which included 2 college age children. Plenty of space, quiet room and nice view to the river. Only steps to the Charles Bridge for a peaceful evening stole and fireworks display. Close to trams and easy walk to main Old Town Square. The restroom was a bit tight but that is the euro way and work well if the guests are organized. The morning wait staff lady during the week days was very nice and she had everything well in hand. Not sure if the hotel has an elevator as we took the stairs each time to our room #19 so if required you might check with this hotel if a lift is available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glee4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guests,
on behalf of Archibald hotel and staff I would like to Thank you very much that you choose our hotel for your recent city break in Prague. It´more then nice to read that your family was satisfied
with our location, room, services and it will be pleasure for me to share your compliments with my colleague from restaurant. This kind of feedback is always perfect motivation for our work, thanks. If you´ll have a chance to come back in future, it will be pleasure for us to welcome you At the Charles Bridge hotel! (just for information - lift will be ready in few weeks:)
Best regards to Dallas,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
158 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel is located just 3min wlak from Charles bridge, meaning very central. No clubs or other things directly close to the hotel, meaning nothing that distrubs during the night. If you want to go to a great night club the very big 5 floor clud is only 5min walking from the hotel. The hotel was clean and fresh. The room was big but a little bit too hard bed for my taste (have heard this is common for Prague) so perhaps not so bad anyhow. The breakfast included was great, with scrambled eggs and bacon and bread etc. Price wise I paid €95 for one night,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMJ_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks a lot for your recent stay with us and your nice review you posted. It´s nice to read that
you enjoyed our quiet but central position in the heart of old Prague and I am happy that you were satisfied with your choice of the hotel. I am sorry that you had troubles with bed but I hope that it´s understandable that in this case is always difficult to satisfy everybody...Thank you!
Kind regards to Sweden,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here with my husband in early June for 4 nights. What can I say great location, great hotel, great room, great staff!
Only negative was the restaurant, ate lunch there once and the staff were so so rude, food average and very over priced. This was a a huge disappointment however there are plenty of other restaurants and cafe super close to the hotel so there are a lot of better ones to choose from.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the street, even though it didn't have the river views of other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ship4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Guests,
first of all I would like to Thank you so much for your kind words written through Tripadvisor to us and thanks for your stay in our hotel.... I really appreciate your comments mainly because you mentioned your positive experiences with hotel at all but also unpleasant one regarding service in our restaurant, of course it´s not acceptable and please be sure that we´ll do maximum to avoid this manners in future. In spite of this fact I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and it will be plaesure for us to welcome you back anytime!
Best regards to Brisbane,
Petra Sudlikova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#78 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,510 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#80 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,441 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,285 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#17 of 650 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Property: Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#44 Family Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing