We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Ranked #50 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Latvia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

I chose this hotel, because we had only 1 day in Prague. Location was the most important for us. I should say, the location was one of the best I could think of. The hotel is nice, clean, very helpful staff, rooms are of nice size, bathroom amenities basic, breakfast rather poor. Lack of elevator could be a problem for some travelers, but they offer help with luggage.
Good hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ievinieks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    319
    40
    7
    9
See reviews for
211
638
29
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2010

Stayed at the Archibald for a few days at the start of December, it is in a great position a few paces away from the lesser town end of the Charles Bridge in an area that is quiet and a bit less touristy than the old town side.

The room was spacious with a table and sofa, mini bar and safe, there was a good sized shower room also and a lobby to hang coats etc.

We encountered problems with our flight being cancelled due to Gatwick being snowed in, the staff were so helpful and investigated different flights etc for us and even let us stay in the room on the last day for free, their help eased a difficult and stressful couple of days.

I would visit again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irate321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2010

Fantastic hotel location, perfect for walking to main attractions, right on Charles Bridge, however walk off bridge to hotel and peace and quiet. Friendly staff, discount of 10% at restaurant next door, if you get chance prebook at trip on Jazzboat, a must if you love jazz, you can book before you travel, even choose your seats! well worth it. Booked hotel through laterooms for a good price, you will not go far wrong staying here, most of other trip advisor reports say the same too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morrelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

We have just come back from a three day stay in the wonderful city of Prague. I chose this hotel because of its location and the favourable reviews it got on Tripadvisor and I must say that everyone here was correct: This is a gem of a place and I will certainly come back to stay here again. Our room had windows facing the courtyard, but noise was not a problem. Yes, we did occasionally hear cars when we had the windows open, but as it was snowing outside, there wasn't a lot of traffic and only a few tourists around. Our room on the second floor was very spacious and we loved having a little entrance area where we could leave our wet shoes and coats before entering the bedroom. Yes, the bathroom wasn't huge, but we found it sufficient in size and the shower wasn't too small. The paint on the bathroom ceiling above the shower was pealing off, but other than that everything was close to perfect. The beds were very comfortable and the furniture was just lovely. We really felt at home in this hotel.
The breakfast was yummy and very filling and I loved that it was on until 10.30 a.m. every morning, so sleeping in didn't mean we had to go hungry. There was free WiFi in all the rooms for people with smartphones or laptops and a free internet terminal next to the reception for those people travelling without electronic gadgets.
The fact that there is no lift may be problematic for people with heavy luggage and/or knee problems, however the receptionist offered to help carry up our bags on arrival. I will certainly recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisearchitekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

I read all the reviews here at tripadvisor before booking our rooms at Archibald and I am not disappointed.
This hotel is indeed the perfect place to stay in Prague...just a stone throw away from the famours Charles Bridge ...the buffet breakfast is very very satisfying and the rooms are really really spacious, clean. and the furnishing made them cosy and classy..The shower cubicle however is quite small even for asians like us.
The hotel staff are very helpful.. they took our luggages to our room when we requested because we could not carry them up the stairs and brought them down.on check out time.
Everything you want to see in the old and lesser towns are walking distance from the
hotel..
Archibald at the Charles Bridge overlooks the vitava river from the backside and a beautiful tree lined square in front where our rooms are located . We had a blast taking pictures with some of us looking down and one of us taking the picture from the street..
We felt very very safe because a police station is just across the street from our hotel.
Prague is a beautiful city ..and staying at the Archibald made it more beautiful... we just walked to the Charles bridge and saw the medieval buildings and towering castles from the bridge..
It also has a restaurant where you get 10 percent discount if you are guest ..just charge the bill to your hotel room and pay on check out......

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angeramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

Because of previous comments we chose this hotel for our first visit to Prague. Thank you everybody, you were all correct! Fellow Trip Advisors have never yet disappointed us!
This hotel and the location are wonderful! We had room 22 overlooking the river, a large, quiet room with an even larger really comfortable bed (only downside was the tiny shower room). The weather was also on our side and the sunrise over the Charles Bridge with the morning mist and the autumn colours was just superb!
We highly recommend staying at the Archibald Charles Bridge and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else! Watch out for the fisherman in his small boat, there every day!
P.S.: Don't bother doing the 2 hour boat trip which goes through the loch, it's not worth it! Public transport to and from the airport is excellent and very cheap, 26 czk, taxis cost around 600/700 czk!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P.E. RSA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

At The Charles Bridge was the best stay of our holiday. Location was perfect, right on the river ,next to the Charles Bridge. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and our stay was made even more enjoyable by the kind attention and helpfullness of Andre at the front desk. Would highly reccommend and will definately be staying there on our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
The Golden Scissors
The Golden Scissors
#68 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Pod Vezi
Hotel Pod Vezi
#2 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,384 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#20 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#87 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#33 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#30 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archibald At the Charles Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archibald At the Charles Bridge

Property: Archibald At the Charles Bridge
Address: Na Kampe 508/15 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#44 Family Hotel in Prague
#45 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Archibald At the Charles Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Archibald At the Charles Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Archibald u Karlova Mostu (At The Charles Bridge) Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing