We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfekt base to enjoy praha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #175 of 647 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2009

the design hotel sax is located in one of the most beautiful and oldest districts in praha. it's only a fiveminutewalk to the charles' bridge and the city center. the rooms are very nice and big, equipped with fridge, tv, dvd, laptop,... ANYTHING! the whole hotel is in vintage style, each floor got his own decade and the rooms are completly beautiful and unique. the restaurant is great, the management very friendly and the parkingplace is only 500 meters away.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weltbegucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

We stayed here for 5 nights in March. The hotel arranged a taxi to and from the airport for us for about 30 euro per way (handier than trying to get a taxi ourselves though).

The hotel is situated very near Prague castle and Charles Bridge, yet it's far enough off the tourist trail that it was pretty quiet. There was some noise from the Jazz cafe across the road, this was only on a Friday night.

The style of the hotel is great, lots of funky vintage furniture from designers like Eames and Aarnio Eero and they've complemented that with lots of white, rounded surfaces, retro wallpaper, etc.

Although they don't seem to do lunch or evening meals, breakfast was very good. Lots of pastries, muesli, etc as well as cooked breakfast and loads of coffee. We didn't have any of the 5 o'clock tea as we were never about for it, so I can't comment on that.

The room was pretty good, though we found it very warm the night we arrived (the heater had been on for a while). It was very clean and the service was very good.

We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor when planning a break with my partner and family. I thought it looked interesting and fun.
On arrival - wow. It's small, and in the charming area of Mala Strana. Loads to see and do, but without the overwhelming tourist crush of the Old Town. The street is quiet and has a few nice bars and restaurants, and you are five minutes' walk from Charles Bridge.
The rooms are comfortable and stylish. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The breakfasts had all of us cooing - a great buffet selection and then freshly made hot foods - French toast, eggs, crepes and so on.
And don't miss afternoon tea - the hotel has no bar, but between 4pm and 6pm each day they serve a range of tea, coffee and cakes, plus local wines.
When I go back to Prague, I'd stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misschris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We stayed for the weekend in Prague and chose the Design Hotel, which is perfectly located in a quiet area just next to the Prague Castle and the US Embassy. Everything as walkable and public transport also in reach. A perfect place to start the Prague experience.

The hotel itself is wonderfully designed and straight 70's and is a completely different world to the historic Prague outside. It feels like being on another planet. Service is great, Breakfast just perfect as well as the complimentary 4-6pm afternoon tea service.

The only thing to consider is that it might get noisy if you get a room facing the inside "hall" of the hotel as the kitchen and breakfast preparation in the morning might wake you up early.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christiansommer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The reception at our arrivel was very professional.
Breakfast and 4o'clock service was excellent
The room was as we wanted very clean
We where very happy to visit your hotel

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank segroeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2009

My wife and I hit tripadvisor to plan our fist trip to Prague, and saw the Design Hotel Sax was well-situated and had earned high marks. Based on this we booked one of the Deluxe rooms, and we were not disappointed. The room we got (32) had a nice view of the Lower Town's rooftops and glimpses of the castle. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and we enjoyed the afternoon tea provided by the hotel. We stuck with the complimentary breakfast bar, which drew a bit of eye-rolling--I guess we were supposed to order a hot breakfast but our goal was to maximize our pastry intake.

Wireless LAN and a laptop came with our room--we didn't know about the laptop so that was a pleasant surprise.

Everyone bent over backward to make us feel comfortable, and we greatly enjoyed our stay at the Sax.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bedouin_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We've been to Prague to our honey moon and we've made our choice based on photos from web-syte of hotel. We were afraid that in real life hotel could look a little bit different but result was just awesome. Hotel is situated in centre of the city but the place is very quiet and peaceful. Just in 5 minutes of walking you can reach Charles Bridge and Pragues Tower. Service was perfect. In hotel room was provided laptop so we did not have to bring one with us

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dobriy-ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#38 of 647 in Prague
844 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#63 of 647 in Prague
1,175 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#64 of 647 in Prague
1,840 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
NYX Prague
NYX Prague
#183 of 647 in Prague
1,481 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#34 of 647 in Prague
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#149 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £52 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing