We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #146 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
GB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, great staff, great location”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We loved the hotel. Vintage Design Hotel Sax in Prague is without doubt one of the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed at!
The location was great!! For me the nicest place of Prague, under the Prague castle, and close to Charles Bridge and the old city. Everything just 2min walking from the hotel.
The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. They were always on hand to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
Also the breakfast was delicious!! and the snack and afternoon tea was perfect after the all day out, then relaxing at the jacuzzi (all included in our rate! )
We will definitely come back one day..

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaMarienwtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    223
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
608
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Start the new year I spent on the road. One of my trips was also the capital of the Czech Republic in Prague. I stayed here for only 3 days and I had the opportunity to live in a very nice hotel called Sax, which is located right in the center of Prague.
I was very pleasantly surprised to design the hotel, which was equipped in the style of 60-70years of 20th century. Room, where I was staying, was with an amazing view of Prague Castle. In my room I found the styling cues from Andy Warhol, which is my favorite artist. Unfortunately, I had the opportunity to inspect your stay in Prague, but the comfort I felt after a hard day's work release as a sauna and massage. Operation and servicing of the hotel were friendly, fast and sweet. This hotel can only recommend them for a short working accommodation and for a longer cognitive accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateCanada10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

First, what i d like to say that i was really amazed of the design and atmosphere in this hotel. You fell yourself like in the movie of 60th and the interiors around are very creative.
All the people working there were friendly and helpful.
My apartment was roomy, bright and full of different useful things: DVD, laptop, and even camera showing the weather outside. It feels like home.
More of all they have 5 o’clock tea with the wonderful Czech pastry, plus there is a lounge in the evening they offer free snacks. Breakfast buffet has big variety: starting from yogurts, fruits, meats, cheeses, juices finishing with a hot plate.
There is also a spa room at your disposal, sauna, and massage. This people know how to treat clients, because I felt like a queen, enjoying in Jacuzzi. Even some small details are aimed at client’s desire.
Big plus of the Hotel is its location -directly in the old city center, where you will find numerous restaurants, pubs and bars.

I’d love to advise you this place, course it is just unique, cozy and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missDi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We were delighted by this hotel. Its location, staff and facillties made it an outstanding base for a city break and we would most certainly return and will be recommending it to friends. From our warm welcome on arrival with complimentary drinks and hot towels to the daily 'afternoon tea' in the bar/lounge, via the stylish rooms and communal spaces the hotel was excellent. Staff were knowledgeable and very helpful but never intrusive. The location was both beautiful and perfect for exploring on foot being only ten minutes stroll to Charles Bridge. A lovely place.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

The hotel is just great. I've traveled a lot and have something to compare with. The vintage design brings you back to 50-70s with it's agronomic shapes and stylish simplicity. You can find there world-known "Bubble" chair by Eero Aarnio or some of the pieces from Eames era. Not mentioning Luigi Collani design masterpieces! And all of that is united in cosy atmosphere, where you really feel at home.
Well, this feeling is created also by amazing staff- guys and girls are very helpful and enthusiastic. At the check-in we were offered a welcome drink and a receptionist explained us basic things about Prague.
Some nice restaurants at the area can be recommended- we visited the oned on Mala Strana and enjoyed it intensively.
We've got a design suite, with the view on St Nicola's church. Room was a fantastic experience. Clean, with choice of DVDs to watch and quality Yves Rochers cosmetic products.
My next time in Prague i will definitely stay at Sax, which gives the feeling of choosing your own lifestyle!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mila_gamayunova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike126
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Stayed in Design Sax Hotel for 3 days at the beginning of December 09. Expected a lot from the place but what I experienced was far and far beyond my expectation/imagination.. Located in the best neighborhood in Prague - Mala Strana - full of hotels, embassies and cozy local bars and restaurants, most historical monuments Prague has to offer within short walking distance. The staff was fantastic, had the opportunity to meet Ayman and hotel manager Dasa when I had problems with my laptop not wanting to connect to their wi-fi network. They were super nice, professional and called a PC technician who solved my problem immediately. "Our customer is our king" seems to be their business philosophy, they make you feel great.. Thank you Ayman and Dasa and Sax for my wonderful experience. Whenever I am back in Prague I will stay in SAX, no question about that!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

The style of the hotel is either tacky or cool, depending on your point-of-view, but that shouldn't be a surprise to any travellers, since it's a key selling point of the hotel.

Personally, my opinion changed on that almost daily, depending on where I was sitting, but overall it works pretty well.

We had room 33, which is an "attic" style room with a pitched ceiling. That's no problem for the bedroom, but the bathroom is a whole other story.

The shower is butted right up against the pitched ceiling, and the bath (in which you must stand to shower) is elevated.

Now, I'm 6'7" (~2m) tall and am used to struggling with shower fittings in hotels, but this was a physical impossibility! Even my wife, at a (relatively!) diminutive 5' 4" had a hard time using the shower.

Which means I had to use the unusually short bath instead.

That would have been ok, except in addition to being unusually short, the bath was also nearly impossible to fill, because the plug didn't seal properly. I had a quick look and although it's clearly easy to adjust, you need a hexagonal key to adjust it so I reported it to reception on the day of arrival, along with a loose sink fitting.

The sink fitting was fixed while we were out and about, but the plug never was.

A small thing to write so much about for sure, but it was quite a big deal, and the moral of the story is...

DON'T go for a room on either the third or fourth floors!

Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Sax, so long as you've grown to accept that hotel walls are almost universally made of cardboard and you're going to be treated to the pleasure of hearing your neighbours' every move(ment)!

The location is great, and even though the restuarant was closed when we arrived at 11pm, the reception staff had no qualms about recommending what turned out to be a great restaurant in another hotel just down the road.

Steer clear of the top floors (the building is irregular, so 3rd or 4th may be the top, depending which part you're in), get up early and you'll have a great time here.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#47 of 649 in Prague
767 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#76 of 649 in Prague
1,028 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#44 of 649 in Prague
304 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
631 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#9 of 649 in Prague
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing