We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #175 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Sax with my sister and we just loved it - great decor with lots of attention to details, perfect location close to all the sights, yet in a very quiet street so no noise to disturb your sleep! Excellent breakfast buffet in a very cool setting. The rooms also have a laptop with free internet connection, which I found really great compared to all those other hotels that charge for wifi by the minute. Overall, it's maybe not cheap - but it's worth every penny - and more!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anjarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Sisters,
Thank you for your commendation and we hope to see you in SAx again one day.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was the most amazing hotel visually if your into vintage 60''s. The location was excellent as was the service, room and breakfast. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonMiniman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Guest, we very appreciate your comments and thank you for that. Hope to see you here again!
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

A nice, professionally-run hotel. Very relaxing & quiet, with friendly staff. The hotel is in a beautiful location. They serve tea & hors d'oeuvres late afternoon (included in cost), which is very nice.

I just wish the idyllic bar across the road had had more consistent opening-hours!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phrag_Aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comment. We will be more than happy to welcome you in SAX again!
Yours Sincerelly,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Fantastic location, welcoming staff, amazing rooms! We stayed at hotel sax for three nights and it was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in. They have thought of everything - huge DVD collection, coffee/tea room, free breakfast and high tea (fantastic), english speaking staff, laptops in each room, huge rooms with dressing room, huge bathrooms with bath and large separate bedrooms, every room is different (had friends staying also) was recommended to is by a friend and we will definitely recommend to others. Close to everything - five min easy walk to Charles bridge. Love love love! Best part of our month long Europe holiday by far!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boydabexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Dear Guests,
thank you very much for your commendation. We will be very happy to welcome you in SAX again!
Yours Sincerely,
Dagmar Mala & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I have found this hotel from tripadvisor. It was rated as #1 hotel for business. I travel for work so certain things are extremely important for me. Cell reception, internet speed, reliability, and staff responsiveness. I have been to prague 3 times, by far this is the worst place i have stayed! Also perhaps one of the worst stay of my life.

Internet was unreliable and slow that i couldn't Skype voice only.

Cell reception is horrible.

The a/c units are portable, so cant really cooldown and keep you sleeping as it's noisy.

If you are looking in the courtyard , be ready for early wakeup.

Staff is except the girl who work on friday night is terribly rude.

Seriously , if you need to rest after a lonh workday, spend your time looking for another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mhmtkcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Dear Guest, I think we were trying so hard to satisfy all your needs and wants, but it was impossible. We never had any complaints about our internet connection. I would also like to defend our staff as they are all very nice to guests and are very professional. I think what you did to us was not fair at all - coming to reception saying that you have booked different hotel and want to leave 5 nights earlier! It was Hight Season( Easters) and we didn´t charge you anything! Usually in this situasion you should be charged full amount . Also it is not rude when you say to a receptionist that you don´t know your PIN Code and that is her responsibility to find out the way how to charge you? Isn´t it Your responsibility to make sure you are able to pay for your bills? You were very rude to her, so it is natural that everyone would start denfending himself.
I think you were dissaopointed from the begining already, we really did strive very hard to make your stay as comfortable and pleasant as you expected, but nothing would make you satisfied. Usually I would say: Thank you for your stay and we would like to serve you next time with even better service. But not in this situation.
Yours Sincerely,
Dagmar Malá & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Not only is this a great hotel, it's like a trip to a fun museum of 50s and 60s furniture, fixtures and chotchkies. The clean, simple design of the rooms is welcoming while stylish, and the rest of the hotel keeps you engaged with funky light fixtures, plastic toys, and great bold colors.

It's worth getting a slightly pricier room to get a view of the city - some of the rooms have a view of a central corridor/alley.

Good breakfast, nice afternoon tea, great service - I want to grab my go-go boots and go-go back to Sax!

Room Tip: Rooms 21, 22, 31, 32, 41 and 42 overlook Prague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larraby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your compliments. We are pleased that you did like our design as well as hospitality we provide. We are looking forward to your next visit!
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

We stayed for 3 nights at the Design Hotel Sax at the end of April 2011. The hotel is perfectly located withing walking proximity to all major tourist attractions, yet in a calm and secure surroundings. We've chosen it based on Tripadviser reviews and were absolutely happy with our choice. The room was nicely decorated and spacious enough to accommodate 4 people (2 adults and 2 kids of 5 and 1,5 years old). However, keep in mind that some of the rooms overlook the inner gallery of the hotel and guests literally pass by your windows. This may cause inconvinience as you have to keep your windows always curtained, but it was OK for us because we spent most of the time outside. Upon arrival the hotel provided us with a big box of toys, which made our kids happy and let us have peaceful evenings in the hotel. The rate included 5 o'clock tea with small sandwiches and home-made pastries, which was a great relief after a hard walking around Prague. The stuff was extremely helpful and friendly. Also pay attention that the hotel rates exclude all the taxes and add about 15 % to the rate. We would definetely come back. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katjapetrova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Dear Guests,I would like to thank you for your agreeable comment as well as for mentioning that charge - 10% ! . That is VAT charge in Czech Republic and sometimes it is not included in the price you have on your confirmation. I would recommend to all future guests to read the terms and conditions properly before submitting the payment. This will avoid all missunderstanding on your check out payment. Certainly we are here for you and more than happy to explain all the charges we make.
Ït was nice to have you here and we hope that on your next journey to Prague you will visit SAX again.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#38 of 647 in Prague
844 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#63 of 647 in Prague
1,175 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#55 of 647 in Prague
450 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#64 of 647 in Prague
1,840 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#183 of 647 in Prague
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#260 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing