We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay in Prague!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #150 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Must stay in Prague!”
Reviewed 8 April 2011

This funky hotel is in a great location and the staff is incredibly helpful. The staff is more than willing to go out of their way to help ensure your trip is as positive as possible. The breakfast they serve each morning is top notch! The decor of the rooms and lobby are so fun and whimsical. They even provide laptops in each room!

I would recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues without hesitation. It's the prefect hotel!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesg86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear guest, thank you very much for your future recommendation, we will be happy to welcome you again also as your friend and familly!
Yours Sincerelly,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    224
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
120
609
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Our trip was a business one. Returning to the hotel with its whimsical retro decor was a treat. The staff was very attentive and professional yet personable. A knowledgeable driver was always available. The dining room was perfect for breakfast and late afternoon tea. We were able to meet with business contacts there in a relaxed manner. The rooms were impeccable. We stayed on a few extra days for pleasure. The location is perfect being within a short stroll of the castle as well as the Charles Bridge. It is a perfect location for a tourist as well as one on business. I recommend the Sax highly.

Room Tip: Each one I saw was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comment. We are pleased that you would consider our hotel for your next visit to Prague.
With best regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

PHENOMINAL breakfast
Mega comfy beds
Mega comfy pillows
Very very friendly and helpful staff
Extremely funky decor
Very very clean
Bathrobe & slippers....very nice touch
Windows easily open
Non-smoking policy = super sweet smelling hotel
Quiet location.
Great location.
Best (and cheapest and non-touristy) restaurants are a 1 or 2 minute strill from the hotel. We liked the ones that are sort of opposite the Absinthe Shop (green ice-cream cone above door). Best price for a bottle of local Bohemia Sekt (the local champagne - it is absolutely deliciious!)
Cowboys restaurant has fabulous sun terrace, and big tasty food.
Climb the tower at St. Vitus's Catherdral (inside Castle complex) for STUNNING views of the city. (Equivalent to views of Paris from Eiffel Tower)

Room Tip: Hot tea/coffee, water/ice 24/7 in coffee lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your comment! We were happy to have you here in our hotel and also hope to welcome you again.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I think this hotel is very unique and it awakened in me beautiful memories of my childhood . I went around with my daughter and recocnised items we had when I was small.We did enjoy the breakfast because everything was homemade. Staff there is very kind and our attic room on the third floor was exceptional. Definitelly visit Sax on your way to Prague.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvenna_norw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comment. Again, it is so nice to see how guests are satisfied with our hotel, because behind it lies a lot of hard work. We are looking forward to your next visit!!
With Kindest Regard
Dagmar Malá & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2011

A small, cosy, extremely efficient hotel in the very center of a magic town. The staff is highly professional and extremely kind. Breakfast is gorgeous with so much choice and food of good quality. We would just avoid the music, or keep its volume a little bit less loud. In a place so musical, we would appreciate some czech classical pieces (Dvorak, Smetana, or so. but this is just small details. Rooms are quiet and full of light. Sleeping is guaranteed. We wish to recommend this hotel and will certainly choose it again for a future trip in the beautiful Praha.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MArco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comment. We understand that you would prefere us to play classical music, but we think that it absolutelly would not match with our design. Anyway, we are looking forward to your next visit here, in Prague
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Sax, and particularly the attitude of the staff and attention to detail of the hotel exceeds most five star major brand hotels I've stayed at. Check-in was smooth and the receptionist was extremely attentive and professional. In general, I am absolutely pleased with the staff here. The hotel is in a fantastic area near Prague Castle, although taxi service to the hotel involves a police checkpoint as the hotel is a block away from the US Embassy. Interior decor/design is fantastic and very unique. It is a sight in itself. Breakfast includes one hot ready-to-order item, and there is also afternoon tea, which is mostly a repeat of breakfast ingredients.

There are a lot of good things in the rooms as well: umbrellas, DVDs to watch, slippers, etc. - this is a very thoughtful place. Room decor is very nice too, particularly the bathroom which is very well designed and kept impeccably clean. Again, the cleaning staff is very thoughtful as well.

However, I have some gripes. #1, the bed is too short. I'm not even 6' tall and my feet are hanging off the bed. Second, though I know I booked a room facing into the courtyard, the room is actually facing a hallway and therefore you have no privacy whatsoever if you keep your blinds open. It can also get quite loud if there are people passing in the hallway, as was frequently the case at night.

That said, I would definitely recommend this place: the price is very reasonable, the location is great, and, most of all, the people are absolute professionals and very friendly. It's a neat operation, but they have room for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eab2124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear guest,
thank you for your comment. We are happy that you did like our hotel and hope to welcome you again and serve you with best possible service again.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham UK
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Visited Prague for our 45th wedding anniversary and while the weather could have been better enjoyed our stay in this lovely city and would return again to see the things we did not have time to visit. Hotel very good in a nice location near Prague Castle with good restaurants within 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsDurhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment. There is one think we are not involved in - the weather! I am very pleased that you still have enjoyed your trip by using our hotel facilities. We are looking forward to your next visit and fingers cossed for sunny days.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#46 of 649 in Prague
775 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#74 of 649 in Prague
1,045 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#42 of 649 in Prague
308 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
636 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
U Bile Lilie
U Bile Lilie
#240 of 649 in Prague
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#129 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing