We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is there any other place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #50 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Is there any other place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Archibald is next to probably the busiest attraction in the whole of Prague, The Charles Bridge. Despite that the hotel is situated in a very quite and selective enclave away from the prying eyes of the passing tourists. All the staff at the hotel speak English, were extremely helpful and quite frankly you could meet a nicer bunch of people running such a busy hotel. Breakfast was top quality and was served in their cavern themed restaurant. The restaurant itself served a range of good evening meals. We did the circuit of local eateries over the first few days but we were frankly not impressed with the nearby expensive and noisy cafes. When we got around to trying the hotel restaurant it was brilliant and had a really good price on their mains.
We stayed at the top with a view over looking the river. We would recommend you pay that little bit extra and get one of the larger rooms with a view. Our room had a large well fitted bathroom, but the show curtain was an oddity in the days of glass options. The bed was good and all the comforts of home were present in the room. The internet connection worked well but if you have a car ensure you pre reserve a parking spot or you will dip out ( They appear to only have a couple). Walking from here means in just a few minutes you will be able to visit all teh major attractions. Overall we would have to say staying at this hotel was the icing on a great visit to the wonderful city of Prague.
Our opinion. You will not be sorry you stayed at the Archibald by the bridge.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a top floor room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuatara007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    319
    40
    7
    9
See reviews for
211
638
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Completely amazing. Just a stones throw from the busy Charles bridge, but a million miles away. First class room and very very clean. Helpful and friendly staff. Restaurant was very good with first class waiter service. The breakfast was more than plentiful with a much varied selection every day. Will definitely return next year

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xtrail1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a quiet reprieve from the crowds. The Kampa Island location was very convenient (very close to Charles Bridge) and the hotel is quaint. Our room had two king beds which worked well for my husband, myself and our two children. The room was clean and spacious. The breakfast was good, with a variety of options. We added the airport transfer which was seamless. It would be helpful if the bathroom had more counter space.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MAtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Manažer at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Dean & Andrea,

we do very much appreciate your comments and feedback ! Thank you very much for your visit. We are glad that you appreciated our room, service, staff and restaurant. I can assure you we are working on quality of our servivce every single day ! As a next step we choose enlargement of bathroom. I will pass your feedback to all my colleagues.


Kind Regards,
Jan Kalenda,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

we hadn't been to Prague for 20 years. so we were a little shocked at the crowds. now this hotel would be great in any location - but to be at such a calm oasis - near the excitement of the bridge and castle is pretty special. the front desk is very ably staffed - Ondrej making sure we had what we needed and even researching a specific shop for us. they also arranged our multiple transfers from airport. I took no pictures of the hotel room because it was exactly as it was described on the internet (family room deluxe). I think the only thing I would do different is to not commit to the half board options as sometimes you are out on the town and not ready to head back for food around dinner time. the breakfast was large, diverse and in the beautiful arched brick room shown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Manažer at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a generous review on your stay at Archibald At the Charles Bridge.

Prague is a magnificent city with a long history and I am delighted to read that we helped to make your stay in Prague a memorable one. Thank you for pointing out the comfort of our rooms as well as the attentive and professional service of my colleagues. Be sure we are trying hard everyday to be one of the best hotels with the best service around.

Again thank you very much and I look forward to welcoming you back to our unique hotel. Now you can find us also on Facebook and we started new better website. For any special offer you can contact our reservation department.

With my best regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

First, this review may sound like I'm complaining, but this is just nitpicking. This hotel is awesome. The staff is great, the rooms are nice, the breakfast is awesome, the location is perfect, it is definitely deserving of the great reviews. However, here are my complaints:
- the bathroom sink is tiny, making it hard to use
- the furniture is antique, so it is impossible to sneak away in the morning if someone in your group is sleeping in because everything makes noise
- even though the front desk allowed us a late checkout, they didn't inform housekeeping and they were bothering us to leave

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Manažer at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent stay in our hotel and your kind feedback as well.
I am glad to read that you were satisfied with our location, room and services...it´s more than nice for me to read that stay here was a pleasant surprise for our guests and I am happy that you spent nice time in Prague. Please accept my apologize for the inconvenience which you mention in text above. We are planning to improve our bathrooms right now so there should not be this kind of problem anymore in future.

Kind regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a fantastic stay in Prague at the Archibald At the Charles Bridge. The hotel was excellent in every way.
For those travelling between now and April 2015: be aware that the usual road approach to Na Kampe is blocked off. Taxi drivers are not all aware how to get to the hotel. By car you have to approach via Mala Strana Square and start driving up Mostecka (avoiding the jay-walking pedestrians) as if you are going to drive on to the Charles Bridge, then you have to turn right into a tiny street (Lazenska) and follow the complicated wiggles of the side streets including mounting the pavement to drive over a tiny bridge (traffic lights to take it in turns) and eventually you get there. There is no problem with pedestrian access. And the diversion is only until April 2015. From the hotel to being on the Charles Bridge is a two minute walk. Boat trips go from immediately round the corner from the hotel.
The hotel was absolutely ideal: all the staff were most helpful, including the welcome at 1.00am when we arrived the first time (we stayed twice for two nights with an excursion into the Krkonose Mountains in the middle of our trip). The rooms were all extremely comfortable and clean (we had two rooms each time, so four in all), breakfast was a fantastic spread and the location absolutely ideal. I could go on. We will definitely stay there again.
For those with small children I might add that a three minute walk southbound, through the park towards the Kampa Museum, there is a nice children's play area (behind the building with the loos) where our grandchildren enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 190737David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Manažer at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your review and helpful tips here on TripAdvisor, but most of all for choosing to stay in Hotel Archibald At the Charles Bridge during your trip to Prague!

We really appreciate your comments and are so glad that your experience with room felt like we “met your expectations”.

In Archibald At the Charles Bridge we all look forward to having the privilege of welcoming you back once again. If you would like to stay with us again do not hesitate to contact our reservation department to get some special offer. Now you can find us on FACEBOOK and we also have new better website.

Kind Regards,
Jan Kalenda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babylon, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

First I strongly suggest staying on Kampa Island during your stay in Prague. When booking I was a bit nervous but I am so happy I did this. Prague is amazing and beautiful - also very busy and loud. It was so nice to come back to this hotel at the end of the day. We got room #21 which was the one I wanted. My ONLY complaint is that the bathroom was gross - it had a tiny stall shower and it hadn't been cleaned in forever, there was black mold all over it. Besides that, it was a warm friendly place with such an amazing European feel throughout. Plus the breakfast was good. We loved the restaurant and ate there 2 times!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVidaEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archibald h, Manažer at Archibald At the Charles Bridge, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Pauline,

Many thanks for your review here on TripAdvisor, but most of all for choosing to stay in Hotel Archibald At the Charles Bridge during your trip to Prague!

We really appreciate your comments and are so glad that your experience felt like we “fulfilled all of your needs”. We are planning to improve our bathrooms so we hope you taste the changes during your next probalble stay.

In Archibald At the Charles Bridge we all look forward to having the privilege of welcoming you back once again. Newly you can find us also on facebook or on our new websites.

Kind regards,
Jan Kalenda,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#59 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#20 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#85 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#29 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Property: Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#44 Family Hotel in Prague
#45 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing