We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and kitschy (in a good way)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #155 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fun and kitschy (in a good way)”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I loved the decor in this hotel. Every last detail is 60s/70s-chic. Exploring the hotel was almost as much fun as exploring Prague. The buffet breakfast was very good, the views from the roof were fantastic, and the little "extras" like having a laptop in our room and getting a little tray of snacks each day really made the experience perfect. We were never able to find the afternoon tea -- just a machine -- but the snack platters in our room mostly made up for it. The neighbourhood was a good choice, in that it's in a quieter part of the city but very close to the Old Town. I had a bit of a dispute with a difficult staff member upon leaving, but that was the only negative experience (and to be fair, it turned out that she was mostly right). The price seemed high to me, but I think it was moderate for Prague, and by staying three nights we got a reasonably good deal. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms have only internal windows. If you open your curtains, people walking through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guests,

it is nice to hear that you liked our decor and small extras in your room. We just want to make your stay as comfortable as is possible. The 5 o´clock tea is in our hotel every day - we prepare coffee, tea and some afternoon snack so it is weird that you could not find it.
Anyway we are looking to welcome you again in hotel.

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    225
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
120
613
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a tough one. Okay, first the upside. The hotel is an easy walk to the Charles Bridge. I liked the neighbourhood as it seemed to be a mix of business and private homes and so felt more like a "real" neighbourhood. As to the hotel itself? It's not like any you've ever stayed in before. The high concept design is amazing. My husband was suspicious that the 70s thing was going to be an excuse for old and tired. Far from it! There is almost a museum quality feel to the decoration and design of the place. I've never seen anything like it. The breakfast options were diverse and suited us very well; the included afternoon tea was a nice touch with a lovely selections of canapés. A great thing for those with tired feet who needed some down time before even thinking about what to do about dinner. One young man on staff (they all have excellent English) gave us 2 great recommendations for dinner out: one "classic" Prague and one "new cuisine" Prague. Great food in both cases. Our second room (more on that later) was terrific -- top floor overlooking the city. Great bed and bathroom (they include a weigh scale if you want to know how much you've been eating!). Windows that opened so that we could control the temperature most effectively as we like a cool room in which to sleep.

Which leads to the difficulty. Be very careful that you understand what you are booking as the rooms are quite different. We hadn't realized that the room we had booked overlooked the internal atrium which is artificially lighted well into the night. The sounds from the lounge/eating area echo up to the glassed in roof above. There is a walkway right outside the room's windows whereby other guests access their rooms. That means you aren't going to sleep with the windows or draperies open. We tried to turn on the AC (both to cool the room and mask noise) but were informed that in winter (this is October 7) the hotel air was turned to warming instead of cooling. It was stuffy and hot and there wasn't anything we could do about that. We asked for a different room which was not possible until the next day. I appreciate that we were given what we had reserved -- we just hadn't realized that wasn't what we wanted! Not the hotel's fault and we really appreciate their ability to give us a different room for the last 2 nights of our stay.

Dining out in the city was very cheap for us Canadians (dinner for 2 with 2 courses and wine was maybe $50 Canadian before tip -- and we never quite figured out if we were supposed to tip or not, so we just did.) The hotel was about $200 Canadian a night for that interior room which seemed pricey by comparison. Perhaps that is the going rate for interior rooms in Prague, we haven't done any subsequent research on the point.

There is a fitness facility, at a substantial additional cost for using it. That is unusual in our experience. We have found that such facilities if available are routinely included in the room rate. Not having visited the Czech Republic before, perhaps this is customary there.

The hotel arranged transfers to/from the rail station and a city tour which was all very helpful.

So all in all, a mixed review. And the ratings are hard to apply. That which I've rated as "excellent or "very good" relates to the second room. The value I am rating as "poor" based on the first room.

Room Tip: Research carefully as the rooms are all very different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tansay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Guest,

in this case we have a clear concience because you've got exactly the room you have ordered. On our website,on booking.com, everywhere is a description of every room in our hotel. About the standart double room there is written:,,Their windows look out upon Prague design hotel inside a glass-covered atrium". And there you can see also the pictures. Yes, these are the cheapest rooms, which suits some customers (a view of the city they do not prefer), but if you prefer certain conditions- the cheapest is not always the best option.

And of course, we understand your needs so we did not have any problems to change your room for better next day. And we are happy that you liked it.

To air-conditioning - hotel is in an old building and it is usually quite cold in Prague at this time, so we heat. Unfortunately, it is possible to heat the whole building and not individual rooms separately.

However, we thank you for your positive reviews of the hotel and hopefully next time it will be a better selection of suitable rooms for you and you will enjoy Prague again.

Regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

vey nice,clean hotel with a very polite and helpful staff-everybody spoke english;localisation perfect-you can go sightseeing on foot,many restaurants are just around the corner,breakfast tasty and a nice suprise with an afternoon tea and cakes,rooms are charming (you should choose one with a street view)

Room Tip: there are two kinds of rooms-some have a view on a street and some on a glass covered atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your nice review. Hope you enjoyed the stay here and everything was to your liking. We will be happy to welcome you again at hotel Sax!

Best regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Lovely hotel in the Mala Strana district. Its near Prague castle in a quieter area of the city. However, just a 10 minute walk to Charles Bridge and central Prague.

The room and bathroom were quite larger, particular given the usual size of European hotel rooms. The layout is excellent and the bed is very comfortable. Quirky design - well put together and stands out from generic chain hotels. Several excellent amenities including a laptop in each room, free wifi and a gym. Great breakfast with option for hot breakfast.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for a recommendation of hotel Sax to other guests. We are very pleased that we met your expectations and we hope that we will be able to meet you again in the future.
With kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sf Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Our family stayed in two different rooms on the 3rd floor. The suite has a good view of the Prague castle, whereas the other room has small windows that look out to the Petrin Hill. The rooms tend to be on the smaller size, but quite comfortable. One thing we wish for our room was for the toilet and the bathroom to be together or next to each other. But they are completely separate, which is a bit of an inconvenience. The decor of the hotel is quite interesting - as its name suggests, it has vintage and retro items all around. Some may think of it as bold and odd; I think it's kind of cute.

We like the location of this hotel, being in Mala Strana, away from the hustle and bustle of Old Town. It's still within walking distance to tram stop, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Prague Castle and Monastery. Prague is a very walkable city when it comes to sights for tourists. Because of the proximity of this hotel to embassy buildings (including U.S.), cars passing by the area need to be stopped and checked by police.

The complimentary breakfast is very good. Aside from all the items placed for self-service, you can also have cooked to order breakfast, which is delicious and of a good portion. The staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for your possitive feedback. We hope that we usually met your expectations and that we even sweetened your stay in Prague. You stayed in the Superior double deluxe room - which has a separate toilet and bathroom. Our other rooms has these rooms in one. So it a coincidence that you get right this one. However the Superior room is one of the best in the hotel - it has a hall, small balcony, nice bathroom and it is very quiet room. So I think it was very good choice for you. Next time you can try our other rooms - you will be welcomed anytime.

Kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Choosing a hotel in Prague is not all that easy: once you're past chain hotels housed in communist-era buildings, you're faced with a bewildering choice of small B&Bs and boutique hotels. As we wanted something special, we opted for Vintage Design Hotel Sax and didn't have any regrets. It's conveniently located in Mala Strana, just 10 min walk to the Prague Castle. Each corner of this hotel is filled with quirky furniture or memorablia from 60's and 70's - both Czech and European. But it doesn't mean that the place leaves a "mothballed" feeling. All amenities are from the 2010's: super-comfy bed and pillows, well-equipped shower, well-stocked mini-bar. As a bonus to our superior room we had a charming view over Mala Strana rooftops and Prague Castle. The hotel staff was quite welcoming and efficient, but could have been more cheerful and anticipating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxLondon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your inspiring review. We are so glad that you like our decoration and collection. We will constantly strive to learn new things and improve to us for all future guests . Hope to see you next time.

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I loved reliving my youth surrounded by an eclectic collection of wallpaper, furniture, art, artifacts and objets d'art from the 60s to 80s. I had nights here and tried to extend my stay but they were booked out. The location is very quiet and secure (near the closely-guarded American embassy) but within easy walking distance to the castle and all of the old town highlights. A simple but good breakfast is included until a very relaxing 11am. The free wifi is excellent. Not quite an 'apartment' as advertised, as there's no facilities to cook, but I had a bedroom and bathroom with a sitting room, all of which were very well lit, roomy, very clean and comfortable with an espresso machine, bar fridge and 2 TVs. The female reception and restaurant staff were excellent....the males could be a little friendlier. I would highly recommend anyone stay here. I notice there was a complaint from a TripAdvisor correspondent regarding not being informed about the terrace, spa etc. There is a very comprehensive booklet in the room which has all this information available, but I would suggest that the staff could quickly inform each guest on arrival about these as the booklet is a little weighty to peruse. I had a look at the terrace and it is tiny, with not much of a view, and when I was there it was too cold to sit outside anyway. I didn't use the spa or other services, or have afternoon tea so cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: There's an elevator so it's easy to get to any room. I had a front room and it was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flitzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased for your friendly comment. What a shame that we did not have rooms available and you couldn't have stayed longer. We hope that it wasn´t your last stay in our hotel and we will see you next time. Then you can try our other services like gym or SPA and we will do our best to make you stay as comfortable as possible.

With kind regards,

Dagmar & hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#74 of 649 in Prague
1,067 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
792 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#40 of 649 in Prague
316 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#35 of 649 in Prague
642 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#10 of 649 in Prague
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#133 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing