We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #123 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“Superb location”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was in the attic room, which was a tad small and the elevator does not get you there so I had the carry my suitcase up the stairs.

WiFi works perfect, hotel staff was friendly and breakfast was delicious.

I'd go back and wouldn't give it a second thought.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maormp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear maormp,

Thank you for your review and your positive comments. I am happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was helpful during your stay. If you have any future travel plans to Prague, please do contact me directly at michaela.bauerova "at" hoteluprince.com as I will be happy to assist you with a room of your preference.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    250
    64
    43
    30
See reviews for
147
502
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Prague. The hotel was excellent. It is right on the Old Town Square, such a great location. Most of the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed our time and would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jeb1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear jeb1401,

Thank you for posting a positive review on our TripAdvisor page, as well as for having chosen us in Prague.

We are happy to read that you liked our hotel, its location and that you have enjoyed your stay. I am glad to know that you would recommend our hotel to others.

We hope to welcome you back to Prague in the future!

Yours Sincerely,


Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Outstanding, overlooks the astronomical clock. Beautiful hand painted ceiling in suites. Excellent service. Very olde worldly room, well maintained, sumptious. Roof top terrace for cocktail and food, with maxing views of the many magnificent spires of Prague.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the town square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyinCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Lesley R,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback about your stay with us.

We are really happy to know that you liked our hotel and The Terrace Sky Restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

First visit to prague and surprise weekend break for my partners birthday. Superb location opposite the astronomical clock and old town. We were in room 34 which was gorgeous with plenty of space and like a spa bathroom. 2 cute little windows to open and watch the clock and see the christmas markets. We had dinner on the roof top at 7am which was truly amazing from the beautiful views to the food(very hot). I asked for the corner table in the open bit as i wanted to eat privately as it was a special birthday dinner. They gave us blankets and a patio heater which kept us warm. Good wine aswell with an excellent choice of good qualitly food.

My only down fall for the hotel is the cigarette smoke. You can smoke anywhere and its discusting. It stinks and spoils the atmosphere. Especially downstairs in the piano bar. However this is allowed in Prague and its everywhere so had to put up with it.

Staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast was delicious but go early as it gets busy and they dont replenish the crossiants or nice yogurt dessert treats and cakes.

We loved this hotel but i guess it all depends on what room you get. We were lucky but some rooms are apparently small and have no view or on the top floor very noisy room53.

Room Tip: Room 34 24 or 44. Or upgrade to a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocktailCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear cocktailCL,

Thank you so much for your positive review that you wrote about your stay at Hotel U Prince.
I am pleased to know that you and your partner had a great time here and that you were satisfied with many aspects of your stay. Your feedback is a great motivation for us.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return please do contact me at michal.marek@hoteluprince.com with any enquiries or requests.

I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Have been to Old Town several times on business and when it became grand again wanted to stay right there. This is the place to stay RIGHT THERE in Old Town Prague.
It is a relatively small and very old building directly across the street from the Astronomical Clock. It is very comfortable albeit small rooms. Great service and good breakfast.
If you want the Old Town feeling you can not beat this place. If you are on a budget or visiting for the first time you might try a more budget, less centrally located hotel.
All things considered this hotel is worth the price and located perfectly for seeing the rest of Prague
Mornings and nights make the difference. Old Town is at it's best then..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowland45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Rowland45,

I would like to thank you for your kind feedback that you posted on our TripAdvisor page. We truly value your positive comments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel U Prince.
Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return please do contact me at michal.marek@hoteluprince.com with any enquiries or requests.

I look forward to welcoming you back for a future stay.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Top experience - 12th century re-vamped hotel. Great helpful and friendly staff, brilliant location looking into Old Town Square. Great restaurants with good prices. Delightful atmosphere made possible by incredible decor and staff only too eager to please. ONLY place to stay! Atotal pleasure!

Room Tip: Get room overlooking Old Town Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drwho22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear drwho22,

I thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback on your recent visit to Hotel U Prince. I am very pleased to read that you have had a great stay with us recently, and that our team have provided you with helpful service throughout.

Thank you very much once again, and when you plan a return please do contact me at michael.marek@hoteluprince.com with any enquiries or requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It is so refreshing to find such a beautiful, traditional hotel, which is not part of some faceless chain, or had the 'boutique hotel' treatment. The decor may be a bit brown to some, but it is authentic, grand and comfortable. The chandelier outside our room was magnificent, with the most beautiful lampshades- see pic.
Sadly the catering doesn't match the decor. Very disappointing breakfasts, and the restaurants offer mediocre tourist fare, with the emphasis on bland. The menu is unchanging, so there is only the same plastic menu choices daily. Puddings are heavily American influenced, great mounds of sickly sweet ice-cream concoctions, and there is no sign of any culinary flair. The much flouted cocktail menu again is all about sweet and sickly sweet, as opposed to sophisticated. Even the plastic coated menus were sticky! BUT the location up there on the roof is out of this world, and the staff friendly and smiling. So stick to the not bad wine list or the excellent beer, and enjoy watching the sun set over the Prague rooftops.
It will not be the most peaceful night's sleep you ever had, but that is to be expected in such a perfect, but busy position. Everything is walkable, and exploring the narrow cobbled streets is a joy, knowing the hotel can't be too far away.
One thing that we could have lived without was the bland , ambience-ruining and sugary-yes again!- pop music constantly playing in the communal areas. If silence is too scary!, why not something to complement the surroundings- some Dvorak, Smetana even Mozart etc etc? Also there is a wonderful mis-translation in the brochure that made us chuckle- 'Perception, and room service are available 24 hours a day"…Ah if only!

Room Tip: it appears that most of the rooms are different so if you are not sure ask if it's possible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michal M, Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Jojojoy,
Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted to hear that your recent stay at Hotel U Prince was very good and that you enjoyed your room, the view from our top roof restaurant Terrace and the décor of our hotel.
I am very concerned to read that the food variety did not live up to your expectations. I have noted your comments regarding your food and beverage experience and will be sure to share this with the Restaurant Manager and the Executive Chef.
If we only knew your experience with our cocktail menu while you were still in the hotel, we would certainly recommend you our Black Angel’s Bar located in the second basement of the Hotel U Prince which has been awarded among 10 best hotel bars in the world on Tales of the Cocktails in New Orleans, Louisiana, in July 2013. Our members of staff have a great experience with cocktail mixology and will be more than happy to create an individual cocktail according to your own preferences.
I do nevertheless hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Yours Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#81 of 649 in Prague
1,476 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 649 in Prague
1,053 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#22 of 649 in Prague
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#110 of 649 in Prague
380 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#35 of 649 in Prague
2,454 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#104 of 649 in Prague
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
#107 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing