We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooftop Terrace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel U Prince

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel U Prince
Ranked #91 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooftop Terrace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We had dinner at the advice of our host at the rooftop terrace. This has to be the best dining view of the city. The food was excellent and the mixed drinks were perfection (the Anniversary and the Mich Martini were our faves). It is a must if you have the opportunity to go to Prague.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kittykat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Kittykat2012,

Thank you for your review on our TripAdvisor page!

We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience at the Terrace at Hotel U Prince. All of your kind words about your experience with us are great to hear, and I am very happy that you enjoyed your dinner.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    243
    56
    37
    23
See reviews for
136
480
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Recently enjoyed a family week with our teen son at the U Prince in Prague, which we chose for the location and historic nature of the property. Loved it, even with all of the August tourist hoopla at the hotel and its ancillary restaurant(s). In addition to being across the square from the Astronomical Clock and other attractions, it was close to trams in between two Metro stops. Breakfasts were ample and well-done. Birthday drinks on the roof terrace, with a view of the city, was particularly memorable. The air conditioning was a little anemic for our liking in our junior suite, but we didn't spend a lot of time in the 2-level room save for sleeping. The staff was very professional and attuned to guests' needs, and was helpful in every way - even with our attempts to venture into speaking Czech. Highly recommend U Prince.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guswho1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel U Prince and for your wonderful review on our TripAdvisor Page

It is always such a pleasure for us when our guests choose to spend their special occasions here at Hotel U Prince, and I am delighted that you selected the Terrace for your birthday drinks, the view is truly magical.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, and please be assured that I pass them your positive comment.

I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel U Prince, for another memorable stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I ate on the roof top terrace at lunch time on my last day. Amazing views of Old Town Square! And the roof tops in Prague.
The food was delicious to. I had the knuckle of pork. It melted in my mouth, it was so tender.
Although a little pricey I recommend this restaurant for the view. You can just have drinks up here too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KT1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear KT1809,

Thank you for your recent visit and for writing this review about our Terrace at Hotel U Prince.

I was delighted to know that you had a great time in our restaurant! I will certainly pass your feedback to the Restaurant Manager and the Executive Chef. The knuckle of pork is a typical Czech dish and belongs to one of the favourites. Guests can certainly come and enjoy one of our delicious cocktails from our new Menu.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, in our restaurants or in our hotel next time.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

So it's GREAT food here, but you certainly pay for it. The service was average, the location was incredible, and the food was incredible (I ordered goulash). I guess if I were to do it again, I'd ask to sit on the rooftop terrace, but I'm not disappointed that we sat at ground level outside, either. Worth it for a one-time deal!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank isabel_obu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Isabel,

Thank you for reviewing our Restaurant at Hotel U Prince.

I was delighted to know that you had a great time in our restaurant! I will certainly pass your feedback to the Restaurant Manager and the Executive Chef. It is a fantastic motivation for all of us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, in our restaurants or in our hotel next time.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Well I was a bit worried after booking online and feeling like we were getting the switcheroo when I booked room 12, and then they confirmed room 11 - a nice room Im sure but NOT room 12. Eventually they did sort it out.... but it took may emails.

If you can afford it, book room 12. Wow is all I can say. The room is like 1000' ft and includes a HUGE terrace as well. 2 separate beds, in 2 rooms. A computer desk with wired internet. A bathroom with 2 showers and fit for a king. And the whole thing decorated as though you are in a Palace, with huge carved furnishings and paintings that are taller than me. My husband and I stayed there with our two teen aged kids. My dad stayed in room 35, a couple floors up. Very nice room, but again.... it's no room 12..lol

Room 12 is right off the reception which is actually on the 2nd level of the buildng (1st floor in European counting) We had no issue with noise, although I did have some concern. The windows were all doubled and that really did help.

I found the exchange rate at the hotel desk was comparable to everything else we saw for exchanging money. There were several little mini marts walkable distance and this location can not be beat. The staff were very helpful. There was no funny business upon checking out other than some slight exchange rate "slippages" I wasnt willing to argue about. We felt we got value.

The breakfast was nice and included.

I know this hotel has had it's fair share of knocks in the past. I can only say that our stay in WONDERFUL room 12 was one of the best we have had and we have traveled extensively.... Would rate highly....

Room Tip: ROOM 12!!!!!! Need I say more.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MameAndTheKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear LCHand,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing this review about your recent excellent experience in Hotel U Prince.

We were delighted to know that your stay with your family was such a success and that we were able to make you feel royal! We are indeed extremely fortunate to be able to call such a majestic, and indeed historical building our home, and it is such a pleasure for us to hear about our guests’ appreciation of it also.

I completely agree with you that The St. Florian Suite, number 12, is indeed amazing, it is our signature suite and jewel in the crown of Hotel U Prince. We would like to thank you for posting the authentic panoramic pictures, you took during your stay.

I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to Hotel U Prince.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Firstly the location of this hotel just doesn't get any better, we choose this hotel after eating there several times on a New Years visit, & decided we would spend our birthdays back in Prague & at this wonderful hotel.
The email correspondence prior to our arrival was superb, so we knew everything would run smoothly ... & it did from airport pick up to drop off.
The Hotel U Prince is a very well oiled & equally well run hotel, bar & restaurant, no doubt down to Michal & his fantastic team.
It's location is second to none, opposite the Anatomical clock & right in the heart of the busy Old Town. The rooms are very opulent in design with replica antique furnishings, as are the public areas.
The rooftop terrace is fantastic with views over the Town Square & the view is truly stunning.
We had the honor & delight of having a private birthday breakfast served up here ... So many many thanks again to Michal & all his team ... It was a truly special day!!!
I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacsy9112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jacsy,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write and post your lovely feedback and detailed review about your stay at Hotel U Prince.

I was genuinely happy to learn that as a return guest of our restaurant U Prince, you chose our hotel for such a special celebration! And that we were able to exceed your expectations. I am also thrilled that the special prepared breakfast on the rooftop Terrace was such a success!

I do very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Hotel U Prince, which I am confident will be another enjoyable experience.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orenburg, Russia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's a very beautiful hotel right in the heart of the city (you couldn't wish for a better location!). And the terrace is simply amazing : you can see the Old Town Square, Týn Church, the astronomical clock from the top! And the food served there is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela B, Quality Manager at Hotel U Prince, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Darya,

Thank you for reviewing our rooftop Terrace at Hotel U Prince.

I am thrilled to know that you had fantastic time here with us and that you also liked our seasonal Menu prepared by our internationally award winning Executive Chef Lukáš Vácha and his team

I do very much look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to The Terrace at Hotel U Prince, which I am confident will be an enjoyable experience again.

Yours Sincerely,

Michaela Bauerova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Rott Hotel
Rott Hotel
#92 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
The Emblem Hotel
The Emblem Hotel
#37 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Ventana Hotel Prague
Ventana Hotel Prague
#17 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Savic Hotel
Savic Hotel
#32 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#113 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Retezova
Hotel Residence Retezova
#102 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel U Prince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel U Prince

Property: Hotel U Prince
Address: Staromestske namesti 460/29, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Stare Mesto (Old Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#80 Luxury Hotel in Prague
#82 Family Hotel in Prague
#94 Business Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel U Prince 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located directly in the historic heart of Prague protected by UNESCO, on the venerable Old Town Square, where in times past both Czech and European history was played out.In the authentic environment of this painstakingly reconstructed building from the 12th century, we offer you accommodation in 15 spacious double rooms, 2 luxury apartments and 7 junior suites. All rooms are originally and stylishly equipped with antique furniture, and feature a bathroom, toilet, minibar, air-conditioning, color TV with satellite channels, telephone with direct connection and wi-fi internet connection. Perception and room service are at the disposal of our guests 24 hours a day. Covered parking is located approximately 300 m from the hotel.Our restaurant offers leading specialties from both Czech and international cuisine. You can sample them seated with our other guests, or in one of our intimate stylish salons. Our ground floor New York Cocktail Bar will surprise you with its broad selection of mixed drinks and in the basement Black Angel’s bar you can experience a pleasant atmosphere of the 1930s listening to the piano playing every night. Our outdoor garden offers you the unique experience of sitting right on Old Town Square, with a view of the Old Town Hall and its astronomical clock dating from the 14th century. Our elevator-accessible terrace offers you a unique combination of gustatory and sensory experiences, with a superb panoramic view opening out onto Old Prague. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, TravelUp, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel U Prince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
u Prince Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing