We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but a few problems” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #129 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but a few problems”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We were overall pleased with the hotel but there were a couple of things that could be improved. The cleanliness of the room was not fantastic with cobwebs along the ceiling and we never felt the carpet was hovered. The bathroom was constantly cold which was not pleasant and the bath/shower was under a sloping ceiling which made it very difficult to shower standing up.
The positives were the breakfast and the tea as well as the friendly staff and the little things like free wifi and laptop in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joshm2087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We originally thought, that this review is not real, because we refurbished all rooms with sloppy seelings as there were complaints from our guests.We are glad you did enjoy your vacation, but absolutelly do not understand how your room could not been hoovered as our housekeeping service has to do it in every room, every day and they DO! We will make sure and rather double-check from now on. We hope that you would give us another chance to serve you even better than the first time.
With kind regards,
Dagmar Malá and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    220
    48
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
600
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had an exceptional experience! The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful and always very welcoming. We had an attic room which had a queen bed and a sofa bed for our four year old. The room so included a large bathroom and a sitting area when you first walked in to the room. Additionally we had an extra bathroom with a sink and toilet as well as a sink and counter which was helpful for washing bottles as we had our three month old baby with us as well. The vibrant colors of the room were fun and bright which added to the experience.

Breakfast was the best we have ever had at a hotel in all of Europe and we have traveled extensively. Not only did they have the typical European breakfast (deli meats, cereal, fruit, juices, pastries), but also offered guests the option to order a hot entree as well. Such a nice option. The French toast is amazing!

The vintage sax is a wonderful hotel in a perfect spot in beautiful Prague. There are so many beautiful attractions and restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelers0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear guest, thank you for this honourable review. We will be more than happy to welcome you back in hotel SAX!
With kind regards,
Dagmar Malá and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

overall we had a good stay, i don't think it was worth the extra money for a room with a window though, having seen the "internal" rooms they are just as big, plus our window just looked out onto an ugly building, no nice views!

pros
the design is cool, and lots of authentic gadgets
love the display of light shades
dining area is very quirky as are the toilets!
good location for old and new town

cons
the "free" wine and snacks are poor quality and for me most were inedible so after a couple of tries we decided they weren't worth coming back for
they used the building for filming during our stay so we couldn't use the cafe area for one day / evening
no tea/coffee facilities in room
bathroom a bit tacky and retro wallpaper coming off the wall

would recommend the segway tour, prauge is a great city for a tour (the one near the bridge on left hand side as you go towards old town) it was great fun!

Room Tip: i didn't think it was worth the extra for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littledsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback which is pointig out our pluses and minuses. Regarding our afternoon tea - we think that the fresh finger food together with atmosphere and different kind of drinks are nice chance how to relax after whole day, especially considering that it is served complimentary to all our guests. Yes, there are no cattles in the room, but there is coffee/tea room on the ground floor, where you can make yourself tea anytime.
Off course that some of our rooms does not have the best views, but if you decide to have view on the day of your arrival, when the hotel is allmost full, there is nothing we could do, even though we would love to.
Anyway, we are glad that your time in Prague was still pleasant and let´s tra to make your next visit in SAX better.
With kind regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

We chose this hotel based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor and could not have been more pleased. The staff was gracious and accommodating, the room was lovely and large by European standards and the breakfast had a wonderful selection every morning. The hotel is also in an excellent location, convenient to the Prague castle and an easy and short walk to the old town center. We LOVED our stay here and will definitely stay here next time we are in Prague and we will be back. Prague is like a fairy tale...loved our time here!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kmeyersandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guests, thank you kindly for such a nice comment. We appreciate, that travellers like you rate our hotel ith the highest mark! That is very heartwarming and on behalf of our whole team I would like to invite you for the next visit in Sax! With Kind Regards, Dagmar Malá and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The food was very good. The decor was cool.
The room was comfortable, the bed was micro foam and fabulous compared to most beds in Europe.
The room also had a lap top, flat screen, 85 TV channels, 5K movie library etc.
Far enough away from the action but a great location.
Not stuffy, but charming, alot of thought went into all of the touches.
Loved it!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for such a kind feedback on behalf of our whole team. I hope that on your next way to Prague, you will choose our hotel again. With Kind Regards, Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This marvellous funky, small boutique hotel complete with 50s to 70s furnishings and decor and playing the music of those decades is just an eight minute walk below the castle and another eight minute walk to the Charles bridge. Our room was very spacious with separate entry vestibule and bathroom. Everything in the bedroom was retro: the furniture, lighting, desk, four armchairs, the bed and even the wallpaper. Although everything seemed to be from past decades, it also looked unused, as if the hotel had somehow discovered and utilized the brand new stock from some time-warp 50s furniture factory. Every corridor, stairway, vestibule and room was similarly decorated in a rainbow of primary colours. A laptop and free access to the internet were provided in every room. An excellent hot and cold breakfast and an afternoon tea were included in the price. Help from all of the staff was of the highest order. We had a very early departure and the night concierge provided us with ham and cheese baguettes and fruit for our journey. Just a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: If possible, ask to see a couple of rooms. They are all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1212check
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are so pleased to read that you have experienced an enjoyable stay here in our hotel SAX. It was very pleasant to meet nice people like you are. We hope that on your next trip to Prague you will choose our hotel again. With Kindest Regards, Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This is a lovely hotel. It is small and friendly and is a feast for the eyes. It is individually styled and a long way from a corporate hotel. Your room is equipped with safe, robes, slippers, tv, dvd player, and laptop. You get the feeling that the owners really care about the experience of the visitor. Buffet breakfast is very good and you can choose from a freshly cooked hot menu. There is also complementary afternoon tea available between 4pm and 6pm. The location is ideal, it is in the Lesser Town only a short walk to Charles Bridge or the Castle. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby that stay open late. It is a very busy city but the Hotel is tucked away in a delightful quiet street.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the standard rooms and it suited us fine. The bathroom was fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rbmm2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guests, first of all I would like to say a big thank you for beeing such a nice guests as it was pleasure for our staff to help you with suggestions and tips for your stay. It is very rewarding to read such a gracious review. We hope that you will visit us again on your next way to Bohemia.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#52 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#94 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#69 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#32 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#110 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical city centre, right below Prague Castle, Hotel Sax offers free WiFi and rich buffet breakfast. Every room has a LCD TV or Smart TV with satellite programs a DVD player and 10 DVD titles. All rooms are air-conditioned. The spa area at Vintage Design Hotel Sax comprises a hot tub, a fitness room and a sauna. Massages will be provided on request. The DVD library includes over 5,000 titles. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. The interiors of the hotel will transfer you to the 1950s, 60s, or 70s. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. The Prague Castle can be reached within 5 minutes on foot, the Charles Bridge in 10 minutes and the Jewish Quarter is a 20-minute walk away. St. Nicholas Church and the Schwarzenberg Palace can be seen 300 m away, the Church of Our Lady Victorious is 500 m off and the Strahov Monastery is 1.1 km far. A tram stop is near the hotel. Parking is available in front of the hotel (at extra charge), in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing