We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cocktails and Dreams”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #109 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I ventured into this place on hearing that they had the finest cocktail menu in the Czech Rep. They did not disappoint. I'd a Absinthe based cocktail, served in a crystal highball glass on a china plate, the art of the barman making the cocktails was truly inspirational, no half measures here. The music was very apt and the lights were dimmed as he burned the alcohol. Really was a treat to watch. Not allowed to take videos or photos, on busy nights you need to book your seat. Very classy place. A must if visiting Prague. I'll certainly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Greg,

I would like to thank you for your fantastic feedback.

We always strive to provide our guests with memorable moments and I am delighted our Black Angel’s team has provided you with excellent service. We are delighted you could experience the “Impossible Possible” at Black Angel’s Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
There are newer reviews for Hotel U Prince
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Returned yesterday from a 2 night stay in the Uprince Hotel Prague. What an amazing stay, the hotel is on the Old Square excellent location, extremely comfortable, welcoming and charming. The rooms are amazing filled with antique furniture, very spacious, comfortable, with a magnificent view of the square, including the Tyn Church and Astronomical clock. The service, friendliness of staff excellent, quality and choice of food also excellent. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough, would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone, and would not consider staying anywhere else in Prague. There is a rooftop bar and restaurant which provides you with an excellent view of the city. This was my 4th visit to Prague and will not be the last the city is amazing with Fabulous restaurants nearby. We found if you go into the streets behind the Hotel there are a variety of Czech restaurants with local rustic excellent hearty food our favourite on this trip was the Karavella. Good choice excellent quality and service and very reasobably priced.

Room Tip: Request a view of the square.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank china1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear china1Scotland,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review of your recent stay with us.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your 4th visit to Prague. Along with the rest of our team, I am very pleased to read such positive comments about your experience here with us. I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the luxury of our comfortable and spacious room.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit to Prague.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in front of Astronomical Clock. We actually went for Dinner at the hotel . Excellent food. Good vibe . Will definatley go again.They also have a terrace restaurant with very good view over Prague

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RParbhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear RParbhoo,

I thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to Hotel U Prince restaurants and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your dinner and the atmosphere.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our two nights in room 24, a junior suit with spectacular views over the old town made this the most perfect break. The free WiFi and the excellent inclusive breakfast were a nice surprise. Staff were very pleasant particularly in Black Angel's Bar which was one of the best bars I have ever visited. This is a family run hotel and it's clear from the warm hospitality that they really want to make it a home away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the town square
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Mr. Ian S,

It is my pleasure to read your kind feedback on Hotel U Prince and I am delighted how highly you appreciate the room 24, breakfast and the free WiFi.

I will certainly share your comments with the Black Angel’s team and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed over in this hotel one night before Christmas. I read some reviews here on Tripadvisor and I couldnt choose better hotel! The staff was very helpful and friendly, the receptionist Katka recommended me the world famous Black Angel's Bar which makes the best cocktails in Prague. Unfortunately, I regret that I didnt have time to dine on The Terrace restaurant....the view is unique. You should not miss this hotel during your trip to Prague

PS: The hotel had probably the most beautiful Christmas decoration out of all buildings on the Old Town Square

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Peter Bar,

We would like to thank you for your review about your recent experience at Hotel U Prince.

It is my pleasure to read just how highly you valued the whole stay with us, from the Christmas decoration, Black Angel’s Bar and the service provided by our team.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with Katka and everyone here. I look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel U Prince again soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed as a family of four for 3 nights between Christmas & New Year at the U Prince. The hotel has an excellent location right on the Old Town Square. Our room had views over the Square and was clean with traditional furnishings.
Service throughout our stay from the hotel staff was efficient and reasonably friendly. We were grateful that the concierge organised the hotel taxi-bus to take us to the airport at the end of our stay. We didn’t eat in the hotel restaurants apart from for breakfast, which had a good hot/cold buffet. The hotel has free Wi-Fi which worked ok. We would have liked to have tea / coffee in the room. Also, the sound-proofing from the room above ours wasn’t very good and we could hear loud footsteps / wheeled suitcases across the wooden floor, which woke us up in the night. But overall, we enjoyed our stay at the U Prince although it was quite expensive (but that was mostly to do with the Christmas season).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Old Town Square
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twickenham_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Twickenham_family,

Thank you for your recent stay and review on our TripAdvisor page.

Firstly, I would like to wish you and other people reading this review Happy New Year 2014!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay including your room with a view, the service and our hotel breakfast here in Hotel U Prince.

You have also mentioned that the sound-proofing was not to up to your expectations and that you would appreciate a tea and coffee facility in your room. I thank you for this further feedback, particularly as you are a Top Contributor on TripAdvisor, and I will raise these matters with the appropriate members of the hotel management team.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Prague with my new wife, we were on our honeymoon.
A good location overlooking old town square and the astronomical clock outside the Window and the Christmas markets just over the road.

Staff very friendly and helpful with luggage.
Room decor was nice, fully stocked minibar (although when I went to have a white wine I found that the previous occupant had drank it, refilled it with water and put it back in the fridge. I didn't worry too much so had a beer instead).
No tea or coffee facilities in the room (which I found surprising for a 5 star hotel).

Breakfast buffet was good with a wide selection and friendly staff. (Although staff did not actively approach tables to clear and just tended to wait till we had 5 plates stacked up and were leaving until they approached the table to clean it).

Ordered room service on our first night and a staff member came to our room to take our order. Veey impressive and the food arrived within 20-25mins.

Over all a very nice hotel.
Staff knowledgeable and friendly and good English and happy to help.
Would be nice to have a tea and coffee in the room though.
A good stay.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Adam H,

Thank you for your feedback and your kind words regarding your recent stay at Hotel U Prince.

I am glad that you chose our hotel for such a special occasion. I would like to congratulate you once again and wish you a life full of happiness.

I am currently investigating the minibar incident mentioned in your review to work out how this could have happened, and how to ensure that such an experience is never duplicated. I do apologize for this inconvenience and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are looking forward to seeing you again in Hotel U Prince.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#75 of 647 in Prague
1,531 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 647 in Prague
1,144 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 647 in Prague
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#91 of 647 in Prague
397 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#98 of 647 in Prague
946 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Bohemia
Grand Hotel Bohemia
#45 of 647 in Prague
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#81 Family Hotel in Prague
#93 Business Hotel in Prague
#97 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £95 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing