We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel in the best location ever!”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #139 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Firstly if you are thinking about booking to go to Prague stop thinking and book it! It is the loveliest city in the world!

We stayed at the Hotel U Prince which has the best location of any hotel in the world, as well as being voted one of the Top 10 Cocktail Bars in the world (it really is divine) and is on Trivago's Top Ten rooftops in the world with a terrace restaurant with absolutely the best view ever.

Now, onto pros and cons:

Pros

The staff at the Hotel were pleasant and attentive and friendly at all times. I know some people have said some of the service could be surly but we did not find this to be the case, in fact the complete opposite. Staff make the trip so wonderful, they really made our trip. They were so friendly and helpful and have made us determined to visit Prague again.

The location CANNOT be beaten. It is in the Old Town square which is fantastic and the most beautiful square in Prague.

The Black Angels Cocktail bar is a lovely intimate bar with live music and the most extensive range of cocktails with helpful and pleasant staff.

The breakfast was good and varied but they did run out of things like croissants around 9:00am most mornings which is a shame for breakfast that goes on until 10:00am.

My husband and I went with my teenage son and his friend. It was the perfect hotel for us and I would recommend it for families.

The building is very old and decorated in a ornate style that is lovely.

Room 12 is a suite and is positively stately in its grandeur. I've stayed at the Hotel Hermitage in Monte Carlo but this room was much better than that. I would describe it as a Presidential suite and if you are travelling with younger children this would be the ideal room.

Cons

This is an extremely old building so secondary glazing is installed rather than double glazing and so some noise can be heard from the square. Ask for rooms away from the square if you prefer quiet at night.

The building can get very hot, especially higher rooms, but it wasn't a problem for us in room 12 but was for my son in room 44 which is quite a small room at the top of the building that was a bit too hot and was noisy, however it had the best views of Old Town Square you could want.

That is all of the cons to be honest. I would definitely go back (not something I have said about anywhere else to be honest) and this hotel is wonderful. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 is palatial and has great views. Can be a little noisy. Absolutely perfect for 4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Katherine,

Thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at Hotel U Prince.

It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to all of our guests, and it sounds as though we have lived up to our goals.

That being said, I am very sorry that you found your room a little bit noisy. I will certainly raise this point to the higher management.

Thank you for your feedback once more as well as for having chosen us in Prague. We sincerely look forward to seeing you soon again at Hotel U Prince!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for 3 nights. Small individual hotel just in the middle of Old Town opposite to the tourist information and the clock tower. Our room and bath room were larger than normal hotel rooms. Only thing I could complain about was that the room missed some light, but actually we stayed were only for sleeping. The buffet breakfast was very nice. I could choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKKuopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Kuopio,

Thank you for posting this wonderful review and so many great pictures on our TripAdvisor page!

Our entire team were pleased to hear your kind feedback, and I am delighted that you appreciated the large size of your room and the bathroom.

When you plan your next visit, please do contact me directly at michaela.bauerova “at“ hoteluprince.com and I will be more than happy to reserve a brighter room for you with more daylight.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Prague!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. the highlight was the roof top cafe and the breakfast each morning. also, the location was directly on main square. well worth the money and would recommend this to families visiting Prague-

Room Tip: Dont forget to visit the roof top cafe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerryonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Jerry,

We would like to thank you posting this kind review.

We were delighted to read how much you liked Hotel U Prince and that you had a great time here in Prague!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Yours Sincerely,


Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights in the Hotel U Prince in Prague at the end of February 2014.The hotel is situated in the Old Town Square opposite the clock tower , fantastic location in the heart of all the attractions which are all within easy walking distance.There is a varied choice of breakfasts available which cater for all tastes. The hotel is spotless, staff extremely friendly and helpful, our room was on the top floor with fantastic views over the square - ask for a room overlooking the square. The hotel has a superb roof top restaurant well worth visiting,also possible to dine outside or in the restaurant, live music most nights and a pianist in the cocktail bar, we dined at the hotel most evenings and found a varied menu and good value for money.We would have no hesitation recommending this hotel for your stay in Prague.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham83101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Graham,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review on our TripAdvisor page!

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many features of our hotel such as the breakfast, your room with a wonderful view and our Terrace Sky Restaurant. Thank you for recommending Hotel U Prince, your positive comments really help other travelers with their accommodation choice.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed in hotel January 26th for 4 nights. Room large with spectacular view of all of old town square. Breakfast lovely ,not a great deal of choice but more than adequate with fresh salmon! Staff helpful ,pleasant and professional. Would recommend this hotel to family and friends or anyone looking for accommodation in Prague. Location ideal, walking distance to all of the usual tourist attractions. I would deffinately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madison3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Madison,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience with us and other readers on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to know that you liked so many aspects of your stay at Hotel U Prince. I will certainly share your comments with our team,

We would be very happy to see you again in Prague!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Only in Prague for 2 nights and were happy we chose this hotel for a number of reasons. The location. Excellent. The view is amazing by day and by night. The room we had was very comfortable and our bed was first rate. We were able to view the famous clock tower from our room, the beautiful old architecture, and despite being on the main square, our room was quiet at night. We were treated very well by the staff, and would stay there again should we be so lucky to be in Prague.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your recent kind feedback about Hotel U Prince.

It was delightful to read how much you liked your room with the view. We are grateful for your kind comments. Our staff were also pleased to hear that you appreciated their assistance.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent location, just on the main square.
Nice view over the terrace bar and restaurant.
People very friendly and cooperative.
Old fashion hotel with very good rooms. Missing a bit of light inside the rooms. Good bathroom.
Very nice bar on basement with nice atmosphere.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivotun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Ivotun,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay in Hotel U Prince.

I am very pleased to read that you appreciated the hotel’s location, The Terrace Sky Restaurant, the service my team provided you with and the Black Angel’s Bar.

This being said, I am sorry to read that you have found the room to be a bit dark. I do hope that this has not had a negative impact on your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#119 of 646 in Prague
898 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 646 in Prague
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#72 of 646 in Prague
1,607 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#36 of 646 in Prague
2,554 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#32 of 646 in Prague
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#93 Business Hotel in Prague
#119 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £69 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing