We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #129 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Russia-Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2011

Our big family and our friends spent there 6 nights and felt like home! It is very nice, cosy hotel not far from Charles Bridge. Service was perfect, breakfast great,. We'd definitely come back. Thank you for amazing holidays in the fantastic city!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLightsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your appealing comment. We will be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel in Prague!

with Best Regards,
Dagmar Malá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    220
    48
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
600
63
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We will never forgot our January stay in hotel Sax. We stayed there with our two young children. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was nice and clean. We loved the tea time. Also great food. Good location near the historic center of Prague. If we visit Prague again we will definitely stay at hotel Sax again. Thank you hotel Sax for such a great job !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phill_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guests,

thank you for your agreeable post. It is heart-warming to know, that even little ones like our hotel and we are more than happy to welcome your Familly in our hotel again !

With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guinea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

can´t say how beautiful location this hotel has. safe, romantic, quiet, close to the tram station, many shops, restaurants nearby and castle with bridge in neighbourhood. The view from the terrace was gorgeous, book the breakfast there. Service and staff was very young, friendly and polite. Andrea with Jean were my best ones! Room was clean, bright with many funny design details from my schooldays. even the music in restaurant was funky in 70´s style. i will return back with family on my next way to czech republic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moussa478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel. It is amazing to find out that our guests are satisfied. We are looking forward to your next visit !!!

With kind regards,
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

My boyfriend and I traveled to Prague to celebrate my 30th birthday. We chose Sax based on reviews and photos. It is a really pleasant hotel. Its location in Prague ideal. The Prague castle is only minutes away on foot. Very close to the American Embassy, so really safe to stay at (police was on the street 24h). The decoration is amazing.... makes you live in the 60's in a modern way. It was a really pleasant stay and I would stay again there if went back to Prague. Everything was extremely clean and fresh, the personnel very very kind and helpful. The breakfast was a really memorable experience if you enjoy good food and covers all tastes. Besides the buffet there is a la carte service free of charge so you can order different kinds of eggs or pancakes. I really think it is a unique place that would appeal especially to young travelers. The only drawback I can think of is that not all rooms (the standard ones) have a window to the street. Ours had windows with view to the atrium of the hotel, but that made no difference at all. Another bothering thing was the mattress of the bed which felt really stiff..... but that may be a personal opinion, based on the fact that I am a bit picky on that matter. You may find cheaper hotels browsing the internet... but Sax really worth it! Thanks a lot Sax and Prague for making this birthday such a great memory to cherish!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieStt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your honest comment. We are really pleased that you have chosen our hotel especially on your birthday!

With kindest regards,
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I found the hotel to be ideal for my 3 days in Prague. Nice size of a room, clean and well appointed. Very modern, comfortable and functional.
The food was good.
The staff all helpful and friendly. They always try and help.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larry_downy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for the review.

With best regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

Where do I start?

This has to be the best hotel I've stayed at to date; everything was perfect... from the friendly staff to the gorgeous room and delicious food!

The location is perfect and within walking distance of the main attractions the city has to offer. After a long day seeing the beautiful city, you are blessed with staying at this wonderful hotel, it was like living in a gallery!

I can't praise this hotel enough and wish Hotel Sax and all it's staff the best for the future...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikkineal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your comment which pleased us like no other. We hope that you will find more lucky places.

With best regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

We stayed in Hotel Sax on January 5-8. We got a great deal of our third night free as it was low season. Included in our price was breakfast and afternoon tea! We loved Hotel Sax it was very clean and I had a few questions before we arrived which the staff sorted our for us immediately. The taxi service they organised to the airport was great. The room was clean and comfortable more like a tiny apartment than a room.. with lots of nice touches like umbrellas, slippers, robe.... ten free dvds (if you want more you pay) and yves rocher cosmetics. The breakfast had a good selection cereal, meats, cheeses, breads, hot foods (eggs, bacon), pastries.. and set us up for a good days sight seeing! We also loved the location. I had been to Prague before and this was such a better location than where I had been before (Nove Mesto) we could walk to all sights, but also there was lots of lovely little bars and restaurants nearby. Our only complaint was on two of the mornings the girl in the breakfast room/tea was quite rude an unhelpful... we were left quite a while sitting at a table with dirty cutlery despite repeated requests for more, we also were not offered tea or coffee which we had been the day before. Despite this we would both definitely recommend Hotel Sax and will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinBathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your fair comment. I am so sorry for the waitress, she does not work here anymore.

With best regards

Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#52 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#94 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
MOODs Boutique Hotel
MOODs Boutique Hotel
#69 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Design Hotel Josef Prague
Praha 5
Hotel Julian
Hotel Julian
#32 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#110 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historical city centre, right below Prague Castle, Hotel Sax offers free WiFi and rich buffet breakfast. Every room has a LCD TV or Smart TV with satellite programs a DVD player and 10 DVD titles. All rooms are air-conditioned. The spa area at Vintage Design Hotel Sax comprises a hot tub, a fitness room and a sauna. Massages will be provided on request. The DVD library includes over 5,000 titles. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. The interiors of the hotel will transfer you to the 1950s, 60s, or 70s. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. The Prague Castle can be reached within 5 minutes on foot, the Charles Bridge in 10 minutes and the Jewish Quarter is a 20-minute walk away. St. Nicholas Church and the Schwarzenberg Palace can be seen 300 m away, the Church of Our Lady Victorious is 500 m off and the Strahov Monastery is 1.1 km far. A tram stop is near the hotel. Parking is available in front of the hotel (at extra charge), in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing