We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous rooms and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #153 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fabulous rooms and service!”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The rooms are as fabulous as the photos and the beds super comfy! Great breakfast and tea time also very good though I was surprised to find so few guests taking advantage.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you. We are glad that you found your stay comfortable!

With kindest regards

Dagmar M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    223
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
608
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
anaheim
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

'jetsons' type of hotel with its modern decor. spacious bedrooms and sitting areas and perks such as lap tops in every room, fantastic breakfast and evening wine and cheese. terrific staff, excellent location and what i would refer to as a hidden gem. in prague, make this your hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for all the nice words.

With best regards

Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

What a fun little place! The service is excellent, which very attentive and polite staff. The rooms are fun, interesting, and comfortable. The only negative might be the location is a bit out of the way if you're not keen on doing lots of walking. Personally I loved the quiet neighborhood (well protected by the police presence near the US Embassy). And yet just walk down the street and one of the main squares of Mala Strana right there. Plenty of restaurants and shops. Charles Bridge a few minutes walk. Walk up the steps to Neroduva, a charming street filled with great restaurants and just at the footsteps of the castle.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank konafirsttimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy when our guests appreciate also other things than hotel's design, mainly our service.

With kindest regards

Dagmar Malá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Design Sax Prague for three nights. This hotel looks as good in person as it does in pictures but it doesn't stop there. Awesome decor, very clean, great service. Breakfast was excellent and they host a nice tea in the afternoon, which actually includes wine and hors d'ouevres. The hotel is nicely located about a 10 minute walk from the Prague Castle grounds and there are a number of good restaurants and bars close by. If you are looking for good Czech food and a great experience, be sure to stop by Krema U Sedmi Svabu (Tavern of the Seven Swabians) just up the hill towards the Castle -- it is a very cool medieval-style pub with excellent food. And don't be fooled by the innocuous closed door across the street from the hotel which is actually a quaint little bar on the weekend evenings. Amenities include laptops with free Internet access in all the rooms. Although some rooms do not have outside facing windows (this SHOULD NOT be a deterrent to staying here), you can pull up a view of the outdoors on the closed circuit channel on the TV.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RufusBambufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 2 November 2010
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you were satisfied with our service provided by our hotel.

With best regards

Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay atthe Design Hotel Sax. Not only the staff were all very friendly and professional, but the room was very large and comfortable. And the deco is a real eye catcher - deffinitely unique!

In this place they really care about the small details that make them 'go the extra mile' and make the guest feel special, like the temperature/weather note in the room for the following day, or the news bulleting from our country of origin that is given to us with breakfast.

We loved the breakfast, the DVDs and the spa! It was all perfect.

Thanks very much to the fantastic team that make it all happen. We hope to be visiting you again soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okara34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for kind words for us. We are looking forward to see you again.

Warm regards

Dagmar Malá and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2010

So glad we chose this hotel! Attentive and helpful staff. If you don't mind an uphill walk of about two blocks, you will be rewarded by a quiet area just south of the palace and east of St. Nicolaus Cathedral. I opened my windows to the street at night and heard... nothing! Spacious rooms and bathrooms. Free in room internet. Great breakfast, and a treat to return in the late afternoon for complimentary high tea/coffee. Comfortable interiors were bright and fun with collections of 1960's toys, electronics, and tea sets. Order the car service for airport transportation, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtisParkTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you liked the time you spent with us. Thank you for the nice review about us at Tripadvisor, it helps us a lot!

Kind regards

Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We chose this hotel because of reviews and were not disappointed. The retro design is refreshingly different. The hotel is on a quiet street below the castle and a block from the US Embassy making it convenient and a very secure location.
The continental breakfast and afternoon tea were both delicious and had a good variety. The breads were fantastic. We stayed in one of the suites and had a spaciously living room with desk, couch, chair, flat panel TV (with Satellite) and a laptop with excellent free high speed internet access. The bedroom had a comfortable king sized bed and a second flat panel TV.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful both prior to our arrival and during our stay. We arrived early and they stored our bags until the room was ready and took them up prior to our return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank des124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 21 September 2010
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for a nice positive comment. We are very pleased that we did not disappoint you!

Best regards

Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#47 of 649 in Prague
767 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#75 of 649 in Prague
1,027 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#44 of 649 in Prague
304 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
631 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#9 of 649 in Prague
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#130 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing