We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
K+K Hotel Fenix(Prague)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jurys Inn Hotel Prague(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$137/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 24/07
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anna Hotel(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$149/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Green Garden Hotel(Prague)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (1,025)
Filter reviews
1,025 results
Traveller rating
712
236
56
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
236
56
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprague castleamerican embassycharles bridgeold townmala stranalesser towndeluxe roomquiet areasmall hotelmin walknice breakfastbreakfast roomhotel is situatedlocation is excellentpublic transportyogurtembassies
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 1,025 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2010

This small hotel is full of fun. From the cool design and extremely friendly staff to the funny rooms with luxury equipment and unique bathrooms in 60´style. Sax is full of crazy original paintings, toys, armchairs and lights from these years. Breakfast was great with home made cakes and bread.
And also with my lovely Aretha Franklin in the background! We enjoy also tea at five on the small terrace with fabulous views! I highly recommend Sax to all of my friend and not only to them!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadianJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

Best regards


Dagmar Malá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

This hotel is funky, bright, comfortable and fun. We were traveling with our 3 year old daughter and had a family room on the 3rd floor. A big comfy bed for us and a single for her. Our room was big and spacious with amenities to make us comfortable. Including a toy box full of toys for the kiddo. Nice touch! We also gratefully appreciated the air conditioning unit. The free computer in the room was also nice even though we did not use it. The free wi-fi made us happy.

The negatives were that our room could have been cleaner. The carpet was a bit funky... and not in the retro Sax way. They need to clean the cobwebs off the ceiling. There was also no towel bar in the toilet even though there was a sink. To dry your hands, you had to walk across the room to bath and get a towel. Our "balcony" was about a foot wide and the view was the sky light of the hotel. It was blazing hot so we didn't really wish to be out there anyway.

We did not spend the 15 Euros on breakfast as the person who explained breakfast too us explained we had to pre-order and it looked like bread and jam. For 15 Euros, we thought we could do better.

At the end of the day we really enjoyed the hotel. The location was perfect. Within in 15 minutes, you could be at the Castle or in the market square. Lots of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Wyogiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Dear Guest,

I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience with housekeeping deficiencies. We are trying to do the best for our guest but if something is wrong, it is better to contact us immediately, we could do something with it. Of course, it is better to prevent this things in advance and we thank you so much for pointing on our faults!

Dagmar Malá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

i absolutely loved this hotel, it's design, style, facilities, breakfast, a tiny terrace with an absolutely gorgeous view, however one incident really disturbed me. i found the hotel the last minute in the internet, because the hotel i booked before departure to prague canceled my reservation for no reason.

so i checked in, left my details including bank card details at the reception, my things in the room, and went for a walk. after coming back really late to the hotel i realized that my door key card was blocked, so i couldn't get in to the room.

it was a great surprise and embarrassment to learn that the receptionist has blocked the room door so that i would need to go to the reception and ask to unlock it, because she tried to charge my card in advance and the card (which is a golden mastercard) was not approved.

i would prefer her to leave a message asking me to come to the reception in the morning to sort it out, and not to have discussions in the middle of the night after a tiring travel and full day walk.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the valuable review. I really regret that you didn´t mention the problem during your staying because we could solve it before. Anyway, I hope, that you have enjoyed your staying in our hotel except this misunderstanding and I am sorry for that.

Dagmar Malá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We have been traveling all over the world and seen many hotels from very simple to the higher standard. But Hotel SAX was a different experience! We really loved the ambiance of the vintage furniture and all the details. It almost felt surrealistic. Just a great hotel to stay. Not only because of all the fun stuff of the 50th, 60th etc. But also because of the staff that was very helpful, friendly and kind. We appreciated the service of the headlines at breakfast and the free afternoon tea /coffee/wine with cakes. Even the background music was in style. We just loved it. A great place to stay for young, trendy, but also older people. Leave your laptop/notebook at home. Because for this is also been taken care of.
Is there not any point of critic? No, not really. May be that they say to all of the guest: ‘We have upgraded your room…’ Because we have the impression this was not really the case, it seems like a standard room. Which was good enough. Would I recommend this hotel? YES! Go for it. You won’t regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atelier-W78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Sax hotel is funny, cozy and really lovely place to stay in Prague. Situated in very quite area near the American embassy which creates the extra safety since the two policeman stop and check every single passing car! It will take you 3 minutes to get to Prazhsky grad and about 7 minutes to the Charles bridge. There are several good restaurants in the neighborhood as well.

We chose a design suit for our short getaway in Prague – lots of space and really stylish design. The only thing I can fault the hotel is the muddy carpet – everything else was fine. By choosing this property you have to understand that you’re going to a vintage hotel and things are a bit aged, but this it meant to create the atmosphere and it does! Free wifi was a bliss, and there’s a laptop in the room in case you forgot yours.

Breakfast was fine – good choice of food – ham, cheese, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, breads, corn flakes, and eggs cooked to your liking for extra price. Try the 5 o’clock tea with homemade cakes to die for which is included in a room price!

The best thing about the hotel is its atmosphere of being in the 60th in a good company, which is a great merit of stuff as well, who is extremely friendly and helpful. If it weren’t for small outdated details (or if they didn’t flare that much) it would deserve the 5 star rating in my personal list.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venefica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews