We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAR FROM THE MADDING CROWD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #55 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“FAR FROM THE MADDING CROWD”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

General:

There are over 650 hotels in Prague and I must have googled a significant number of them whilst working out where to stay. I can save you the trouble; if you are looking for a friendly reasonably priced 4 star historic Hotel in the prettiest part of Prague within walking distance of all the sights and near a good range of restaurants, yet away from the tourist hordes, then this is the place for you.

I stayed at the Archibald At the Charles Bridge for 4 nights 19 to 23 Aug 13 for a mini break to explore Prague.

Room

I was lucky enough to stay in one of the four Deluxe Double Rooms (Room 21). The attic room was light, airy and spacious with a small entrance area for coats and shoes. The room was air conditioned, came with a mini bar fridge, LCD TV, tea/coffee making facilities. It had a sofa, dinning room table with chairs, plus numerous other chairs. All the furniture was in keeping with the period of the property. The bed was mega comfortable (not an accolade I give often) and came with two separate single duvets.

The room had four windows, three sky lights and an end window looking onto the Charles Bridge and river (see picture).

The Bathroom was small, although it didn’t feel like a compromise at all as it wasn’t claustrophobic. It had a powerful shower and near silent but effective extractor fan which meant the mirror didn’t steam up between users and also was so quiet it didn’t keep you awake at night.

Location

The location is where the Archibald At the Charles Bridge comes in to its own. Whilst within walking distance of all the main sights in Prague it is set away from the main tourist areas which are just a sea of people in August. The Mala Strana or Lesser Quarter (on the western side of the river) is perfect for escaping the crowds in a beautiful setting. The hotel sits on the banks of the Vltava river and is 2 minutes walk from the Charles Bridge. It is right next to a lovely park. Plenty of recommended restaurants within walking distance.

Service – A smiley welcome by all staff and always keen to help.

Food/Restaurant: Breakfast is served in stylish cellar restaurant with exposed brickwork. A good buffet range of meats/ cheeses, yogurts, cakes, croissants, juices, fruits, fresh coffee, bread etc etc. I am a fan of breakfast and the spread certainly met my expectations. I ate in restaurant once, on the night we arrived, average but well priced with 10% off list prices for residents.

There are plenty of other good restaurants within walking distance I ate at the following (on the recommendation of the Lonely Planet Guide) and would recommend.

The Little Whale – (http://www.umalevelryby.cz/en/restaurace/). A small (chef/owner + waitress) very friendly restaurant / bistro (less than 20 covers) with fantastic fresh sea food and reasonably priced food / wine. I had a fabulous paella. Worth booking as so small.


The NOI Restaurant – (http://www.noirestaurant.cz/en/). A smart Thai restaurant very popular with the locals definitely worth booking due to its popularity. Priced for local market so very very good value. Food tasty and wide selection.

Airport Transfer – To get to / from Prague Airport I used Prague Airport Transfers; a taxi each way cost CZK 550. Met at the airport by a well presented driver in a suit holding a name board, he wheeled the luggage to an immaculate car parked outside. Return journey upgraded to a Mercedes for no extra charge. Book via the web to avoid language difficulties www.prague-airport-transfers.co.uk and you get an email confirmation

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catttto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your thorough review of your stay in Prague! It´s very nice of you that you took your time to inform others about the details of our accomodation service and we really appreciate it. Our aim is to offer our guests the best treatment around for a fair price. So thank you very much and everybody here at Archibald Hotels Prague hopes that you return to us someday! With sincere regards from sunny Prague, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    879
    345
    51
    8
    9
See reviews for
245
700
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Walking time from train station across Charles Bridge to Hotel, down off left side of bridge apx. 40 minutes. Extremely knowledgable and helpful receptionist. Rooms all unique, quiet and clean. Most rooms offer river and bridge views. Tap water delicious. Restaurant is excellent. Wifi room reception spotty. Complimentary breakfast offers wide variety of tasty good food. They suggested the riverboat dinner jazz cruise which was relaxing. Wish they played more Czeck music. Sweet sound, heart-filled soul sound of these lovely people. The food offed by cooking venders in front of hotel is really tasty. Get up at dawn to walk Charles Bridge before the crowds become oppressive. Despite all pick pocket warnings, we saw no threats or alarming activity on streets.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ReddiTugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your kind review! It´s a great pleasure for us to see that you enjoyed your stay and especially our service and the nice location of our Kampa Island. It is a real sanctuary in the busy historic centre oour beautiful city of Prague. Once again, thank you and have a great day! E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in Prague. What was marvelous about this hotel was that after a tiring day walking the sites in Prague it was great to return to a quiet oasis on Kampa island. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant, great food, or one of the other 4 restaruants on Kampa Island. Hotel itself was fab, big room, nicely set up, helpful staff and lovely breakfast and perfect location. I booked well in advance and got a very reasonable rate.
Wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we return to Prague.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for your nice review! It´s a great pleasure to hear that you had a nice time in Prague and in our hotel. In my opinion, the location is unbeatable and i can assure you that every day we try to raise the bar of our service higher. Also I have to agree that it was a good idea to book in advance! Looking forward to your next stay,
E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ledbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We were absolutely delighted with "At the Charles Bridge", perfect location for us, and although literally steps away from the Charles Bridge, we not troubled by noise and crowds. The hotel has lots of character but tastefully modernised. spacious rooms with excellent facilities, very good breakfast and everyone in the hotel could not have been more friendly and helpful. A great discovery and very much want to visit again.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the square which was pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hils1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for your nice review! We are really glad that you enjoyed the perfect location of our hotel and even more that you appreciated our service. You are correct about the views on the square, they are very nice at the moment, and even nicer in autmn and spring time.With sincere regards from sunny Prague, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed there at the end of July for our 25th anniversary. Location is perfect on the Palace side. Our room #12 was spacious, had ac, little refrigerator, clean and a great view of the bridge. Martin (night clerk) was awesome...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotlantavols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you for your nice words about our hotel! It´s a great pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We would be very glad to invite you again in future. Wishing you a great summer time,
E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Had 6 wonderful nights in this perfectly located little hotel in Prague. The room was very spacious, and had a partial view of the river and its opposite bank. A nice little park was nearby and on the last two days Kampa Island came alive with little food/knick knack market stalls just outside the hotel. Charles Bridge is a 2 minute walk, great for those wanting to get up at dawn for some great photos while its quiet.

The Buffet breakfast was great...it didn't change much but the variety available was enough.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

The 'double' windows (one windows behind another one which could all be opened) were fantastic at keeping the noise out...there was actually some construction work going on during the day but I barely noticed or heard it.

One thing that stood out was the little espresso coffee sachets in the room...they were very good, not your usual instant coffee.

There are a few minor things they could do though to make it even better.

- some english channels (the TV was quite large but wasted)
- restaurant was probably not the greatest in terms of food quality
- the pillows I thought were quite strange...big massive things, however I think these might be normal in Czech Republic as just arrived in hotel in Cesky Krumlov and it has the same pillows

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river may have river view and you also get the rising sun and may be a little quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for your kind (and thorough!) review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here on Kampa Island! I would like to assure you that we are constantly working on improving our product. We are implementing new English movie and music channels and preparing new and more exciting menu! The pillows are unfortunately a matter of personal preference, I can assure you that they are along with our mattresses the best on hotel market. So once again, thank you for your visit and you kind review, I wish you a great day! E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just steps from the Charles Bridge in Mala Strana, yet reasonably distant from the hordes of tourists on the Bridge, this is a great hotel in a wonderful location. Kudos to the entire staff both in the hotel and the adjacent pub (the building is a former brewery) for their attention to detail. Rooms are spotless, have considerable "old world" character, yet are modern in every respect. Would definitely stay here again on any return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Front Office Manager at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you for your kind review! We are glad that you appreciated our great location , staff and clanliness during your stay! Keeping our rooms in original style is a very nice experience for most of our guests. So thank you again and I wish you a nice day! With sincere regards, E.Aljanabi, FOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#71 of 649 in Prague
339 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 649 in Prague
2,689 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#77 of 649 in Prague
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#16 of 649 in Prague
666 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Leonardo Prague
Hotel Leonardo Prague
#59 of 649 in Prague
2,357 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#24 of 649 in Prague
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Property: Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#44 Family Hotel in Prague
#50 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing