We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel close to the Charles bridge and castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #168 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2010

sax is perfect very small hotel with fasctinating design. Hidden in narrow street next to the castle and close to the US and German embassy. The staff is very personal and welcome. Size of room was ok for us, cosmetic in very good quality and free notebook and internet perfect for us.The hotel breakfast was very tasty, cooked breakfast from the menu also included in price was delicious.Thanks to Alex for his help and Jan for his very proffesional service at the restaurant.We will come back! Karim

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karim_nazarbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment. It is nice that guests remember names of the staff.

With best regards

Dagmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2010

I had the best time at this hotel while travelling solo for a few days. I felt totally taken care of and not at all weird being a American woman travelling by myself. The breakfasts and afternoon tea were a great value and quite delish.

The location is quiet but very close to the action. Make sure to stop by JJs for a pint.

The decor is FANTASTIC mid century modern and really is a sight to behold.

However, the star of this place is the service...the staff is AWESOME. They even helped me get a car service back to Poland as I was too lazy to take the train.

DO NOT MISS THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Broadtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We still remember guests like you, even your trip to Wroclaw :-).

With best regards

Dagmar and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Me and my boyfriend visited Prague for four days and chose Design Hotel Sax for our stay. As we prefer small and cozy hotels , Hotel Sax was the perfect choice! Located in Mala Strana ,a very secure neighbourhood , the hotel was perfect for walks, as most of Prague's famous monuments( Charle's bridge, Prague's castle) were in walking distance! Our room (a standard double one)was spacious, clean and warm- just perfect after a long walk in snowy Prague! The breakfast buffet was perfect too. The hotel's great and original design makes it unique and really made us feel like travelling back in time ! I 'd like to thank everyone in the hotel for making my stay there memorable !!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naya21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2011

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your words. We are proud of the fact that our guests are satisfied in Sax!

With kind regards

Dagmar and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We had a fantastic weekend at Vintage Sax hotel. We booked airport shuttle, for a very good price, because we heard so many stories about crazy prices of taxi drivers in Prague. The hotel lookes like usual hotel in Old town, but when you entrance in this small hotel, you will be absolutely fascinated. The decor of the walls, the lights, toys, paintings and colors! I´ve never seen something unusual before. We had a room on the second floor, spacious, full of sun with laptop and DVD player in the room and in special decoration of 70´s. I would recommend to the hotel managemet to change the curtains in the bathroom, because the water fell always on the floor :-( The breakfast was fantastic, with many kinds of cheeses, smoked salami and salmon. I did not tasted the hot meal, which was also included in room price, but it smelt really good. The location was perfect, 5 minutes walking from Charles bridge, Prague castle and many other monuments. Tea at five was fine with cakes and drinks free of charge. Staff was also so nice and helpful.. Andrea was fantastic! On my next way to Prague, I will stay in Sax again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francis_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We would like to thank to the staff of hotel Sax, specially to lovely Dagmar, for our perfect stay in Sax hotel.
Everything was perfect, room was very nice with brand new bathroom, laptop and dvd player in room, comfortable sauna and tasty and substantial breakfast. All the employees were very professional and helpful. See you on our next trip to Prague! With our best regards Elen and Tobi

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elean_johann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2010

Dear Elen and Tobi,

Thank you very much!!! We are looking forward to see you next time in Sax.

With kindest regards

Dagmar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Me and my boyfriend chose Sax after searching on internet for some unique, small and also romantic place. Sax is in perfect location, on the quiet and romantic area called mala strama. Booked deluxe room on their websites with special request for the room with nice view, but we didn ´t have a nice view.... We had absolutely amazing view! Our room was fantastic, cosy as well as the small dining, breakfast area. We were surrounded with very nice people, who work there. Nothing was problem for them: first morning we woke up late and past the breakfast, at 13 pm they prepaired for us delicious breakfast and Jan brought it to our room, we had delayed flight, so they provide us room until the evening, we forgot my adapter in room, they immediate send us email and ask for our post address.. We will not hesitate to visit Sax on our next trip to Prague.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kimi_nurnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your amazing comment! We are pleased that you found what you expected.

With kindest regards

Dagmar and her staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

Design is quirky cool 60's retro - its like a giant set of Clockwork Orange. We stayed here after my boyfriend (now fiancee after that trip!) booked us after seeing it on TA. Of course it was all it cracked up to be, lovely staff, truly design and a great location in the shadow of Prague castle. Stay here on this side of the Charles Bridge and everything is only up to an hours walk away at the most. The bridge is a 5 min ute walk. Highly recommended, breakfast was lovely, it was all clean, bath and shower great and you can walk everywhere. Staff not much english but very helpful. And wifi and laptop provided in our room. 60's vibe is cool. Book the spa and jacuzzi room for 2 hours for £40 and you can request a massage in there too for about £60 :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank transparentgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2010

Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your engagement and thank you for your words. We share your happiness with you!

With best regards

Dagmar and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#69 of 648 in Prague
1,152 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#37 of 648 in Prague
832 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#33 of 648 in Prague
656 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#57 of 648 in Prague
332 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#11 of 648 in Prague
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#86 Business Hotel in Prague
#92 Family Hotel in Prague
#143 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £49 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing