We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just what was needed to rest your head!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortuna City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fortuna City
Ranked #584 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Just what was needed to rest your head!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed for 3 nights and were very pleased with our stay. Yes some parts of the hotel need some work but for the price we payed we were very pleased. The staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke perfect English. The hotel bar was great and the lobby welcoming. The room was big and the shower was amazing! Some corridors and stairwells were badly lit and a bit gloomy too, but overall our stay was good and would recommend it to anyone who wants a cheap and cheerful hotel just to rest after visiting the city which is only 10-15mins by tram/metro.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loscoekid29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    87
    118
    74
    57
See reviews for
52
113
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We were there in july 2013. really satisfied with the service,clean and comfy rooms,fresh towels,accessible location...really good for a weekend for sightseeing. We had BB,and the breakfast was nice,there was a variety of food.. A good choise :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theLjubicica25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Located just next to the tram station so it's easy to reach any of the city attractions, clean rooms, we had fresh towels every 2 days but we had only two small pieces of soap for 9 days, no shampoo or shower gel, breakfast was good, stuff is friendly and helpful. So if u need cheap hotel for spending nights there only u should go to Fortuna city.

Room Tip: Nice view from top floors, rooms with a view to Zizkov TV tower are much better in summer, no direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

First of all - I've got to stress that your opinion of this hotel is really going to depend on what your priorities are. If you're after an attractive and comfortable place to stay, this is not the hotel for you. If you're after a budget hotel which will be used for nothing else but a cheap base with no real care for where you stay, it's probably a goer.

The Pros:
1. Easy access to and from the centre of Prague. Tram no 5 stops right outside the hotel and takes you straight to the old town and you can buy your tickets in the hotel reception.
2. Really friendly and helpful staff - always had a smile and happy to assist.
3. Reasonably priced bar (in fact cheap by comparison to most other places)
4. Average selection for breakfast (quality is a different thing which I'll come to)
5. Large and spacious room (at least ours was)

The Cons:
1. Completely depressing décor throughout - believe me, the photographs have been enhanced to an impressive level to make the hotel look presentable - the reality is much grimmer.
2. Most of the communal areas feature dirty/ badly stained carpets, cheap fake plants, broken or missing light fittings, grotty furniture, peeling wallpaper etc - basic maintenance is a real let down here.
3. Dust and dirt.... everywhere. I don't care whether a hotel is budget or boutique, there's no excuse for not keeping it clean - in fact we didn't see one cleaner in the whole four days.
3. Depressing rooms with dated, damaged furniture which should have been replaced years ago.
4. Feeling more of a youth hostel than a hotel.
5. AWFUL breakfast. Variety is ok but the quality is hideous - choose from a wondrous selection of sloppy scrambled eggs with mysterious hot meat mush or alternatively, cold meat mush; all washed down with the oddest coffee ever to pass your lips which actually defies description other than to say it ain't coffee.

Overall - as a base, it served its purpose reasonably well. I'm no hotel snob or the type who expects 5 star quality for 1 star prices. This genuinely let itself down badly on some of the most basic requirements in terms of keeping the place clean and presentable.

I'll definitely be coming to Prague again - I'll definitely be choosing a different hotel though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank billio75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I was nicely surprised at the quality of Fortuna City Hotel, given the price (about $56 per night). The rooms were clean and fairly spacious and the hotel is only four metro stops from the main sights in Prague.

Breakfast is included in the price and they have a fairly substantial variety served buffet style. They had coffee, tea, cocoa, juices and various breads with meats and cheeses, cereal, pastries, and even hot eggs and sausages. However, water was an issue as they warn that the tap water can cause stomach problems, but don't sell bottled water.

We really enjoyed the restaurant U Sudu on the next block for dinner one night. I had the grilled pork chop with "red eye" sauce and mashed potatoes and my husband had pasta with wild boar. It was excellent and well priced.

It's wasn't a luxurious experience by any means, but we're budget travelers and Fortuna City was better than what we're used to, in quality and in price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was twice in this hotel , First time with friends & second time with my mom . We traveled whole day and we came back only to sleep . The breakfast was same every day but good enough . This hotel quite cheap , big room & clean , there is no free Internet in the room . This hotel is far from the center but the metro station is 5 min. Walk or tram in front of the hotel . This hotel suitable for traveller's & don't suitable for "kings" & "princesses" !

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week. It was very enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and helpful upon arrival and also during the stay they answered any questions we had etc. They weren't able to give us a room witha balcony as we had requested but they gave us a room on the top floor and the view was amazing. It was a lovely sight to come back to of an evening.

Getting back and forth from the city centre was fairly easy. It takes about 20/30 min on the tram which stops reasonably close to the hotel and by tube (or metro) it was only about 10/15 min but that is a little further to walk to but still very close.

Breakfast was included in the price. It was pretty good butit was a little monotonous and not really vegetarian friendly. It mainly consisted of different meats, bread and some cereal. I enjoyed it but probably not everyone's taste.

The only issue was that on our last night a car set on fire in the car park, thankfully no one was hurt or anything. This obviously wasn't the hotels fault but it happened quite late and our room ended up full of smoke. Needless to say it was a hugely annoying as we had to air out the room and wait for the services to leave before being able to get back to bed. Like I said I don't blame the hotel at all but when we checked out the following morning they acted like it had never happened, probably hoping it had not affected us or that we didn't know about it. It seemed a little underhanded that they didn't acknowledge the incident or offer a refund on the last night. But overall we were happy with the hotel and staff and that incident was obviously only a one-off.

One last point, on the hotels site and on booking.com it says the wifi is free but its not. It is password protected and you need to go to reception to gain access.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the higher floors, you won't be disappointed with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amx12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Fortuna West
Fortuna West
#605 of 667 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Praha 10
Juno
Juno
#588 of 667 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
A&O Prag Metro Strizkov
#485 of 667 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 10
Astra
Astra
#357 of 667 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Praha 9
EA Hotel Jasmin
EA Hotel Jasmin
#593 of 667 in Prague
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Praha 3
EA Hotel Populus
EA Hotel Populus
#451 of 667 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna City

Property: Fortuna City
Address: Bechvarova 2081/14, Prague 100 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 10
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #584 of 667 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna City 3*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Fortuna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Prague
Quality Hotel Prague
Prague Quality Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing