We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Saint George
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Noir(Prague)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
ABE Hotel(Prague)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (799)
Filter reviews
799 results
Traveller rating
182
351
163
52
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
351
163
52
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswenceslas squarefitness suitebusy roadair conold townp pavlovaminute walkmini barcontinental stylecold meatsnational museummain roadstaff on receptionthe ground floorcity centrelovely hotelyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 799 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great location short walk from IP Pavlova metro/tram stop although we went most places on foot. 119 bus, A then C metro got you there from the airport, took about 50min and was included on the 3 day transport pass (£10ish). Staff nice and helpful, room basic but clean, two issues were the shower and breakfast. Shower was boiling hot and freezing cold the next minute, breakfast was basic continental, fine but no toast!!! For a cheap stay for a few nights it was good but id probably shop around next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear client,
thank you very much for your stay and your kind review.
I am sorry for the water problems, Ihave passed it to our technicians to fix it.
Thank you once more for your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel next time.
Markéta Modrá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked 3 nights here at the end of November via Jet2 holidays and found it great value for money. The hotel itself was very clean and tidy with helpful informative staff. Location wise, it is just on the edge of the main centre and 5 minutes stroll from the Pavlova metro and tram stop. We used the number 22 tram to go over to the castle area and a single ticket cost the equivalent of about 80 pence with a quick and efficient service. Our room was perfect - nice and warm but not too hot and although the hotel is between 2 main roads, we never heard a thing and slept well. Breakfast was a 'standard' European buffet one with plenty of choice from ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, bread etc. Hot food was scrambled eggs (apparently very nice and not rubbery), sausage and some veg. You can easily set yourself up for the day here!

We ate at a restaurant round the corner from the hotel each evening - Legenda - which the hotel receptionist had recommended and it was excellent. Plenty of choice for all courses from the traditional soup in a bread bowl, through steaks, chicken, fish and dessert. Portions are quite large and the meat we had (steak, duck, chicken) was top quality. Definitely recommended, especially as it is so close to the hotel after a busy day sightseeing. One word of warning - as with everywhere in Prague, smoking is very prolific in restaurants. This one has a non-smoking area but even then you do get the smell through a bit. I suppose as non-smokers and being used to English smoking bans, we forget what it used to be like!

Overall, we had a lovely stay at this hotel and I would happily stay there again should I ever be in Prague. Highly recommended. Thank you to the whole hotel team.

Room Tip: Specify a non-smoking room if required as the floors are split between smoking and non-smoking.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Tripadvisor and Jet2 holidays have got it right this time ,As always.The hotel is about 1/2 a mile from Wenceslas Sq , Good location ,The breakfast is very good , the hotel is very clean, and the staff are very help full .Four of us stayed for 3 nights mid week break 19/22 November 2013 With Jet2 Holidays. Eating out, There are plenty of restaurant's café We went to Vytopna in Wenceslas sq just in between KFC & Burger king this has a theme to it ,and has large model railway that is through out the building and your drinks are delivered to the table by model rail car. The food is good to. There is another one called Slovacky sklepek on Havelska this is on the same street as the open market just as you walk from the square brilliant. When booking your cab back to the airport use the hotels its cheaper about 550kr £16.50. TIPS do not leave the trip back to the airport to the last min the road to the airport is also the main rd out of town rush hour was bad. Also do not change any money in the street it will be Slovak and it is worth about half the price of CZ

Room Tip: Rooms are large and fully heated c/w shower room and separate area for clothing. Double glazed .c/w air con on a main road but you cannot hear the traffic
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel St George during the third week of November. We didn't want to go to Prague during the Christmas markets because we felt it would be too busy and would distract us from the city itself. The hotel is on the corner of a very busy, one-way, three lane road leading away from Wenceslas Square and there is another similar road leading the opposite way just one block behind. Having said that, the traffic and the traffic noise is not really a problem except when you want to cross the road. You must always use the crossings, which are timed in a similar fashion to those in America.
The hotel is typical of a city centre hotel having a small-ish reception on the right with an adjacent lounge, very clean and tastefully furnished. There is a small bar to the left. There are two lifts serving all floors, including the basement. The staff are very pleasant and always willing to help. Prague seems to be full of (well-behaved) students and there were a number staying at the hotel and maybe that is why we were allocated a room on the fifth floor (506), which is in the roof. The room was an adequate size but with a very small bathroom, although the shower cubicle was larger than many.
And now for the bad bits! There were two opening roof lights (Velux type) which of course don't give you a view except of the sky. On one of them the blind would not stay down because the cord was broken and so we left both blinds open all night. (no point having one closed when the other one is open). There were two single beds pushed together, which is quite the norm, but with two single quilts, which isn't. My wife quite liked that idea and to be fair it wasn't really a problem but I do prefer a double, or preferably a king-size quilt. The shower was worse than any that we have encountered before, one second running scalding hot and the next second running stone cold. At least there was room in the cubicle to dodge the water while you tried to sort out the temperature. The showerhead would not stay upright until I jammed a flannel between it and the tiles, which seemed to work reasonably well.
Breakfast was taken in the basement rooms with exposed brick arches, quite quaint really. There was a good selection of cereal, cold meats, hard and soft cheese as well as sliced cheese, boiled eggs and some hot continental sausage and scrambled egg. Also there were mixed vegetables, the sort you get from the freezer shop or out of a tin - very unusual for breakfast! Plenty of different types of bread with butter and conserves and also some yoghurts. Freshly percolated coffee and tea making facilities, all in all quite satisfying.
We didn't have a bad experience at this hotel but I don't think we'd choose to stay here again. It was a bit of a drag to walk back up the hill every day especially after walking around the many cobbled streets and squares of Prague. It didn't in any way detract from a wonderful few days in Prague and if you're not as old and knackered as we are then don't be put off by what I have said.

Room Tip: The attic rooms (fifth floor) are not so good
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laytonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

We are sorry about the Cold/hot water problem , we already repaired the jammed showerhead.
Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

well having stayed here several times before for sporting events this was first time for my wife and some of our group. Upon arrival we had one problem with a room which was quickly rectified . We had our room on the fifth floor and although lacked a view was the only fault we found . The breakfast was the usual continental offering this was more than enough to appease our group. the staff were great keeping everything moving without being obtrusive. The front desk staff were always on hand to answer questions and were able to help everytime . the barstaff were attentive and very good all spoke good English . I would like to thank all for making our stay as enjoyable as it was

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear client,
I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Saint George for your stay.
We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your nice experience on tripadvisor.com.
I would be pleased to help you personally with your future reservation in our hotel, please, do not hesitate to contact me directly on: manager@hotel-st-george.cz.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews