We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, stylish & comfortable hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #145 of 672 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky, stylish & comfortable hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and found everything to a very high standard. We stayed in room 18 which was lovely. The room was spacious, even with twin beds and fitted out with everything you need and more! Flat screen TV, DVD player, dressing gowns, hairdryer etc. A great perk was the use of the laptop with free internet access in the room. I was concerned that it might be noisy as the window overlooked the corridor (sounds strange but not at all!) but it wasn't at all and we slept incredibly well.

The staff were attentive and friendly and always willing to answer any of our questions.

There was a vast selection laid out for the buffet style breakfast and in addition, you could order hot food. I sampled something different each morning and couldn't find fault anywhere. The breakfast was available til 11am and remained plentiful until then.

The value of the hotel was excellent for us as we had a special offer where the 3rd night was free. Had we paid for the 3 nights, it would be quite pricey but still worth it.

The location of the hotel is great too. In a quiet street but still within 5-10 mins walk of both Charles Bridge and the castle.

I stayed here with my Mum and both of us would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Prague.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CharlieT-yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest, we are very greatfull for such a nice review and it is pleasure for us to find out that our hotel had more than you wished from your vacation. We hope to welcome you in SAX again.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    221
    51
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
604
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

A belated review from April 2011 but I felt I should recommend this hotel to others. It is very good value, all the rooms are very individual and decorated throughout with a modern art feel - it must have taken a long time to collect all the items of decor. Service was great and the breakfast was lovely. Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crystaltippsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 30 October 2011
Dear Guest, I would like to thank you for such a nice review. We are glad that you have enjoyed your vacation and we hope that you would visit us again.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed at Vintage Hotel Sax on two occasions during a recent trip to Europe. It is a funky hotel that is very well run and comfortable. Breakfast is provided with a limited but nice selection of foods.

The room was very comfortable, clean and any request, i.e. extra pillows, was met with promptly by staff.

The front-desk staff were, without exception, wonderful...as was the service staff in the breakfast room.

The hotel is very close to the Castle and the area is quiet compared to the 'Old Town' section of Prague, which is wall-to-wall tourists. The Charles Bridge, Old Town and other primary sites are within a easy 15 minute walk of the hotel.

Took public transit from the airport to a location near the hotel and, like everything else in Prague, it was easy to navigate, reasonable in cost and efficient. Make sure you walk to the Old City at night, at least once during your trip...as beautiful as Prague is during the day, at night it is magnificent!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 25....not much of a view, and some noise from passing vehicles at night, but exceptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I can't rave enough about Hotel Sax. From the friendly staff, adorable decor, great room sizes and amenities, location, food, and price, we were so happy to call Sax home for 4 nights. This is really in the perfect location, it's adorable and literally steps from Prague Castle and a 5 min walk to Charles Bridge, and is charmingly busy during the day but nice and quiet at night (but still safe- the American Embassy as well as the police station were a stone's throw from the hotel and we never felt unsafe no matter what time we came home). I love that such a neatly decorated, modern building could be in such a charming, old school location- usually you find outdated, old/crummy/dirty interiors in these types of surroundings, but not the Sax. Even the WC in the lobby was really neat/modern. You'd expect to pay big bucks for this type of place, but it was surprisingly in our budget (made even better by the 'get the 4th night free' deal we got, plus the included breakfast and tea time).

Our room was really spacious and comfortable, and the laptop in the room was the single most helpful thing about the hotel (I'd come back just for that perk alone, even if the hotel wasn't as wonderful as it is). As mentioned, the staff is all incredibly friendly and helpful (where else do you get a card with next day's weather on it left in your room?), the hotel itself is very clean/comfortable/adorable (check out the small outdoor terrace on the 4th floor!) and the (included) food was excellent, breakfast was a treat and we loved coming back every day for tea time. We even got a small gift upon departure.

From start to finish, we were treated so well here and I am happy to recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Prague, and it was definitely the best hotel of our recent Euro trip. Do note that you will pay extra for a room with an outdoor window, however; the indoor rooms have windows to the atrium/hallway (which gets lots of light from the glass ceiling), and ended up suiting us just fine (I recommend room 36).

Room Tip: room 36 was a great option for those on a budget, it didn't have an outside window (you pay more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SparkleMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 15 October 2011
Dear Guest,
We are very greatfull for such a beutifull and heartwarming review. It is pleasure for us to hear such a compliments. Thank you very much for taking your time to post your tips and suggestions to other guests.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

I travel for leisure 3 times a year so I've been to many, many hotels and there are many things that can make or ruin a stay in a fantastic city, the overall experience at a hotel is on top of my list. In the case of Vintage Design Hotel Sax, the warm smiles, the sincere greetings, the effort that is made by everyone on staff to make sure the guests are happy and satisfied and the little extras that do not go unnoticed all make for a fantastic stay!

Prague is a beautiful city and it helps when the hotel you stay at is centrally located, close to all the attractions. You get a bonus if you can walk to all of them, as is the case with the Sax. If you have any questions on where to go, the staff at the front desk will answer any question, book any tour, give you hints, respect your budget. If the router on your floor goes awry, the bellhop who subs as an IT guy will make sure all is fixed before going back to his post.

The breakfast. Hmmmm the breakfast is delightful and fills you up before heading out to see the sights. Miss anything? Just ask and it will be replenished promptly and politely.

Hungry after a long day? The Sax offers wonderful bites to tie you over before dinner and I'm not talking about simple cookies and coffee. I mean fresh fruit, choice of juices, coffee or tea, typical Bohemian tart, 3 kinds of sandwich-bites. Want a beer or a glass of wine? They have that too!

We were lucky to have a room with a view overlooking Prague, simply breathtaking. Our room was clean, the bed comfortable and the bathroom amenities aplenty. There was even a scale so I could keep my weight on track, a hard task with all restaurants around the hotel and the rich czech food and great beer!

If you go to Prague, make sure you stay at the Sax, you won't regret it!
Lu
Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarmiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Dear Lu, I am absolutelly delighted with your review and would like to thank you very much on behalf of our staff. We were all glad to have you here and hope that on your next way to Prague you will visit us again.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

First of all - we loved every minute of our stay on our honey week in Prague, Sax is amazing place - stylish, romantic, spotless clean, comfortable and extremely customer-oriented. Located quite aside of major tourist-crowded streets it still very close to all tourist attractions of Prague.
I have to point on high level of customer service. Our flight to Prague was rescheduled and all our vacation was eventually shifted for one day. One phone call to Sax's front desk solved all our problems - dearest Veronica and hotel's manager have been so nice and supportive changing our reservation without any fines or penalties and extending our stay by moving us to suite room. I cannot stop thanking them for it. Hotel's staff was very friendly and helpful solving all little problems in no time. They even changed the mattress in suite to make our sleep most comfortable. Thanks, Alex!
We liked literally everything in Sax - stylish design with funny details from my childhood time, cleanliness, nice and tasty breakfasts, quietness and location-location-location!
Staying in Sax worth every penny spent, guaranteed! And we'll come back, I promise!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms and suites are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dearest Guests,
I would like to thank you for such a heartwarming review. It was pleasure for us to have you here and we are glad you did choose SAX for your honeymoon celebration. Every guest is different and we allways try to get to know each guests habbits in order to satisfy his needs and wants. We will be definitelly looking forward to your next visit not just as a couple but promise you will take a little one with you as well :-)
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Wonderful stay. Reception was extremely helpful, the breakfast and coffee time was tremendous added value and the room completely unique. Impeccably clean - a very nice retreat after long touring days in Prague. Can't go wrong here, especially considering the amazing location for walking access to all the important spots. Have the hotel book your taxi's as to avoid the rip-off cab drivers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodiGoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Guest, we are really greatfull for your kind feedback. It is great to find out that we served you with the great service and that hotel SAX ment to you more than just a mean of accomodation.
We will be looking forward to your next visit!
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#50 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#81 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#48 of 672 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing