We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #153 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Different!”
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We have been traveling all over the world and seen many hotels from very simple to the higher standard. But Hotel SAX was a different experience! We really loved the ambiance of the vintage furniture and all the details. It almost felt surrealistic. Just a great hotel to stay. Not only because of all the fun stuff of the 50th, 60th etc. But also because of the staff that was very helpful, friendly and kind. We appreciated the service of the headlines at breakfast and the free afternoon tea /coffee/wine with cakes. Even the background music was in style. We just loved it. A great place to stay for young, trendy, but also older people. Leave your laptop/notebook at home. Because for this is also been taken care of.
Is there not any point of critic? No, not really. May be that they say to all of the guest: ‘We have upgraded your room…’ Because we have the impression this was not really the case, it seems like a standard room. Which was good enough. Would I recommend this hotel? YES! Go for it. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atelier-W78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    225
    53
    10
    8
See reviews for
120
613
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Sax hotel is funny, cozy and really lovely place to stay in Prague. Situated in very quite area near the American embassy which creates the extra safety since the two policeman stop and check every single passing car! It will take you 3 minutes to get to Prazhsky grad and about 7 minutes to the Charles bridge. There are several good restaurants in the neighborhood as well.

We chose a design suit for our short getaway in Prague – lots of space and really stylish design. The only thing I can fault the hotel is the muddy carpet – everything else was fine. By choosing this property you have to understand that you’re going to a vintage hotel and things are a bit aged, but this it meant to create the atmosphere and it does! Free wifi was a bliss, and there’s a laptop in the room in case you forgot yours.

Breakfast was fine – good choice of food – ham, cheese, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, breads, corn flakes, and eggs cooked to your liking for extra price. Try the 5 o’clock tea with homemade cakes to die for which is included in a room price!

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere of being in the 60th in a good company, which is a great merit of stuff as well, who is extremely friendly and helpful. If it weren’t for small outdated details (or if they didn’t flare that much) it would deserve the 5 star rating in my personal list.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venefica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I came to Prague for the first time this week and stayed at the Hotel Sax. Overall, I had a wonderful experience. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was very good. The hotel manager Ayman, in particular was incredibly helpful, warm, and inviting. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Prague, I definitely plan on staying there when I visit next!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler369369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2010

The staff are extremely hospitable, accommodating, trusting and friendly. From arrival you are treated as family and not like a client: you are offered a drink while you complete the form with passport details and all. Most hotels will make you do this while standing. Rooms are beautifully designed and clean. Breakfast is superb and there is afternoon 'tea' with freshly baked cakes. The Spa and sauna experience was simply exquisite. Go see for yourself!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankekwoge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altrincham
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2010

This hotel provided an excellent service and went way beyond the call of duty when flights were cancelled because of the volcano. They were extremely helpful and reassuring. The hotel is bright and airy. The rooms are modern, comfortable and well designed.. Having stayed there in the past I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel. It is beautifully designed and immaculately maintained. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel has its own DVD colIection. It is within easy walking distance of the Castle and King Charles Bridge. I look forward to staying again next time I return to Prague.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Excellent value, wonderful location, OUTSTANDING staff, terrific breakfast, a place you want to go back to. Ayman Hamid, Manager, creates a problem free environment that makes you feel as though coming to Prague and staying at Design Hotel Sax is the best idea you've ever had. He is frankly the sort of manager you would expect to find at a five star property - his commitment to the guests and dedication to the operation of the hotel is only outshown by his warmth and natural charm. His staff is equally welcoming and eager to please - making sure that when you check out to leave you feel sorry for anyone who stayed anywhere else.

The hotel has a funky (50s, 60, 70;s) vibe - everything from the decor to breakfast room music choices. When do you see a breakfast room filled to capacity with, smiling guests that runs the gamut from singles, families, romantic pairs, young marrieds gay couples, and retirees from all over the world - everyone happy, relaxed and well served. Breakfast is great and the coffee is EXCEPTIONAL. Ms. Andrea, who is incredibly pretty and charming, works the busy room (it was a sold out weekend) makes sure everyone is well taken care of and exhibits remarkable calm and grace well taken care of. And I will say again, the coffee is EXCEPTIONAL.

Of it's type, it is an outstanding property with excellent value. We had such a great time in Prague (four nights) that we will undoubtedly return and of course will stay at Design Hotel Sax.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandHeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Our stay at the Hotel for 1 week has been a wounderfull experiance at all means .
Beautifull modern decor , personal and excellent service , very good breakfast and well located ( Quiet and not in the crouded center , but easy to get everywhere )
We recomend it warmly !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OperaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#73 of 649 in Prague
1,063 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
791 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#41 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
640 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#10 of 649 in Prague
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#132 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing