We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Boutique Hotel I've Stayed At - Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #177 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2009

I've just returned from a four night stay at the Vintage Design Hotel Sax in Prague. It is without doubt the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed at!

The decor, staff and ambiance of the hotel is first class.

Upon arrival the first thing that strikes you is the decor, especially within the main atrium. The entire hotel has been designed to recreate the atmosphere of the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, inspired by some of the most important designers of our time. The result is a hotel which has a nostalgic feel in an ultra modern environment.

My room was spacious, furnished in an equally retro style and included a mini bar, flat screen TV and DVD player.

Breakfast was generous and tasty with a buffet of breads, cereals and juices together with a hot breakfast prepared by the staff including pancakes and spicy sausages!

The location of the hotel is excellent, within the Mala Strana district of Prague. The area is very quiet, about a 10 minute walk to either Prague Castle or Charles Bridge and surrounded by good restaurants. I would especially recommend U Mecenase on Malostranske namesti 10, a very atmospheric restaurant which used to be frequented by a famous 17th Century executioner!

Finally, the staff of the hotel were extremely helpful and spoke very good English. They were always on hand to make sure my stay was as comfortable as possible.

Do not hesitate to stay at this gem of a hotel!

Jay, London, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank J2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for two nights and enjoyed the hotel very much. Wonderfully located in Mala Strana, for me the nicest place of Prague, under the castle, and close to Charles Bridge and the old city.
We stayed in a suite, one room and one bedroom, nearly like our own apartment ! We loved the idea of the free afternoon tea in the lobby and the free DVDs in the room.
There's only one thing we were disappointed about : not having a bath instead of a shower in the bathroom. None the less, next time we go to Prague, we'll book the same room and try the jacuzzi !

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Yoxi37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

We visited Prague the first week of December and stayed at Design Hotel Sax for several days of our trip. The location was absolutely amazing - a 5 minute walk to Prague Castle and 10-15 minute walk to every other major site in the area.

The staff was always willing to offer assistance and were very warm and inviting... our mornings were filled with a great breakfast each day, included in the rate. You are able to choose from hot and/or cold items and all hot items are cooked to order. There was a great selection, and the eating area was spacious and comfortable. If your feet hurt from hours of walking the streets of Prague, a perfect break awaits you at the hotel - the staff offered beer, wine, coffee, tea soft drinks and snacks (yummy cakes) at "afternoon tea" .

Our room was of good size and the bathroom had all the amenities you could ask for. The funky decor was fun and different. DVDs were available for viewing (a DVD player is in the room) - but most movies were older ... we weren't in our room long enough to watch a movie - but it was a nice touch.

This was definitely a great find and we recommend staying at the hotel for personalized, warm service. I am in the hotel industry and was impressed with the level of service this small hotel had to offer.

Enjoy Prague!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BuckeyeInIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

My husband and I stayed in Sax , during our first visit to Praha. Hotel has excellent location, everythingyou can reached walking. Also, part of town is very quiet and safe, and definitivly has some charm. Design of hotel is the best thing at all. Staff is very polite. Breakfast is good and you have also a la cart menu as well as buffet. Afternoon tea is great too, just to take a break and warm you before Christmass market which is magnificient. Rooms are great , plenty of space for luggage, toiliterier are good. Only bad point is for me litlle uncomfored madrass. We also booked a parking which cost 10 Eur per day, which is very good price for Praha. At the end we get unexpected present from staff, book about Praha and a design clock. Overall, very good hotel and definitivly we will come back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

Our first time in the city, so choosing a hotel is always a bit of a risk, but we hit jackpot with this one.

A superb location (walking distance of anything you may care to see), funky design (quality-retro), basement spa and free afternoon tea and cakes!

All the room services of a first rate brand hotel (flat screen tv, laptop in room...!), with all the advantages of boutique service.

Throw in airport transfers, superb communication both before our stay and during and a nothing-is-too-much-trouble attitude and you get a near-perfect hotel experience.

I'm always clear that a city break is too short to mess about with accomodation - in that respect I would thoroughly recommend Hotel Sax as a delightful base for a break in Prague.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Wharf15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I loved this hotel!! I found every thing about this hotel lovely. From the unique 60s/70s decor to the wonderful breakfasts (made to order). A pleasant surprise was the free afternoon tea - oh and the laptop provided in every room. The Vintage Sax is in one of the best locations (my view was of the Prague Castle) and it's an easy walk to every where! The staff at the hotel were the friendliest I've had in a long time. I'm definitely going back there!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Reillish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I went to the Design Hotel Sax in Prague as a birthday present from my partner. I can honestly say that the hotel is fantastic, this is not an understatement by any means.
The Hotel, itself is extremely clean and the standard of service is second to none. The staff were so friendly and helpful it was a pleasure to stay for the two nights that we did. The rooms are nicely quirky with their 60's style decor and this adds to the charm of the hotel. Breakfast was great each morning with again friendly staff happy to serve you continental or cooked breakfast, along with tea of coffee by the gallon. Afternoon tea is nice too. I doubt anyone would not enjoy a stay at this lovely hotel and I would recommend the top floor because we stayed in room 41 and the view across Prague was breathtaking. You are also a few minutes walk from Prague Castle, also viewable from room windows.
I would also recommend their taxi service, which is supplied by a friendly gentleman who collected from the airport and took us back on the last day (for a fee) and it made the pleasure of my birthday treat to Prague a most memorable one.
Thank you Design Hotel Sax for a wonderful memory of Prague, I hope to return soon

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Andydeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#37 of 646 in Prague
861 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#59 of 646 in Prague
1,209 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#66 of 646 in Prague
1,849 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#183 of 646 in Prague
1,498 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#12 of 646 in Prague
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#65 Family Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#146 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £55 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing