We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time capsule, straight to the 60's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #148 of 650 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Time capsule, straight to the 60's”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

My room (thanks to the upgrade) had a magnificent view and more than enough space in it's mini living room and separate bedroom.

The decoration was cool, like being in a time capsule straight to the 60s, quite interesting feeling considering the fact that you are in a castle city.

But, everything looked like the 60s. The pressure of whater in the shower (aka, no pressure at all), the smell of the bathroom, the burnt curtains.

Like it was designed at some point in the 60s and nothing changed since..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_miss_cinnamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear guests,

we really want to make your stay as possible special, so if we have free better rooms, we always offer to our guests the free upgrade. You had got one! It is no possible to smell the burnt curtains, because our hotel is strictly non-smoking and also all the bathrooms in the hotel are new, always perfectly cleaned so i cannot imagine any smell of the bathroom. Anyway we are really pleased that you liked the decor and the design.

Wish you the nice day!

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    221
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
605
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This Hotel is unique with its Retro decor. All rooms are different and interesting.

Rooms well appointed and comfortable.

Great breakfast choices and plenty of it.

After a day of walking you can go back to Hotel for a lovely afternoon tea.

Staff very friendly and helpful .

Slightly more expensive but would definately recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The interior of this hotel is from the 50',60',70' and that gives it a super cool flair. You feel like in the middle of a 60' secret agent movie! The rooms are big and also in vintage style. The staff is super helpful and friendly (eg. assistance with booking a table at a restaurant). The breakfast offers a large variety, eg. Fresh fruit, cheeses, different hams. Moreover they serve omlettes, ham and eggs or scrambled eggs. Personally, the omlette here was one of the best i have ever eaten!!! -> try it!

Location is top: 5 minutes to prag castle and ca. 10 minutes to charles bridge.
we loved it and there was not a single thing to complain about!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Booked my daughter and two of her friends in this adorable little hotel based on Tripadvisor ratings. They were not disappointed and really loved the decor, the rooms, and the breakfast. Very safe and the concierge took care of all my requests via email very efficiently and friendly. As their last night in Prague after a study-abroad program, this little gem of a hotel was a real treat for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokimole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My husband and I usually prefer the funky over the chic. Sax Vintage Hotel definitely fit the bill for us. Aside from the budget friendly aspect (we booked three nights in a row and got a discount!), this place has an awesome breakfast, it is literally colorful, and the staff was amazing. I really can't say enough good things. The location is wonderful, too...close enough to all the shopping and nightlife, but it's on a back street and really feels like a little oasis upon returning from a day exploring the city.

When we return to Prague, we will absolutely stay here again.

The only thing that would have made our stay nicer would have been complimentary pool and spa- as in most European hotels, you do have to pay extra for those services.

Room Tip: Our room was beautiful. I'm sure the others were just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizaRLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed three nights In Prague and really nice food, spacy rooms, fantastic service and really friendly waitresses at Hotel Vintage Sax made the Prague weekend so nice. When we come back we will sure stay at Sax again !! Big thanks // Andre from Stockholm

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Andre,

Every day is suddenly nicer when we meet such great people. We're really glad you could be part of the hotel. With great pleasure we will see you here again.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We loved this hotel! We had two rooms, both overlooking the street. Good toiletries, comfortable bed, room not large but big enough for a few chairs and a coffee table as well. We loved the decoration - in our rooms and in the hotel in general - lots of retro crockery, vases, toys, paintings, and so on. Good display of lights and seating throughout the hotel. Breakfast was good, free afternoon tea of savoury and sweet snacks. We had no problem with wireless or with the showers as other reviewers have - though the bath tub was high - and we are not short so if you are short you would need to concentrate getting out of the bath/shower. There was no air-conditioning but the windows opened so it was fine. Easy to find - up the street from the US Embassy so a permanent police presence = safe area. Half way up the hill to the castle as well - and a walk downhill in the opposite direction to Charles Bridge - great location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geekgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear guests,

we are really grateful for your energetic contribution. What a pity that you couldn´t find an air-conditioning, because it is in every room. Next time my colleagues will show you where it is :) I mean - we would be happy to welcome you again.

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#51 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#77 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#44 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#126 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing