We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“minus 20 outside but cosy indoors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #157 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to Prague, and we were delighted with our choice of Vintage Sax for four nights (for the price of three). The location is superb, well away from the crowds in the Old Town but five minutes from the Castle steps, and with plenty of lively bars and restaurants within 250m. We were in room 41 on the top floor with an iconic view of the red-tiled roof tops and steaming chimney-pots. The weather stayed below minus 10c throughout our stay but the hotel was warm and welcoming, with excellent breakfasts and afternoon tea if required.Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Top floor has great views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank AnonfromGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for such a lovely comment on our hotel. It was pleasure for us to have you here in SAX and we are looking forward to your next visit!
With my Kindest Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Vintage Design Hotel Sax
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 998 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at the Vintage Sax hotel for two nights and had a thoroughly pleasant stay. The bedroom and bathroom were both of a decent size, clean and well-appointed. Lots of attention had been paid to the little elements of design, which gave the hotel a really fun overall appearance. Situated very close to Prague Castle, the Sax is in a great location for walking around Prague. The staff were all exceptionally friendly, welcoming and professional. The afternoon tea and cakes were a lovely treat after a day's sightseeing. We would definitely stay here again on a return visit to Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RubyTuesday0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest, we are delighted by your review and would like to thank you for submitting it. We hope that on your next way to Prague you would choose hotel SAX again.
With my Kindest Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

lovely room (top floor with a limited but enchanting view), lovely staff (with unending patience for our various concerns), and lovely little Relax Zone (did not even discover it the first time we frequented the hotel).
although it is not exactly on the beaten track the trek to and/or from the hotel is not difficult and affords a chance to burn a calorie or two.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank monkey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Guest,
first of all I would like to thank you for your kind feedback! We are glad that you did enjoy your vacation and hope that you would visit us again in the future.
With my Kindest Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here with my grown up daughter in October. It is a lovely, funky hotel - I've never seen anything like it before. Everyone was very helpful. We had an inside room and liked it very much. The breakfast was up there amongst the best I've ever had. The hotel is situated at the bottom of the castle area and is very convenient for the main sights. The route is along a quiet street but we never felt nervous coming back at night because of several Embassies in the area meaning there is always a police presence within shouting distance – not that I think you would have any problems anyway. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel – found only through the Trip reviews, as so often happens.

Room Tip: We had no problems with an inside room
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Holleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest, I would honestly like to thank you for such a kind comment. We asre very pleased that you experienced great time in SAX and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Sax for two nights, the hotel was clean, decoration was funky and staff were very pleasant.Upon checkin in we were given a map of the city and shown the major city attractions.

Our room (15) was also quite nice, clean and size is good by European standards, but it was very noisy everytime a car drives past, as it was on the first floor overlooking the street. Not many cars during the night so it wasn't too bad but very early in the morning there was a garbage truck or something that was so loud it rattled the windows and there were also buses that had a route down the street so it was impossible to sleep past about 6am.
We told the gentleman at reception and he kindly moved us to another room (41) which I think must have been a superior room because it was a lot more spacious, had an amazing view of the city out the window and best of all, very quiet.
For this reason I give it a three stars, because while we were lucky and they were able to accommodate us, other people may not be so lucky if the hotel is busy and will be stuck in a really noisy room.

Breakfast spread was good, a selection of cold meats, breads, fruits, cereal, juices and also a hot dish (omelette, pancakes, etc). You get filter coffee or tea but had to pay extra for capuccino or latte.
Hotel facilities, there was a printer, microwave and hot-cold water and ice in a common room near the lobby, but no tea or coffee facilities in the room. Also gym facilities but for extra. Although why would one go to the gym when on holiday in such a beautiful city!
They also provide an afternoon tea between 4-6 which sounded nice, though we were too busy sightseeing to attend!

All in all, a nice hotel with excellent service but request a room on the back side of the building.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room not overlooking the street.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank TashBeestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We really appologise for any uncomfortable experience you had. But at the same time we are glad that we could change your room and make you feel comfortable again. Everybody has different sleeping perception, somebody lower, others higher. It is true that to hear a bus on cobblestones and up to the hill is very noisy, but there is nothing we can do about it. Our windows are double glazed allready. I hope that the rest of your stay was fine and we will be looking forward to your next visit!
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We really loved staying at this hotel. The vintage theme is worked out in detail, the staff is nice and helpfull and breakfast delicious! Defenately try the French toast!

The location is also convenient: nice and quiet, but still within only a few minutes walking from a lot of the gorgeous attractions this city owes.

Nu only advice: take a room with windows to the outside. We had a room with "windows to the inside glass atrium" but could not get the temperature in our room belle 25 degrees C, because for sine reason all theaters in the shared spaces of this hotel were running at full power all the time. And 25 degrees is not a nice temperature to go to sleep!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MissDiZz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I did not believe that we can find such a unique hotel in Prague, it was a very pleasant surprise to see that it is more beautiful than described on the site. The location is amazing, very close to absolutely everything that you might be interested in Prague. Even if the hotel building is in a vintage style, it has been completely renovated, just the furnishings are originals.Also it has modern facilities, free WiFi throughout the hotel. Do not miss the Lvi Dvur restaurant, with typical local specialities and the menu is not expensive. Staff to me was very helpful and kind.

Room Tip: Room with a small balcony was great!
Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
12  Thank Ronnie_88_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind feedback. It is especially rewarding when such a comment comes from Czech citizen, because being called "Unique" in the whole Prague with such an amount of other hotels is just an honour ! We hope that you will come to visit us again in the future...
With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#71 of 648 in Prague
1,087 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#43 of 648 in Prague
799 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#38 of 648 in Prague
321 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#12 of 648 in Prague
717 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 648 in Prague
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#134 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £73 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing