We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, clean, different, great location, would recommend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #153 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trendy, clean, different, great location, would recommend.”
Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in Hotel Sax on January 5-8. We got a great deal of our third night free as it was low season. Included in our price was breakfast and afternoon tea! We loved Hotel Sax it was very clean and I had a few questions before we arrived which the staff sorted our for us immediately. The taxi service they organised to the airport was great. The room was clean and comfortable more like a tiny apartment than a room.. with lots of nice touches like umbrellas, slippers, robe.... ten free dvds (if you want more you pay) and yves rocher cosmetics. The breakfast had a good selection cereal, meats, cheeses, breads, hot foods (eggs, bacon), pastries.. and set us up for a good days sight seeing! We also loved the location. I had been to Prague before and this was such a better location than where I had been before (Nove Mesto) we could walk to all sights, but also there was lots of lovely little bars and restaurants nearby. Our only complaint was on two of the mornings the girl in the breakfast room/tea was quite rude an unhelpful... we were left quite a while sitting at a table with dirty cutlery despite repeated requests for more, we also were not offered tea or coffee which we had been the day before. Despite this we would both definitely recommend Hotel Sax and will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your fair comment. I am so sorry for the waitress, she does not work here anymore.

With best regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    223
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
608
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We chose this hotel for our New Year break based on all the great reviews here on TripAdvisor, but we can honestly say we never had the same experience!
On arrival we were informed that there was a 'problem' with our suite (which turned out to be a double booking) and that we would have to stay in another room for one night and then move to the suite the next day. As we were only staying for 5 nights and arrived on New Years Eve I was not impressed and even less impressed when we saw the room! It was a small, dark double bedroom with an extra bed (as there were 3 of us). There was no external windows (certainly no chance of a view) and the bathroom was grubby and in need of refurbishment!
The guy who checked us in was really un-helpful and was even less helpful when I complained! He said our suite would be ready at 12 the next day but it wasn't ready until 2 and told us the manager would be in to speak to us the next day but it turned out she wouldn't be in until 2 days later! For the inconvenience we were given a bottle of bubbly and an hour in the spa but it in no way it made up for all the hassle and time wasted therefore we informed them that we would not be paying for our first night.
During our stay the hotel also managed to freeze over £900 on our bank account (by mistake) without prior consent which then took over a week to go back onto the account (a bit of an inconvenience when you are only on holiday for 5 nights!)
The whole hotel in general looks as if it needs a bit of TLC, all the carpets look quite grubby and some of the retro pieces and furniture could do with being replaced.
Breakfast was good and afternoon tea was a nice touch but the atmosphere in the bar area was always very dull!
We were also quite disappointed at the extras (which would normally be free in a hotel of this rating) that you were expected to pay for like coffee for the coffee machine in our suite and DVDs for the DVD player in the suite!
Yes the hotel is trendy and different but the staff and wear and tear definitely lets it down.
The location is very good but having previously stayed in the Alchymist just down the lane i would say pay the extra and book the Alchymist, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mlrInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Dear madam,
thank you so much for your review. As I sent you in my many emails, I am so sorry for the double booking of your room. We offered you 2 rooms free of charge for that night, the next day you had your suite available at noon. As I spoke that day with you, it was everything all right for you and your friends. As our apologize, we gave you also bottle of champaign and free use of the spa. The total price for all the services that you had free of charge was more than 300 Euros. About your money: We make a preauthorisation for credit card to all of our guests, in your case the amount was only 50 % from the total price. As I spoke with many colleagues and friends, this is usual method in each hotel, I do not know any hotel, where you can accommodate without any guarantee. Because of the fact, that you were displeased with it, we even defrozed your money that day! We showed you confirmation from our bank, that the preathorization was cancelled immediately! On the last day, you told to the receptionist, that you will pay on invoice, but the next day when you left the hotel, you did not leave for us any information about your invoice details, address, guarantee etc, so you did´t pay nothing. The managment of the hotel found this situation very strange, so we decided to charge the price for the accommodation from the card, that we used for the preauthorisation. I am sorry that you were dissapointed with your stay in our hotel, but anyway hope that you enjoyed beautiful Prague.
With best regards
Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before xmas. We climbed up the hill from the metro on a dark snowy night after having emailed from the airport that our flight was canceled so we would be arriving very late. They immediately responded it wasn't a problem before we even boarded our first flight which was the start of incredible service. We had a suite and another larger room on the third floor 33 and 31 both were impressive in size and amenities. Room 31 had great views of the rooftops covered with fresh snow. Breakfast was very tasty with exceptional breads and a good variety that varied from day to day that you served yourself except for coffee. We only made it to the tea time once but it was lovely included wine and snacks. Each day they were so helpful at the front desk with answers from how to get places to where to eat when we got there the first day at 10:30 at night after more than 24 hours traveling. I can't recommend this hotel enough and when we return to Prague will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4vrongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Your comment looks like a part of the fairytale and I like that this story is about us. Thank you!!!

With kindest regards

Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astana, Kazakhstan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

sax is perfect very small hotel with fasctinating design. Hidden in narrow street next to the castle and close to the US and German embassy. The staff is very personal and welcome. Size of room was ok for us, cosmetic in very good quality and free notebook and internet perfect for us.The hotel breakfast was very tasty, cooked breakfast from the menu also included in price was delicious.Thanks to Alex for his help and Jan for his very proffesional service at the restaurant.We will come back! Karim

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karim_nazarbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comment. It is nice that guests remember names of the staff.

With best regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2010

I had the best time at this hotel while travelling solo for a few days. I felt totally taken care of and not at all weird being a American woman travelling by myself. The breakfasts and afternoon tea were a great value and quite delish.

The location is quiet but very close to the action. Make sure to stop by JJs for a pint.

The decor is FANTASTIC mid century modern and really is a sight to behold.

However, the star of this place is the service...the staff is AWESOME. They even helped me get a car service back to Poland as I was too lazy to take the train.

DO NOT MISS THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Broadtalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. We still remember guests like you, even your trip to Wroclaw :-).

With best regards

Dagmar and her staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Me and my boyfriend visited Prague for four days and chose Design Hotel Sax for our stay. As we prefer small and cozy hotels , Hotel Sax was the perfect choice! Located in Mala Strana ,a very secure neighbourhood , the hotel was perfect for walks, as most of Prague's famous monuments( Charle's bridge, Prague's castle) were in walking distance! Our room (a standard double one)was spacious, clean and warm- just perfect after a long walk in snowy Prague! The breakfast buffet was perfect too. The hotel's great and original design makes it unique and really made us feel like travelling back in time ! I 'd like to thank everyone in the hotel for making my stay there memorable !!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank naya21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 11 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your words. We are proud of the fact that our guests are satisfied in Sax!

With kind regards

Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lourenties, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We had a fantastic weekend at Vintage Sax hotel. We booked airport shuttle, for a very good price, because we heard so many stories about crazy prices of taxi drivers in Prague. The hotel lookes like usual hotel in Old town, but when you entrance in this small hotel, you will be absolutely fascinated. The decor of the walls, the lights, toys, paintings and colors! I´ve never seen something unusual before. We had a room on the second floor, spacious, full of sun with laptop and DVD player in the room and in special decoration of 70´s. I would recommend to the hotel managemet to change the curtains in the bathroom, because the water fell always on the floor :-( The breakfast was fantastic, with many kinds of cheeses, smoked salami and salmon. I did not tasted the hot meal, which was also included in room price, but it smelt really good. The location was perfect, 5 minutes walking from Charles bridge, Prague castle and many other monuments. Tea at five was fine with cakes and drinks free of charge. Staff was also so nice and helpful.. Andrea was fantastic! On my next way to Prague, I will stay in Sax again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francis_de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#47 of 649 in Prague
766 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#75 of 649 in Prague
1,027 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#44 of 649 in Prague
303 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#32 of 649 in Prague
631 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#9 of 649 in Prague
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#130 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing