We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #187 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I arrived early, so I checked in, left my luggage at the reception and went into town for a few hours. Upon coming back, it turned out there was a problem with my booking: the room was double booked but no problem... I got another room (just had to switch keycards), my luggage was already put in the room by the staff.

There's a laptop with internet in every room and you can even use the printer in the downstairs computer room free of charge.

The room: very clean, nice and spacious. Big bathroom. New shampoo, shower gel etc every day (contrary to the "terrible" reviews). Slept like a baby...
Breakfast: good, lots of choice,
Staff: very friendly, helpful and professional

Overall, I was very satisfied.

If I have to name one downside: I didn't get the cute leaving gift :o But hey, I was in a hurry to start my 15-hour train journey back home and couldn't wait for the girl at the reception to finish her phone call...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomvh_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your positive feedback. Your room was not overbooked we just received the new booking on that day. And in some rooms it is possible to make an extra beds in some rooms not, so we gave you another room of the same category of course but you travelled alone so you did not need a room with extra bed and the other guests yes. We switched the keys before check in and you got the room of your category so everything was totally alright. You were maybe little bit confused by the switching the keys, but anyway it was before you checked in. My colleague during the morning solved some problem with manager so thats why she spend a little time on phone during your departure, our guests are of course on the first place for us. Hope you enjoyed the stay on max and and the receptionist helped you with everything that you needed. Have a great time!

Your sincerely,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 1,017 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. It is reasonably priced with great extras eg..laptop in room, dvds, seperate entrance hall, large bathroom, great breakfast, free afternoon tea and cute leaving gift.
They make best use of older style hotel with new suprises around every corner. Great location short walk to Charles Bridge. Had standard room and no problem with air con (just lifted up curtain) or noise from setting up breakfast.
Can't recommend anymore..if you stay here visit *Atelier red and wine* amazing restaurant about a 10 minute walk.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Suzi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for providing us your feedback. We are glad that you were satisfied with our standard room, which is the cheapest double room that we have. But we have to say all of the rooms are interesting and have a nice decor so if you read the description about the rooms on the website you always know what to expect. We are glad that we met your expectations. Hope you will stay with us again on your next journey to Prague!

With kind regards,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The hotel was perfect for our vacation in Prague. The location is excellent, on a quiet street near the US Embassy, halfway between the Charles Bridge and Prague Castle. There are many excellent restaurants in the area and the tram is just down the street with easy connections to the Metro. The front desk provides transit tickets and an all day pass is a good value. Breakfast was good with enough choices, including omelettes and delicious Czech pancakes with berries. There is a free afternoon tea/coffee hour with snacks. The room itself was very comfortable and had lots of outlets, good lighting and high quality bedding. The design elements are unique and fun. Really great value, and so much nicer than staying in insanely crowded Old Town.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JaneNYC_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you but you were perfect. It is such a pleasure to have nice people like you in our hotel. Every smile and good service that you can see here is just for you! To make your vacation happier and more comfortable, interesting is our target. Hope you were satisfied with the hotel, area and you enjoyed the stay on maximum.

Best regards,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Fantastic hotel with a funky design theme on each level and friendly staff. We booked months in advance and got such a great price for a huge room and daily breakfast buffet, which was very tasty with a huge range of choice.
Rooms and bathroom were clean, great sized and comfortable. Only issue we had was that the bath had no plug in it and when we explained this to the gentleman at the desk on the early evening of our last night he said he would get to it as soon as he could and didn't get to it before we left (but I'm guessing he had bigger things to handle rather than a plug which was fine).

The hotel has a little rooftop terrace which we had to ourselves both times we went up there for a couple of drinks with a pretty view of the lit up tower on the hill. Only about a 10 minute walk to Charles Bridge and across to the centre of the town. About 30 mins walk to the big shopping centre.

Trams all around and cost about 300CZK to get to the main train station in a taxi (we got duped on the way to the hotel for 500CZK so make sure your taxi driver uses the metre).

Would have loved to stay longer at the Vintage Design and Prague is the most beautiful city I have been to on our trip. Definitely stay here for maximum comfort and quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest,

your description is accurate. We are flattered by your pleasant words about the staff and hotel. So if you want to stay in Prague anytime in future, do not forget that we will look after you very thouroughly. It will be pleasure to have such nice people in our hotel again!

Sincerely,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just stayed three nights in this hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The staff were extremely friendly. We were in a deluxe room, which had a very comfortable double bed. The room and bathroom were very spacious. Our room came with the use of a free laptop which was very useful to use in the mornings to plan what we were going to do that day. There is also a TV in the room with plenty of TV stations (I found a channel that showed World Cup games which was perfect for me!). The free breakfast at the hotel is excellent, with a great choice of cereals, fruits, salads, porridge, panckaes, eggs, bacon, sausage, hams, etc. There is also a free afternoon tea between 4pm and 6pm where there is a selection of sweet pastries. Tea/coffee is free at any time. As for the location of this hotel, it is exactly where you would want to be. It is a 5 minute walk from Charles Bridge, a 10 minute walk to the Castle, and only a 3 minute walk to a square which has plenty of restaurants and bars. The hotel is tucked away nicely from any noise, so you won't have to worry about being woken up by outside noises. We will definitely be staying in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have good views. Not so sure about standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cain C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guests,

we have got just more beautiful day to read these nice words. We hope we really did everything to make your stay comfortable and unforgettable. You described the hotel and the area very clearly. Everybody can make a good picture about the neighbourhood. You will be always welcomed in our hotel of course! We will be looking forward to your e-mail when you want to come back to Prague!

Hope you are doing well.

With Kind regards,

Dagmar Mala& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nice room decor, nice breakfast buffet, computer in the room, etc. Extra fees fr everything! Fitness center (3 pieces of equipment) cost equivalent of $12.00 USD. 2 hour use of jacuzzi-$35.00, etc. There was a computer with a printer which was nice to be able to print documents. I asked to speak to the manager on 2 different days and was never able to. The price of the room was more than $200.00 per night. The area was perfect, near old town on a cobblestone street. Many attractions were within walking distance. The staff were great, very helpful, acting as front desk clerks and concierge.After walking all over the city all day, a soak in the jacuzzi would have been heavenly.

Room Tip: any, no views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for so many nice words. I dare to say that our staff really try to do the best to help the guests, resolve the problems and find everything on the map. With your note ,,no views,, - we have more types of rooms, you had the standart room which has the view to the glass covered hotel´s atrium, it is the cheapest variant without outside view. But for example the double deluxe rooms have windows to outside the hotel, but they ale little bit more expensive. Also your comment that you had to pay for everything - it is not quite true.
In Prague or elsewhere in Europe are these facilities (spa or gym) paid. It is a common thing. On the other hand you had free the afternoon tea, wifi, laptop in your room, some DVDs to watch in your room, computer with printer is free to print bording passes or other documents. And these things are not free everywhere. For example in US it is not ordinary to have these things for free. So we think our free and chargeable services are in balance.

Anyway we are glad that you liked the breakfast, staff, area and other things.

Thank you for visiting our hotel. Hope you are doing well.

Sincerely,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. This hotel with its retro decoration is a tourist attraction in itself from the funky wallpaper to the numerous pieces of retro furniture. Location is ideal to all Prague locations either to walk or take trams. Staff were welcoming and helpful. We had a double delux room which was a good size and most enjoyable. There is free Wifi and the use of a free laptop in our room. The breakfast was quite good and they have a free tea/coffee and snacks between 4-6 pm. There is free coffee avalible all day. We will be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piedpiper660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

we love how well you summarized important information about our hotel. Everybody can now imagine how does it goes here. The most major thing is that you liked the hotel, you were satisfied and that we met your expectation. If you ever come back - that will be the best pleasure for us.

Hope you are doing well.

With kind regards,

Dagmar& hotel staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Staré Město (Old Town)
Friday Hotel Prague
Friday Hotel Prague
#75 of 646 in Prague
762 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#177 of 646 in Prague
1,513 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#67 of 646 in Prague
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#35 of 646 in Prague
874 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
The Nicholas Hotel Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#65 Family Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#154 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £37 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing