We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool designer hotel. perfect stay! OMG the omlettes!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #155 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool designer hotel. perfect stay! OMG the omlettes!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The interior of this hotel is from the 50',60',70' and that gives it a super cool flair. You feel like in the middle of a 60' secret agent movie! The rooms are big and also in vintage style. The staff is super helpful and friendly (eg. assistance with booking a table at a restaurant). The breakfast offers a large variety, eg. Fresh fruit, cheeses, different hams. Moreover they serve omlettes, ham and eggs or scrambled eggs. Personally, the omlette here was one of the best i have ever eaten!!! -> try it!

Location is top: 5 minutes to prag castle and ca. 10 minutes to charles bridge.
we loved it and there was not a single thing to complain about!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    223
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
608
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Booked my daughter and two of her friends in this adorable little hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings. They were not disappointed and really loved the decor, the rooms, and the breakfast. Very safe and the concierge took care of all my requests via email very efficiently and friendly. As their last night in Prague after a study-abroad program, this little gem of a hotel was a real treat for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I usually prefer the funky over the chic. Sax Vintage Hotel definitely fit the bill for us. Aside from the budget friendly aspect (we booked three nights in a row and got a discount!), this place has an awesome breakfast, it is literally colorful, and the staff was amazing. I really can't say enough good things. The location is wonderful, too...close enough to all the shopping and nightlife, but it's on a back street and really feels like a little oasis upon returning from a day exploring the city.

When we return to Prague, we will absolutely stay here again.

The only thing that would have made our stay nicer would have been complimentary pool and spa- as in most European hotels, you do have to pay extra for those services.

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful. I'm sure the others were just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizaRLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed three nights In Prague and really nice food, spacy rooms, fantastic service and really friendly waitresses at Hotel Vintage Sax made the Prague weekend so nice. When we come back we will sure stay at Sax again !! Big thanks // Andre from Stockholm

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Andre,

Every day is suddenly nicer when we meet such great people. We're really glad you could be part of the hotel. With great pleasure we will see you here again.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We loved this hotel! We had two rooms, both overlooking the street. Good toiletries, comfortable bed, room not large but big enough for a few chairs and a coffee table as well. We loved the decoration - in our rooms and in the hotel in general - lots of retro crockery, vases, toys, paintings, and so on. Good display of lights and seating throughout the hotel. Breakfast was good, free afternoon tea of savoury and sweet snacks. We had no problem with wireless or with the showers as other reviewers have - though the bath tub was high - and we are not short so if you are short you would need to concentrate getting out of the bath/shower. There was no air-conditioning but the windows opened so it was fine. Easy to find - up the street from the US Embassy so a permanent police presence = safe area. Half way up the hill to the castle as well - and a walk downhill in the opposite direction to Charles Bridge - great location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guests,

we are really grateful for your energetic contribution. What a pity that you couldn´t find an air-conditioning, because it is in every room. Next time my colleagues will show you where it is :) I mean - we would be happy to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was in this hotel for 5 days, very well located, away from the mess, but close to restaurants and 5 minutes walk from charles bridge, the room is cramped, small and barely functional. At breakfast, is charged to the coffee or coffee with milk, despite the staff being attentive, did not comply with my check-in time or other guests, we had to wait for 2 hours to clean up the room.For these reasons I would not return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biasoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear madam,

if you can see on our website – we have the detail description about the rooms. Even there is written how big the rooms are – specificaly you had a double deluxe room and on our website is the information that the room is big 25m2. So i think this is not any suprise or secret information. In addition, every day we check if everything in the rooms works as it should. In so many hotels they served only the filtred coffee and you have to pay extra for drinks like latte or cappuccino. So even this seemed like very normal thing. The check in time is from 2pm. It is written on the website, on your reservation, so if some guests arrive earlier – they can leave their luggage in the hotel´s luggage room, go to the city, and then come back to the prepared room. In many hotels they have the check out time till 10am, but we want to make the stay most convenient – we have got it till noon. That is why we have the check in time from 2 pm – we need some time to clean the rooms. But always, the rooms are cleaned no later than to 2 pm.

We hope that you are doing well.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel on our recent visit to Prague. We rented a junior suite which was spacious accommodations for our family of four. The hotel has a great location: quiet neighborhood, good cafes & restaurants nearby, and easy walking distance to major sights like the Castle District, Charles Bridge, Old Town. 5 minute walk to nearest tram station for access to Prague's very good public transportation system. The staff were friendly and helpful. The price seemed a little on the high side but otherwise we really liked the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerekGittoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel.I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed the stay at hotel Sax. I hope that Prague was only good experience for you and you may decided to return and we will see you again :)

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#48 of 649 in Prague
762 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#77 of 649 in Prague
1,023 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#43 of 649 in Prague
303 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 649 in Prague
631 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#68 of 649 in Prague
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#132 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing