We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel you are in Prague”
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #118 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The location is excellent. The rooms are comfortable and many have a view of the astronomical clock and the square. The breakfasts are top quality. The front desk provides useful concierge service. The tie breaker comparing this to any other hotel in Prague is the rooftop terrace restaurant with its spectacular view. What more could you want?

Room Tip: The double bedrooms are quite comfortable. The junior suites are very unusual and should not be sel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Mr. JCM,

Thank you for reviewing us, I am very happy to read that you had a fantastic experience and that you enjoyed The Old Town Square location.

Indeed, the view from The Terrace Restaurant is spectacular, as your picture you posted together with your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Currently in Prague and have had two wonderful meals on the Roof Terrace of the Hotel U Prince.
The views are fantastic. We had Adam looking after us on our first night he did a splendid job , very friendly without being in your face. Can recommend the Tuna Tartare , the Salmon and the Pork medallions. Wine is reasonably priced. Afterwards we went downstairs to the Black Angel Bar what a find , the staff very attentive and the drinks amazing I had a Basil Swizzle wow !!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Love2travel42008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our roof Terrace Restaurant and the Black Angel’s Bar, we highly appreciate it.

We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your time on our roof Terrace Restaurant and afterwards in Black Angel’s Bar. It is my absolute pleasure to inform you and all tripadvisor visitors that Black Angel’s Bar has been announced again among the top 10 hotel bars in the world for year 2014.

I will share your comments with the entire managment and operational team, especially Adam, to really show how great service can make our guest really happy.

I look forwrad to welcoming you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As near as damn a five, I would have given a four out of five as the hotel itself is "very good" but having the Black Angel cellar bar sways me to mark up. It's without doubt one of the best bars as far as ambiance is concerned that I've had the pleasure of sitting in.
You'll struggle to get better for location and we stayed in room 34 which has two small window with views down to the square in front of the clock.
All the staff were attentive and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had room 34 but quite noisy with it being beside the square but well worth it for the view. Have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinegarhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Vinegarhill,

Thank you for your recent review on our TripAdvisor page!

I am very pleased to read that you have had a great time here with us, and that our staff were so friendly in all interactions.

I am also very glad that you consider Black Angel’s Bar as one of the best bars! We really appreciate it.

We hope to see you soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great hotel, with mamzing bar. bldg from 13th century, good pricing, laundry services and right across from e clock tower. Ask for a central facing room, if you dont want to hear the revelry late into the night. Internet spotty like all of Europe but functional. cool design, every room unique. Excellent service!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank plove999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Plove999,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am so pleased to read your kind words, and that you have had such a great visit here with us in Hotel U Prince.

Thank you very much once again, and please do contact us with any future requests or enquiries.

Yours sincerely,


Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Great service, the rooms are big and spacious. We were greatly surprised by how friendly the staff were. The food is really good and the breakfast is delicious.

The view from the terrace at night is amazing and you are nearly in front of The Clock! Couldn't recommend it enough.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Marina,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am very pleased to read that you have had an enjoyable stay with us here at Hotel U Prince.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I hope to welcome you back some time in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

the u prince hotel is located in the heart of prague! the front desk is very nice and tries to help with all issues. The room was clean and spacious, the wifi worked throughout the whole buidling. Breakfast was very nice and everything you need to start the day! the rooftop bar/restaurant provides a specatcular view. there is a parking garage in walking distance (5min) charged 28EUR for 24 hours. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robstar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Robstar,

Thank you for posting review on our TripAdvisor page!

Our entire team were pleased to hear your kind feedback, and I am delighted that you mentioned so many aspects you liked during your stay at Hotel U Prince.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Firstly if you are thinking about booking to go to Prague stop thinking and book it! It is the loveliest city in the world!

We stayed at the Hotel U Prince which has the best location of any hotel in the world, as well as being voted one of the Top 10 Cocktail Bars in the world (it really is divine) and is on Trivago's Top Ten rooftops in the world with a terrace restaurant with absolutely the best view ever.

Now, onto pros and cons:

Pros

The staff at the Hotel were pleasant and attentive and friendly at all times. I know some people have said some of the service could be surly but we did not find this to be the case, in fact the complete opposite. Staff make the trip so wonderful, they really made our trip. They were so friendly and helpful and have made us determined to visit Prague again.

The location CANNOT be beaten. It is in the Old Town square which is fantastic and the most beautiful square in Prague.

The Black Angels Cocktail bar is a lovely intimate bar with live music and the most extensive range of cocktails with helpful and pleasant staff.

The breakfast was good and varied but they did run out of things like croissants around 9:00am most mornings which is a shame for breakfast that goes on until 10:00am.

My husband and I went with my teenage son and his friend. It was the perfect hotel for us and I would recommend it for families.

The building is very old and decorated in a ornate style that is lovely.

Room 12 is a suite and is positively stately in its grandeur. I've stayed at the Hotel Hermitage in Monte Carlo but this room was much better than that. I would describe it as a Presidential suite and if you are travelling with younger children this would be the ideal room.

Cons

This is an extremely old building so secondary glazing is installed rather than double glazing and so some noise can be heard from the square. Ask for rooms away from the square if you prefer quiet at night.

The building can get very hot, especially higher rooms, but it wasn't a problem for us in room 12 but was for my son in room 44 which is quite a small room at the top of the building that was a bit too hot and was noisy, however it had the best views of Old Town Square you could want.

That is all of the cons to be honest. I would definitely go back (not something I have said about anywhere else to be honest) and this hotel is wonderful. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 12 is palatial and has great views. Can be a little noisy. Absolutely perfect for 4 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Katherine,

Thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at Hotel U Prince.

It was our great pleasure to have you staying with us. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to all of our guests, and it sounds as though we have lived up to our goals.

That being said, I am very sorry that you found your room a little bit noisy. I will certainly raise this point to the higher management.

Thank you for your feedback once more as well as for having chosen us in Prague. We sincerely look forward to seeing you soon again at Hotel U Prince!

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#73 of 648 in Prague
1,548 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Old Town Square
Old Town Square
#131 of 648 in Prague
403 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#30 of 648 in Prague
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#20 of 648 in Prague
1,322 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
Iron Gate Hotel & Suites
#95 of 648 in Prague
955 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#103 of 648 in Prague
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#81 Family Hotel in Prague
#93 Business Hotel in Prague
#105 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £93 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing