We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good option for families visiting Prague”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #164 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel on our recent visit to Prague. We rented a junior suite which was spacious accommodations for our family of four. The hotel has a great location: quiet neighborhood, good cafes & restaurants nearby, and easy walking distance to major sights like the Castle District, Charles Bridge, Old Town. 5 minute walk to nearest tram station for access to Prague's very good public transportation system. The staff were friendly and helpful. The price seemed a little on the high side but otherwise we really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekGittoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay at hotel Sax. I hope that Prague was only good experience for you and you may decided to return and we will see you again :)

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

The hotel´s statement of a vintage hotel is 100% true, Everyting matches, every area (restaurant, reception, room, bathroom) breathes vintages. The hotel was clean, breakfast of very good qualiity and all personnel very friendly. Also the location was good, on 5 min walking distance from the Charles bridge. If we would return to Praque, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room - room was very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your nice comment. We will try to continue to meet the expectations of our guests, because we can see that it pays off. Your satisfaction is important to us. We would like to welcome you at hotel Sax on your next trip to Prague ! We will be honoured.

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent three nights here in early July. We loved Prague and Hotel Sax certainly added to the positive experience. We had a large room on the third floor. It was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and very stylish. We found the staff attentive and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and afternoon tea is a nice touch. We also took advantage of a late checkout which cost about 10 euros and was great as we had the room till evening when our flight left.
Loved the quirky décor but this is a good, smart, comfortable hotel in it's own right.
(Also the location is perfect. Walking distance to everything but in a smart super-quiet district)

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank crid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

We are glad that we met your expectations and that we sweeten your stay in Prague. Nothing is more important than to have a quiet place to spend a quiet and relaxing night after a busy day. We hope that we delivered the necessary comfort and at your eventual trip to Prague will meet again.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed in Hotel Sax for a few days and I wished I would have stayed longer. The hotel decorations are adorable. Everything is vintage and the cleanliness of the rooms is always on point. The location is perfect, walking distance to most attractions and the staff is very helpful which only adds to the experience. The breakfast is amazing and they have daily tea time for the guests. I could go on and on about my time at Hotel Sax, but the point is that this was the best decision we made during our trip. Best Boutique hotel. We fell in love with it and we think there should be thousands more all over Europe just like this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paola karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear guets,

we really appreciate that you took some time to express your feelings about our hotel. All the better we are when we hear such a positive feedback. It was great to spend the time with you and we hope we will maybe welcome you at hotel Sax again !

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My boyfriend and I chose this hotel based on the very good reviews on tripadvisor, the room rate and its location.
We booked the airport pick up/ bring service and our drivers were both super friendly and drove also savely.
When we arrived we directly liked the neighbourhood. It felt safe and quiet.
The girl at the reception was not very helpful. She offered us a room at the first floor and when I told her I especially requested a quiet room she told me this is the only room left.
She had also no idea where good restaurants can be found in the neighbourhood.
Our room (11) was pretty spacious with a sort of hall, living room and bedroom and 4 windows. The bathroom had no air circulation, so when someone was showering the room was damp.
We had also the feeling the room was not well cleaned. In the bathroom we found a lot toothpaste stains, also the water, which was in crewet was not refreshed during our stay.
The carpet looked dated and had an uncomfortable own smell, which we found so unbareable that we had to open some windows day and night. The problem at the night was the noise from outside or neighbours (walls are pretty thin) which did not let us sleep properly.
The worst was the BUILDING CONSTRUCTION going on next door!

The breakfast was medicore. We expected, based on the very good reviews especially on their breakfast, a much better choice and preparation. The warm dishes were nothing special and greasy. Also other things were not positive. For Latte Macchiato etc the hotel charges Western European prices. In my opinion that is quite a no go for a 4 star hotel.
When I asked the waiter if I could get milk for my coffee he pointed to the milk standing there for cereals.

We overall liked Prague a lot and also would return but definitively not to this hotel.

We did not like to spend there more time than needed although we normally like to relax at hotels. This hotel gave us more a feelig of an hostel than a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear madam,

i really think we tried to make your stay convenient. Our staff is always very friendly and proffesional, so if some of the employees did not feel at ease, it could be maybe because she was under pressure to your requirements. Because during the period of your stay here were 2 new employees – maybe they were little bit nervous. You stayed in our Suite in the 1st floor. Unfortunately in this period we was fully booked so we definitely did not have any free rooms to offer you. But your room was one of the best in the hotel, so i think you shold be satisfied. Every bathroom in the hotel has the air circulation – so maybe you hadn´t noticed, you could ask of our employees for a help – the are always happy to help with any problem. The rooms are always perfectly cleaned up – we always check them at least twice before check in. We are really sorry for the reconstruction of the building next to the hotel. We really couldn´t do more with that. The hotel is very old buliding so the walls are thick. Barely you can hear someone from the other rooms for example.
Our breakfast are fresh, various and you can eat from 7 to 11 am! It includes fresh fruit, vegetable, yoghurts, cheeses, czech pastries, sausages, hot and cold drinks, fresh juices, one hot breakfast from a la carte menu for free and much much more. Each guest praised our breakfast till today so we are really sorry we did not meet your requirements. Our waiter is available and willing to meet all your requirements during the breakfast time.
Definitely no one has ever not enter the hotel Sax to ,,hostel,, and I am pretty sure that we offer deluxe service as fourstar hotel!

Hope you are doing well.

With kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

This was the second time we were staying at this hotel. Four years ago it was probably one of the best hotels I had stayed on. This time it wasn't amazing but still very good quality and with a perfect location near the castle. The difference from last time was that things that were free then now were charged for, as for example wine during "the afternoon tea", an hour in the jacuzzi and DVD-films.
A + compared to last time was all the retro things they have sampled and made some sort of exhibition of. Also, they have a small but really nice terrace to spend some time on if the weather is good. During our stay it was mostly sunny and between 24-35 degrees :-).

Room Tip: Don't bother with upgrading from a standard room - it's bigger but definitely not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liselott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear guests,

we would like to thank you for posting your nice and detailed review on our TripAdvisor page. We are really glad that you found so many aspects of your stay to your liking. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Dagmar & Hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

From the time we checked in until we left 4 days later we felt like we were staying with friends. The hotel met our needs, the room (no. 42) had many amenities and a nice view of the castle and the Prague skyline. The breakfast service offered a number of choices and the location of the hotel was close to a nice shopping street and was a comfortable walk from the tram stations. It was also in a nice, quiet neighborhood. It would have been walkable to the old town but we were there during the floods and the Charles Bridge was closed.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have better views but it appears that third floor rooms may be a bit roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you decided to share your experience with our hotel with other guests. it's nice to hear that we meet the needs and expectations of other nice guests. We would be delighted to welcome you again at hotel Sax!

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#37 of 648 in Prague
836 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#65 of 648 in Prague
1,156 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#182 of 648 in Prague
1,472 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 648 in Prague
658 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#140 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £50 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing