We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break in Praha”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #359 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 31 March 2009

We stayed at the hotel for five nights in March. The hotel was about a 10 to 15 minute walk from W. square. The rooms were basic, but decent. The rooms were clean. The bathroom was modern, however the towels were not changed everyday. There is a metro/ tram stop about five minutes from the hotel. You can catch tram 22 to just about anywhere of interest. When we arrived in Prague we took one of the mini buses from the airport. There is a kiosk were you give them the address your going to and then your told to take it to the driver outside. It was very simple and convenient thing to do. We paid 480 k (about $22 US for both of us. its 480 k for 1 to 4 persons). A taxi driver did approach us and was asking 650 k. We also used the ATMs at the end of the terminal to take out money. There were several ATMs bunched up together. The exchange rate at currency booths was pretty poor. We did use the metro and bus system when we went back to the airport for our return flight. We left the hotel at 7:00 AM and it took us about 40 minutes to get to the airport. At that time (on a Wednesday), the metro and bus were not crowded. The cost for both of us was 78 k (two 26 k metro/bus tickets and two 13 k luggage tickets). It was very easy to do. The bus stops are numbered so just stand at the stop for bus 119. The bus stops right in front of the two terminals. The bus runs from the airport to the Dejvická metro station. From the hotel to Dejvická is about six metro stops with one line change (from the red line to the green line). I would imagine it would be just as easy to head into the town center as it was to get out. Overall, we had a very good time in Prague.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TX1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2009

Having read previous reviews of the St George ahead of booking it's fair to see they are correct – short walk to Wenceslas Square, on a busy (four lane) main road out of town (we didn't experience any noise with traffic, like others have said, as on the top floor) and breakfast was poor; it's not worth getting up for, so we didn't after our first day! I'd recommend the hotel in terms of its cleanliness and location (unless you particularly want to be around Wenceslas/Old Square) with the caveat that breakfast really is lousy; if you need/want a feed of the morning look elsewhere. It really does let down what is otherwise a decent hotel. Note also, smoking is permitted in the breakfast room which is an annoyance (particularly for us non-smokers). Also, staff were friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

ROOM: spacious, modern, air conditioned (although the controller was difficult to fathom), nicely decorated and, most importantly, clean. Towels changed everyday. The TV was a small portable one, with mainly German channels, but we didn't go to Prague to watch European TV. A safe key is available for a deposit, and beds are comfortable.

BATHROOM: spacious, excellent shower, although prone to quick changes in temperature (easily rectified with small adjustments). Good sized mirror and, as with the room, very clean.

LOCATION: Short walk from IP Pavlova metro/tram stop and about 15 minutes' walk from Wenceslas Square – it doesn't bill itself as slap-bang central and when you're walking into town with someone, a quarter-of-an-hour is not long. Don't be put off by the figure of 15 minutes.

BREAKFAST: a waste of time! Very basic – cereals, bread, meat, cheese etc – but what's more disappointing is there's not a lot of range in what is available, i.e. one type of pastry – croissant – one type of bread roll. A real shame.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Spent 3 nights at the St George with friends. The staff were always friendly and helpful, and spoke very good English. My room was clean and comfortable. The TV remote was broken, but then I didn't come to Prague to watch TV so wasn't too bothered.
Breakfast was great - a nice selection of cheeses, meats, cereals, rolls, croissants, jams/spreads & yoghurts.There was a machine to make drinks such as coffee (although I didn't try this) Also a nice selection of teas, although you have to use the hot water from the coffee machine to make your drinks. The fitness room was basic but clean and quiet.
Location of the hotel was good - only 10 mins from Wenceslas Sqare & the State Opera, and about 20 mins from the Old Square (depending how fast you walk of course), and just around the corner to the metro which we used only once (to get to the zoo)
There was free internet available in the bar, you just had to ask the staff on reception.
My only complaint is that the internet bar allowed smoking so it wasn't so nice to sit in. Would have been so much nicer to have it non-smoking so we could sit and have a drink and unwind after a day walking around the sights. This is the only thing stopping me from giving this hotel an "excellent" rating.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eelectric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Just returned from 3 night stay at the St George. Loved the hotel. Would definitly stay again. We had a SKY room on 5th (top) floor, Big room, newly refurbished and a new, clean large shower room. We were really pleased considering what we paid (£45 each 3 night B&B).

Location is an easy 15-20 minute walk from wenceslas square and other tourist sites.

The only thing I would say that lets the hotel down, is the breakfast. It is limited. Only cereal, some fruit, croissants and rolls with ham/cheese, Tea/coffee and juice. And that's about it, but it was fine for a few days and the food was good quality, croissants and rolls always fresh!

Would recommend this hotel to all my friends!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarBristol-England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

We had alot of use of tripadvisors comments. Here are our version: Staff is nice, but after all, its their job. Dont rely on all information, they are not experts, for example its much better to rely on the tram-system than the metro. (Dont try to walk) Take tram 22, it takes you to most sights. You can buy cheap day tickets for transport. Very easy to use. Get a detailed map. The breakfast is simpel and the tea was not warm as many have commented, the woman who scared some guests, is apparently no longer there. Dont try to go by yourself from the airport. Trust the minibus service, we used Prague Airport Transfers Ltd. and we were satisfied with it. As mentioned here, the hotel have to shape up their smoking profile. We had a nice no-smoking room on the 5th floor with ceiling roof (traffic no problem) Smoking is allowed in the cafe by the reception, this is maybe post communist tradition! The only real problem was still lack of wi-fi, many travellers rely on it. I brought a laptop, thinking I could wire up, but the explanation was that there is a common pc with windows 2000, that you can use for 15 minutes every day. Som of the receptionists hovered over this, making sure nobody was overdoing this, they could maybe have emptied some ashtrays instead? Apart from this urgent need for wi-fi, the hotel is luxurious, so this is just a tip to make things even better:-) PS. The restaurant Everyday was nice, there are not many other places to choose from in that area anyway!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Busig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

This was a clean and well-run hotel with friendly, English-speaking staff and good facilities. The service was great and the buffet breakfasts could feed you for a week: Expect pastries, bread, jams, cereal, fruit juice, fruit salad, fresh fruit, yoghurts, coffee...
The fitness suite is cosy, feeling like a private room, with a sauna, whirlpool bath, running machine and weights.
The location is quite good: In a quiet area, not very central, but only 10/15 minutes walk from Wenceslas square and 5 minutes from the nearest metro so easy to get around. We would have liked a bath in the room and a kettle, and the air conditioning is noisy, but all very clean; hairdryer in the bathroom, minibar.

Basically, a good hotel at excellent value, which we were more than happy with. I would recommend this one.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiggerhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Booked for a 3 night stay with 4 friends to celebrate 2 birthdays.The hotel staff are very friendly especially Martin the barman/night receptionist.Rooms are clean and very comfortable, but we suggest you turn of the heat at night or you will be awoken by what sounded like a runaway train.For my and my friebns birthday the staff placed a bucket with champagne in our rooms with their compliments which we thought was a lovely touch. Recommend the restaurant called EVERYDAY uninviting when you go through the door but excellent food at a reasonable price, go out main entrance of hotel turn right and it is at the end of that block. overall a beautiful place to visit but very cold in january so dont forget your THERMALS!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2009
2  Thank sheilawolkowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 2
Residence Select Prague
Residence Select Prague
#374 of 646 in Prague
301 reviews
Nové Město (New Town)
L'Opera Hotel
L'Opera Hotel
#463 of 646 in Prague
56 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Brixen Prague
Hotel Brixen Prague
#123 of 646 in Prague
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vinohrady & Vršovice
Abri
Abri
#413 of 646 in Prague
107 reviews
Praha 2
ABE Hotel
ABE Hotel
#326 of 646 in Prague
205 reviews
Praha 3
City Partner Hotel Gloria
City Partner Hotel Gloria
#378 of 646 in Prague
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Tyrshova 1803/2 | corner with Sokolska, Prague 120 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 2
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £25 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint George 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is set in a renovated historic building dating from the 18th century. It is located 700 metres from Wenceslas Square and offers a wellness area featuring free hot tub and fitness facilities, sauna for a surcharge. The interiors at the Saint George are elegantly decorated with Biedermeier-style furniture. The spacious rooms all feature individually controlled air conditioning, satellite TV and a minibar. Guests can relax in a lobby bar with a billiard table, which is opened from morning to late evening. WiFi is available in all guest rooms and public areas free of charge.The I. P. Pavlova transportation hub can be found within 200 metres and the Prague Opera and the National Museum can be reached within a 10-minute walk. The Charles Square is 800 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St George
St George Prague
St George Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing