We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff,Perfect Location and very nice prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Ranked #146 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Staff,Perfect Location and very nice prices”
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed for long weekend in the upper room right to the elevator.It was beautiful and very atmospheric. We enjoy a lot the interior design.The hotel is better than it looks on the website. The room space seemed little small and short. The bed was comfortable and everything was ok. We had a problem with the shower water but it was solved the next morning. The price compared to the prices in Greece where we came from is value for money.The staff was very helpful and ready to service.The food could be better, but the breakfast was excellent. Sure we recommend the Sax Hotel and we'll try it again next time in Prague.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annibas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Guests,
thank You for your commendation. We are pleased, that you have enjoyed the time spend in Prague. It is that we even exceededexpectation were We are looking forward to your visit again!

Dagmar Malá & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    223
    52
    9
    8
See reviews for
118
608
64
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

The hotel is well located. Not right in the center but still close to the activity.
We got a room on the highest floor: garret so not very big but with a very nice view.
The room was clean and cosy, the bathroom is a bit outdated but has the necessary facilities.
The breakfast is good, with the possibility to order some complementary dishes.
We got a one hour access to the spa: the sauna and the jacuzzi were nice but dirty.
We had an overall good impression, but it is clearly overpriced.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment. We regret that your stay in our hotel wasn't as you expected. We are Vintage design hotel and some elements are outdated on purpose as the part of the design. That doesn't mean they are faulty. In case of sauna, we recently increased the number of our housekeeping staff, so we promise, this is not going to happen again. Hope to welcome you again in Hotel Sax!

With Best Regards,
Dagmar Malá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Sax in February 2011 for a business trip, now want to go back with my partner. That should say it all. If you want a big faceless chain hotel then go somewhere else. This hotel is full of character and charm, the staff are very friendly and the facilities are awesome e.g. over 2000 dvds to play on your rooms tv, free interent to use on your free laptop and wifi anywhere in the building plus I heard rumours of an Xbox you could book for the night. The location is 5 minutes away from the beautiful Charles Bridge. I've only marked them down in sleep quality because on one morning I was woken by the staff setting up for breakfast. Just book it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BulaTimeTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your honorable comment! We are looking forward to welcome you again in Sax.

With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia-Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Our big family and our friends spent there 6 nights and felt like home! It is very nice, cosy hotel not far from Charles Bridge. Service was perfect, breakfast great,. We'd definitely come back. Thank you for amazing holidays in the fantastic city!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLightsCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your appealing comment. We will be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel in Prague!

with Best Regards,
Dagmar Malá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We will never forgot our January stay in hotel Sax. We stayed there with our two young children. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was nice and clean. We loved the tea time. Also great food. Good location near the historic center of Prague. If we visit Prague again we will definitely stay at hotel Sax again. Thank you hotel Sax for such a great job !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phill_mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Guests,

thank you for your agreeable post. It is heart-warming to know, that even little ones like our hotel and we are more than happy to welcome your Familly in our hotel again !

With Kind Regards,
Dagmar Malá and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guinea
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

can´t say how beautiful location this hotel has. safe, romantic, quiet, close to the tram station, many shops, restaurants nearby and castle with bridge in neighbourhood. The view from the terrace was gorgeous, book the breakfast there. Service and staff was very young, friendly and polite. Andrea with Jean were my best ones! Room was clean, bright with many funny design details from my schooldays. even the music in restaurant was funky in 70´s style. i will return back with family on my next way to czech republic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moussa478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment. We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel. It is amazing to find out that our guests are satisfied. We are looking forward to your next visit !!!

With kind regards,
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2011

My boyfriend and I traveled to Prague to celebrate my 30th birthday. We chose Sax based on reviews and photos. It is a really pleasant hotel. Its location in Prague ideal. The Prague castle is only minutes away on foot. Very close to the American Embassy, so really safe to stay at (police was on the street 24h). The decoration is amazing.... makes you live in the 60's in a modern way. It was a really pleasant stay and I would stay again there if went back to Prague. Everything was extremely clean and fresh, the personnel very very kind and helpful. The breakfast was a really memorable experience if you enjoy good food and covers all tastes. Besides the buffet there is a la carte service free of charge so you can order different kinds of eggs or pancakes. I really think it is a unique place that would appeal especially to young travelers. The only drawback I can think of is that not all rooms (the standard ones) have a window to the street. Ours had windows with view to the atrium of the hotel, but that made no difference at all. Another bothering thing was the mattress of the bed which felt really stiff..... but that may be a personal opinion, based on the fact that I am a bit picky on that matter. You may find cheaper hotels browsing the internet... but Sax really worth it! Thanks a lot Sax and Prague for making this birthday such a great memory to cherish!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieStt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dasik, General Manager at Vintage Design Hotel Sax, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you for your honest comment. We are really pleased that you have chosen our hotel especially on your birthday!

With kindest regards,
Dagmar and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#47 of 649 in Prague
767 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Design Hotel Neruda
Design Hotel Neruda
#76 of 649 in Prague
1,028 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Zeleneho hroznu (Hotel At the Green Grape)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Golden Key Prague
Hotel Golden Key Prague
#44 of 649 in Prague
304 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel The Golden Wheel
Hotel The Golden Wheel
#31 of 649 in Prague
631 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Appia Hotel Residences
Appia Hotel Residences
#9 of 649 in Prague
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vintage Design Hotel Sax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vintage Design Hotel Sax

Property: Vintage Design Hotel Sax
Address: Jansky Vrsek 328/3 | Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Prague
#87 Business Hotel in Prague
#93 Family Hotel in Prague
#124 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vintage Design Hotel Sax 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique boutique hotel in Prague exudes the bohemian spirit of an art gallery. Enjoy the vintage design elegance and style of the 50s, 60s, and 70s inside when you return from admiring the ancient masterpieces of architecture outside. In the Vintage Design Hotel Sax you will find original furniture representing the period's cutting edge designers such as Panton, Colani, Saarinen, Eames and others. Our hotel is located directly under Prague Castle. We are close to Charles Bridge, St. Vitus Cathedral, the Strahov Monastery and the Infant Jesus of Prague. Lesser Town (Mala Strana) district is a great choice for travelers interested in history, architecture and city walks. Public transport stations are also very close - only 5 minutes of walking to the nearest tram station and 10 minutes to subway. Prague Airport is about 20 minutes by taxi or car from the Hotel. The most beautiful days start with tasty complimentary buffet breakfast and we recommend you to enjoy it on our terrace with gorgeous view of Petřín Tower and Prague Castle. Are you tired after all day walking? Let yourself be pampered in our luxury Fitness centre or you can have private massage inr your room. You will have so many experiences from Prague, you can share them with all your friends via Free Wi-Fi connection throughout the hotel. And if you want to see a film for sweet dreams you can choose from our DVD library. Some of these facilities are available at an additional cost. Parking (for extra fee) is not a problem – you can park your car in front of the hotel, in the garage or in our newly opened parking complex, situated only 10 minutes of walking from Vintage Design Hotel SAX. The Hotel and all rooms are air-conditioned. Each room is equipped with complimentary Yves Rocher cosmetics. Our staff will exceed your expectations with their personal yet professional attitude as they provide you with a level of service 24h a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vintage Design Hotel Sax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Prague
Hotel Sax

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing