We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #90 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Corner room closest to the square...book it.

Cool hotel, great to-do's and great cocktail lists. We went in the winter and found the roof top cosy with heat lamps and blankets. But it would be amazing in the Summer. Great views of the square from there and on the lower level a couple of cool bars.

Benefit is you are right in amongst it all. Not far to walk every where as it is practically central.

Would recommend to friends and probably a couples retreat vs family.

Room Tip: Corner room closest to the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Dean,

Thank you for your great review about Hotel U Prince!

We appreciate your kind comments regarding all the features you liked here, such as The Terrace Sky Restaurant, your room with a view over The Old Town Square, the hotel location, and our bars New York Bar and Black Angel’s Bar.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    243
    56
    37
    23
See reviews for
136
480
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
352 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

From the moment we walked into the lobby we were enthralled. Reception was first class and both the lady in reception and Patrick who showed us our romm asked if we needed anything , information, tours etc not to hesitate to ask. Our suite was no 11 and I would recommend it. Beautiffully decorated and facing out to Old town square. Even though streetside it had double windows and we heard very little sound from outside during our stay Breakfast was okay, not the best I have had but wouldnt let it take away from our very relaxing stay in U Prince. Hotel is very central to everything walking distance to Castle over Charles Bridge , Jewish Quarter etc. I would recommend staying here to all

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitstable
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the U Prince this week. It was our 2nd visit to Prague and we decided to stay there having visited the Black Angels bar and the rooftop terrace last time we were there. We couldn't have made a better decision, from the moment we walked into reception we were looked after. We checked in around 1pm and our room was ready and our bags taken up. We were given various information about trips, sightseeing etc and were told if we wanted to know anything to just ask. We had booked a double room and were shown to number 34 on the 3rd floor. The room and the bathroom (all marble, very impressive and a good size) were lovely and the view overlooking Old Town Square, the Astronomical Clock and Tyn Church could not have been better. The room was beautifully furnished and decorated and our bed was the biggest and most comfortable we have ever slept in! Being right on the square the whole of the old town is literally on the doorstep with beautiful, fascinating buildings, traditional restaurants and bars all within easy reach (with windows closed at night we did not find noise an issue at all). Breakfast is taken in the downstairs restaurant and whatever you like to eat first thing in the morning you will find there, along with tea, coffee and fruit juices and a few extra treats! Walking back into the hotel was as big a pleasure as stepping out into the heart of Prague, be sure to visit Black Angels cocktail bar down in the cellar, glamorous and luxurious but good value prices. And do not miss the roof terrace, both by day and night for views of the city to die for. We had seafood pasta (very good) up there at 9.30 one night and it's amazingly warm and cozy! We found all the staff to be attentive and helpful and could not fault the hotel on any level. For us its the only place to stay in Prague now and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Definitely a view of the square!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nativeoyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you so much for sharing your really nice review with us and other readers regarding your stay at Hotel U Prince.

I am happy to learn that you decided to stay with after having visited the Black Angel’s Bar and The Terrace Sky Restaurant during your first time in Prague. We strive to exceed our guests expectations and your review is so rewarding when the teams efforts are noticed by our guests. I will share with the team about your overall experience and your lovely feedback.

Once again, thank you for staying at Hotel U Prince and we look forward to welcoming you back to Prague on your 3rd visit!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

If you are looking to really get the most out of your stay in Prague, this is a great hotel to do just that. It is located right in the square, so getting around to all the sites downtown is incredibly convenient. If you are also looking to drink like a Czech while you're here, there are all sorts of czech bars with cheap beer nearby. The hotel itself was pretty fancy and our room had a loft. It was the kind of hotel that made me feel like I make a lot more money than I really do. This was a few years ago though and I think they might have increased their prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review on our Tripadvisor page!

I am delighted to read how much you appreciated the hotel car transfer, early check-in, your room with its view and the Black Angel’s Bar. I will be very delighted to share your kind review with the team here in Hotel U Prince.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Prague.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goschenen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We just decided spontaneously to go to prague for a quick weekend trip and stayed in the Hotel U Prince for 4 days.
It was my first time in prague and the hotel made it even more perfect!
It's located right in the center of old town prague which was quite convenient as you can reach everything within a few minutes.
There are shops, cafes and lots of the sightseeing attractions close by.
Nevertheless the room was very quiet and comfortable, spacious and equipped with everything you're looking for in a nice hotel.
It was always cleaned nicely and all the employees were really friendly and very obliging!
Definitely I want to highlight the rooftop terrace, which I think is the only one you can find in old town prague.
Even though it was quite cold it's definitely worth going up there in the evening times and have such a wonderful and romantic view over prague! You can have dinner or lunch there as well in this colder times of the year in a heated area.
They also sell the traditional czech sweet pastry right outside of the hotel ( round thing with dough and sugar around =) )
The food in the restaurant was totally delicious and fresh.
After a nice dinner you should definitely go and visit the Black Angels Bar which was only just chosen to one of the Top 10 Bars worldwide. It is an incredible atmosphere with life music and hidden downstairs in this really old and traditional building.
The drinks are indescribably amazing and exceptionally creative!
All in all we had such a perfect time and i will definitely be back and stay with them because it's just nice, cosy and perfectly located! =)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My partner and I opted for a long weekend break at the U-Prince. Our stay was faultless from beginning to end. I would recommend the 800kc hotel private car to collect you from the airport, our driver was waiting as soon as we got our bags and took us straight to the front door of he hotel - so stress free. Apparently taxis can cost between 600-800kc if not more. Upon arriving at 11am we were delighted when they had our room all organised and we checked straight in. The staff were extremely helpful. We were shown to our room and our luggage taken up to the 3rd floor where we had the most beautiful, clean room with a window over looking the square and famous 'Astronomical Clock' which was stunning. Location was ideal, we didn't use any transport all weekend. The longest walk to a tourist attraction is 20 minute walk up to the castle and even that is not far. The black angels bar on level -2 of the hotel is simply the best bar I've ever visited, the cocktails were exquisite, and reasonable! Breakfast was perfect for what you needed prior to a day of sightseeing, beer tasting and visiting many a restaurant. We loved our stay at U-Prince and would recommend in a heartbeat. We will be back, very soon!

Room Tip: Non-smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Couple88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for a short weekend trip to Prague. The hotel is perfectly located in the center of the old town at the old town square. The great terrace (only roof top terrace in the old town of Prague) is a fantastic spot to discover the old town from above.

The food at the Hotel U Prince was amazing and we enjoyed every meal we had. The menu offers a wide variety of dishes from starters, main and desserts. All the waiters speak different languages and were very helpful with their knowledgeable advices. The menu also provides information about the ingredients such as grilled meat, fit products (low fat and carbs) and so on. (relatively rare to find such information in other restaurant with the heavy kitchen style in Czech Republic).

Outside, guests are able to eat on the old town square on several terraces which are heated and thus even in winter very comfortable.

Also do they sell the best Trdelník in town at a take away counter (traditional Czech sweet pastry).

The rooms are very spacious with a very nice atmosphere. Housekeeping is very efficient and our room has always been cleaned impeccably. Staff is extremely friendly, caring and welcoming. The receptionists were very helpful in providing us great ideas and places to see and go to.

In the evening, the Black Angel's Bar is a must see! The bar is hidden downstairs of the Hotel U Prince in its caves and is an absolute treasury. The bar just got awarded as top 10 hotel bars worldwide - and it definitely deserves it. The design inspired by the 1930's, the candles, the fantastic staff and mixologist, the live piano - all together it creates an atmosphere as unique as its drinks on the menu. Definitely the best cocktails I have ever tasted!

We loved every second at the Hotel U Prince and really did not want to leave.
Will be back very soon:)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic_HI88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear nic_HI88

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our Tripadvisor page, following your recent stay with us.

It was a delight to read your kind words about our top roof restaurant The Terrace, Black Angel’s Bar, Main Restaurant and its outside terrace.

Moreover, it was a pleasure to read that our team was able to make you feel so comfortable and to provide you with a warm welcome to Hotel U Prince. I will indeed share your wonderful comments with our team members.

I am delighted to read that you will soon be back to stay with us, and I very much look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#91 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#39 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#113 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#103 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#79 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing