We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy Prague in March”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #336 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Hertfordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Snowy Prague in March”
Reviewed 14 February 2008

My boyfriend and I decided to have a short break to celebrate my 30th Birthday. We wanted a mid-priced hotel in the centre of Prague and after much looking around on the internet we found Hotel St George. It was easy to transfer from the airport by bus, then subway. But as soon as we left the subway we got horribly lost and couldn't find the hotel. After asking several locals, we eventually found it (this was after we asked a friendly doorman at another hotel!). We were exhausted after traipsing around and glad to see that the hotel was in an OK area and the building looked tidy and well-looked after from the outside. But, we were concerned that one side of hotel had a very busy 3-lane main road running next to it. We checked in and were pleased to get to our room. Quite an airy room, due to the high ceiling, and tidy and comfortable. Though, we were annoyed to find that our windows overlooked the really busy main road! But, double glazing blocked out any noise. Breakfast was OK with plenty of meat cold cuts, croissants, juice, etc. The hotel bar/lounge was nice and comfortable serving decent coffee and beers and not over-priced (with the friendly man on the front desk doubling up as Bar Man in the evenings!). The hotel is not too far from Wenceslas Sq for the many shops, bars and restaurants. But, a bit of a trek for Charles Bridge and the Old part of town. But, we were expecting to be doing a lot of walking around and wore comfortable trainers - you should do the same, unless you get around by tram or bus! We found Prague to be a bit over-rated, it was OK and some of the locals were friendly enough. They spoke good English, but I can imagine that they're sick of the masses of Brit stag/hen groups visiting the city (generally getting v drunk!)... There are some lovely restaurants in the city and we enjoyed eating out. Annoyingly, our visit was capped off by a large fine on the bus on the way to the airport. We didn't realise that we had to stamp our bus ticket in the machine when we got on and we promptly got fined (500 koruna; approx £15). I know it was very stupid and our fault for not stamping the ticket, but nonetheless, it DID put a dampener on our experience of Prague. If we had a choice to visit Prague again, we probably wouldn't. In general, it's not a place that we'd be 'itching' to go to again. There are other European cities that we've been to, that we would defo visit again, but not Prague.

  • Liked — Friendly staff & bar/lounge not over-priced for a morning coffee or pre-dinner drinkie!
  • Disliked — Located near a busy 3-lane main road & quite a distance to Charles Bridge area (but we walked it!)
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    335
    152
    45
    40
See reviews for
72
350
44
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

My girlfriend and I have just returned to Britain following a 3 day city break at the Hotel St. George in Prague.

As well as great English speaking staff who were always eager to offer local advice the hotel was warm, comfortable, nicely furnished and had excellent facilities.

Breakfast was a buffet which consisted of the usual cold cuts, cheese, fruits and cereals that you would normally expect and the bar was also reasonably priced so we were able to enjoy the few beers and cups of tea that we had at the hotel without feeling extorted.

Graffiti is a problem throughout Prague and the area in which the Hotel is located has more than its fair share but the neighbourhood is much safer than most British and US cities and the local bars and restaurants offer a very cheap (about 24k for a beer) and friendly alternative to the old town and Wenceslas Square (which is about 15 mins walk away). There are tram stops about two or three minutes away and they offered a very cheap way to travel (especially at night). Be VERY wary of all Prague Taxi drivers and always negotiate the price before you set off.

Overall, we were very happy with this Hotel and would certainly stay there again if we ever return to the city.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

We arrived at the hotel and was warmly greated. Very friendly staff at the front desk. Room was tidy and clean. Television had very limited stations, there was only one in english - the BBC news. The novelty of this station soon wore off by the first evening. We became so desperate that we watched a german episode of funniest home videos - fortunately for us people randomly getting hurt is funny in any language.
The first night we slept beautifully due to exhaustion. On the second night a sex fest began next door. It was terrible, screaming and banging started at about 2 or 3am and went for hours. We couldn't sleep. Now some reading this review may find that funny, but I assure you at the start it was, but not four hours straight. Listening to some grotesque bloke getting his rocks off was not a trip highlight. The next morning we complained and the staff assured us that the person had checked out. That night we went to bed praying that we would get some sleep. At 6 am the noises started again, this time it was a different pair of people, but it was coming from the same room. We couldn't believe it, we had switched neighbours to those who preferred morinings to mid night escapades. Even with the attitude if you can't beat them join em', a real tourist wants some sleep. The walls are paper thin. We are glad we weren't travelling with young children - as they could have needed sexual counselling for years.
Lastly, the hotel is situated on a major road. It is 'the' main road, and there is constant noise from traffic. On the one occasion late at night that the traffic died down, men came to install banners with a cherry picker. Very noisy location.
Give this hotel a miss, unless you need somewhere to store luggage or are not planning on any sleep at all - wink wink.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — The noises from next door - arggghhhhh
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Archgirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2008

I hate to write such a negative review because it is obvious that the Italian owners of this property have invested a great deal of money refurbishing it and, for the most part, they have succeeded.

Although located on a VERY noisy street in a neighborhood that is replete with graffiti, it is warm and comfortable. It is about ten minutes walk from Wenceslas Square but quite a hike to the Old Town, Charles Bridge and the castle. However, we most ceratnly didn't feel safe walking in that area at night.

Our initial visit to the hotel got us off to a very bad start. We were barked at by an unfriendly, officious young lady who acted more like a prison officer than a hotel desk clerk. Had we not prepaid our reservation, we would have walked out right there and then. However, we decided that she may have been having a bad day and that we would give her the benefit of the doubt. Unfortunately, she behaved no better throughout our stay and we went out of our way to avoid her at all costs. As she worked twelve-hour shifts this meant that we didn't dare to ask for directions or assistance of any kind. We noted, however, that she was very helpful to the hotel's Italian guests. The young man who manned the desk at night was very polite and helpful.

Our room was clean and gets a 6 out of 10 for comfort. We had a shower but no bathtub (they MAY have been available upon request) and we had no tea/coffee-making facilities or a clock. Tea, coffee and other beverages were available in the downstairs lounge but we were not enjoying our stay here and we didn't venture to ask if we could avail of them in case we would be barked at again.

The lock on our bedroom door was a nightmare. It took 30 seconds of playing with it to open the door from the outside and we had to use the key and play with the lock for another 30 seconds in order to lock the door from the inside. What a nightmare that would have been had there been a fire! After two days of trying, we finally succeeded in unlocking the closet door.

The breakfast room was very nice as was the choice of foodstuffs. Hot wieners were available on one of the days of our stay. So, no complaints there at all.

The aged portable television in our room provided sound on a few channels, but not on all of them. The remote control was in it's final days.

There were security cameras everywhere which, in addition to being monitored by our unfriendly desk clerk, added to the feeling of being a twelve-year old in a detention centre. If cameras are absolutely necessary, then they should be more discrete in a hotel. Furthermore, we required to turn in our key every time we left the hotel and present a card in order to get it back. when we returned.

So, if you enjoy your every move being watched by the staff and also recorded on camera, checking with the front desk every time you leave and every time you return and being barked at when you ask a polite question, then this is the place for you. Unfortunately, our stay here brought our otherwise perfect trip to Prague to an extremely disappointing close and, unfortunately, for the owners we cannot recommend it under any circumstances.

Please see our review of the Best Western City Hotel Moran in Prague. That property is outstanding.

  • Liked — The exit door!
  • Disliked — Rude staff member
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LughaidhN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We spent the Christmas holidays in Prague and choosed this hotel upon our travel agent recommendations. It was the perfect choice considering the price and the quality of the hotel. Definitely I recommend it to everyone.

Tip: just 5 minutes walk to "U Kalicha" pub, the faimous pub from the novel "Good soldier, Svejk"

  • Liked — Rooms are large enough
  • Disliked — Breakfast seems to be OK, but not quite perfect for gluttons
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GabiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

Me and my boyfriend decided to visit Prague as a last minute getaway and were a bit strapped for cash so we had to budget our accommodation. After reading the reviews for St George we decided to go for it and were not dissapointed. The hotel was only a short walk from Wenceles Square but we had loads of restaurants and bars on our doorstep also at really cheap prices. The staff at the hotel were incredibaly helpful with them even directing us back to the airport via the underground which was so simple and cost about 30pence compared to the £15.00 we'd payed in a taxi to get there. The staff even offered to search the web to find an ice skating rink nearby for us. The hotel has a small fitness suite with a jacuzzi and sauna which was a great way to relax after all the exploring in Prague. I would definately recommend this hotel and will even stay here again on my next visit to Prague.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, jacuzzi and location
  • Disliked — Would have preffered more choice for the breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazzle_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2007

Just returned from a stay at St. George. The hotel was great. Spacious lobby with sitting area and small cafe. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathroom was modern and in working order. Staff was wonderful. overall, this hotel was great. It's a close walk to the underground, however i found the neighborhood a bit sketchy. I didn't necessarily feel that safe walking to the hotel from the underground at night. The area was a bit dirty, although the hotel itself is wonderful.

  • Liked — Very clean, spacious hotel. Staff was wonderful
  • Disliked — location - in a bit of a dirtier part of town
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KristiEMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#139 of 649 in Prague
731 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#286 of 649 in Prague
249 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#328 of 649 in Prague
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#361 of 649 in Prague
332 reviews
Praha 5
Hotel Golf
Hotel Golf
#100 of 649 in Prague
833 reviews
Praha 2
Residence Select Prague
Residence Select Prague
#339 of 649 in Prague
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Property: Hotel Saint George
Address: Tyrshova 1803/2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is set in a renovated historic building dating from the 18th century. It is located 700 metres from Wenceslas Square and offers a wellness area featuring free hot tub and fitness facilities, sauna for a surcharge. The interiors at the Saint George are elegantly decorated with Biedermeier-style furniture. The spacious rooms all feature individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar. Guests can relax in a lobby bar with a billiard table, which is opened from morning to late evening. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and public areas free of charge.The I. P. Pavlova transportation hub can be found within 200 metres and the Prague Opera and the National Museum can be reached within a 10-minute walk. The Charles Square is 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St George
St George Prague
St George Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing