We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel.”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #319 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel.”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband, the staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and tidy and the maid came in every day. The breakfast was excellent, constantly being replenished. The only thing I would say is that an extra pillow would have been nice, but it didn't hinder our sleep any.
There is a fantastic restaurant just across the road, Kulovy Blesk. Really can't recommend this highly enough, if you're lucky enough to get a table! Wonderful Czech food and a great selection of beers, both draft and bottled. Such friendly staff, they even bought us a beer! Loved all the sights in Prague, if you need a taxi make sure it is AAA as they have a metre so you wont be over charged and when it comes to food, be aware of the bread dumplings, delicious but sooooo filling!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiriPiriBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Madame,
let me thank you for your stay in Hotel Saint George.
It is nice to read you were satisfied with us.
I would be happy to assist you personally with your possible future reservation and I will make sure there will be an extra pillow in your room.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
email: manager@hotel-st-george.cz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    332
    145
    42
    38
See reviews for
70
340
43
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We've just come back from a 2 night break to Prague and stayed at the Hotel Saint George. The hotel was great value ,so basically you get what you pay for.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.The only complaint was the rooms are very warm but other than that very comfortable !!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear client,
thank you very much for your stay in Hotel Saint George and thank you for sharing your review.
I am glad you were satisfied in our hotel and I would be happy to assist you with your possible future booking.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over new year period and have no complaints. The hotel is a safe 5-10 minute walk from the main street which leads down to old town square. The hotel is clean and well kept. The rooms are well maintained. The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffer offered a wide selection andcwas always replenished. Lovely stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear client,
first of all I would like to thank you for your stay in Hotel Saint George and for your nice review.
I am happy we met your expectations and I would be glad to help you with your possible next reservation with us.
Thank you
Markéta Modrá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great location short walk from IP Pavlova metro/tram stop although we went most places on foot. 119 bus, A then C metro got you there from the airport, took about 50min and was included on the 3 day transport pass (£10ish). Staff nice and helpful, room basic but clean, two issues were the shower and breakfast. Shower was boiling hot and freezing cold the next minute, breakfast was basic continental, fine but no toast!!! For a cheap stay for a few nights it was good but id probably shop around next time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear client,
thank you very much for your stay and your kind review.
I am sorry for the water problems, Ihave passed it to our technicians to fix it.
Thank you once more for your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel next time.
Markéta Modrá
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked 3 nights here at the end of November via Jet2 holidays and found it great value for money. The hotel itself was very clean and tidy with helpful informative staff. Location wise, it is just on the edge of the main centre and 5 minutes stroll from the Pavlova metro and tram stop. We used the number 22 tram to go over to the castle area and a single ticket cost the equivalent of about 80 pence with a quick and efficient service. Our room was perfect - nice and warm but not too hot and although the hotel is between 2 main roads, we never heard a thing and slept well. Breakfast was a 'standard' European buffet one with plenty of choice from ham, cheese, cereal, yoghurts, fruit, bread etc. Hot food was scrambled eggs (apparently very nice and not rubbery), sausage and some veg. You can easily set yourself up for the day here!

We ate at a restaurant round the corner from the hotel each evening - Legenda - which the hotel receptionist had recommended and it was excellent. Plenty of choice for all courses from the traditional soup in a bread bowl, through steaks, chicken, fish and dessert. Portions are quite large and the meat we had (steak, duck, chicken) was top quality. Definitely recommended, especially as it is so close to the hotel after a busy day sightseeing. One word of warning - as with everywhere in Prague, smoking is very prolific in restaurants. This one has a non-smoking area but even then you do get the smell through a bit. I suppose as non-smokers and being used to English smoking bans, we forget what it used to be like!

Overall, we had a lovely stay at this hotel and I would happily stay there again should I ever be in Prague. Highly recommended. Thank you to the whole hotel team.

Room Tip: Specify a non-smoking room if required as the floors are split between smoking and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Tripadvisor and Jet2 holidays have got it right this time ,As always.The hotel is about 1/2 a mile from Wenceslas Sq , Good location ,The breakfast is very good , the hotel is very clean, and the staff are very help full .Four of us stayed for 3 nights mid week break 19/22 November 2013 With Jet2 Holidays. Eating out, There are plenty of restaurant's café We went to Vytopna in Wenceslas sq just in between KFC & Burger king this has a theme to it ,and has large model railway that is through out the building and your drinks are delivered to the table by model rail car. The food is good to. There is another one called Slovacky sklepek on Havelska this is on the same street as the open market just as you walk from the square brilliant. When booking your cab back to the airport use the hotels its cheaper about 550kr £16.50. TIPS do not leave the trip back to the airport to the last min the road to the airport is also the main rd out of town rush hour was bad. Also do not change any money in the street it will be Slovak and it is worth about half the price of CZ

Room Tip: Rooms are large and fully heated c/w shower room and separate area for clothing. Double glazed .c/w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at the Hotel St George during the third week of November. We didn't want to go to Prague during the Christmas markets because we felt it would be too busy and would distract us from the city itself. The hotel is on the corner of a very busy, one-way, three lane road leading away from Wenceslas Square and there is another similar road leading the opposite way just one block behind. Having said that, the traffic and the traffic noise is not really a problem except when you want to cross the road. You must always use the crossings, which are timed in a similar fashion to those in America.
The hotel is typical of a city centre hotel having a small-ish reception on the right with an adjacent lounge, very clean and tastefully furnished. There is a small bar to the left. There are two lifts serving all floors, including the basement. The staff are very pleasant and always willing to help. Prague seems to be full of (well-behaved) students and there were a number staying at the hotel and maybe that is why we were allocated a room on the fifth floor (506), which is in the roof. The room was an adequate size but with a very small bathroom, although the shower cubicle was larger than many.
And now for the bad bits! There were two opening roof lights (Velux type) which of course don't give you a view except of the sky. On one of them the blind would not stay down because the cord was broken and so we left both blinds open all night. (no point having one closed when the other one is open). There were two single beds pushed together, which is quite the norm, but with two single quilts, which isn't. My wife quite liked that idea and to be fair it wasn't really a problem but I do prefer a double, or preferably a king-size quilt. The shower was worse than any that we have encountered before, one second running scalding hot and the next second running stone cold. At least there was room in the cubicle to dodge the water while you tried to sort out the temperature. The showerhead would not stay upright until I jammed a flannel between it and the tiles, which seemed to work reasonably well.
Breakfast was taken in the basement rooms with exposed brick arches, quite quaint really. There was a good selection of cereal, cold meats, hard and soft cheese as well as sliced cheese, boiled eggs and some hot continental sausage and scrambled egg. Also there were mixed vegetables, the sort you get from the freezer shop or out of a tin - very unusual for breakfast! Plenty of different types of bread with butter and conserves and also some yoghurts. Freshly percolated coffee and tea making facilities, all in all quite satisfying.
We didn't have a bad experience at this hotel but I don't think we'd choose to stay here again. It was a bit of a drag to walk back up the hill every day especially after walking around the many cobbled streets and squares of Prague. It didn't in any way detract from a wonderful few days in Prague and if you're not as old and knackered as we are then don't be put off by what I have said.

Room Tip: The attic rooms (fifth floor) are not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laytonlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketa M, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Saint George, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We are sorry about the Cold/hot water problem , we already repaired the jammed showerhead.
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#134 of 649 in Prague
692 reviews
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Claris Hotel
Claris Hotel
#346 of 649 in Prague
327 reviews
Praha 2
Pension Brezina
Pension Brezina
#350 of 649 in Prague
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 5
Hotel Kavalir
Hotel Kavalir
#282 of 649 in Prague
236 reviews
Hotel Mars
#513 of 649 in Prague
126 reviews
Praha 2
Residence Select Prague
Residence Select Prague
#335 of 649 in Prague
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Property: Hotel Saint George
Address: Tyrshova 1803/2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #319 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is set in a renovated historic building dating from the 18th century. It is located 700 metres from Wenceslas Square and offers a wellness area featuring free hot tub and fitness facilities, sauna for a surcharge. The interiors at the Saint George are elegantly decorated with Biedermeier-style furniture. The spacious rooms all feature individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar. Guests can relax in a lobby bar with a billiard table, which is opened from morning to late evening. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and public areas free of charge.The I. P. Pavlova transportation hub can be found within 200 metres and the Prague Opera and the National Museum can be reached within a 10-minute walk. The Charles Square is 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St George
St George Prague
St George Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing