We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hideaway”
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #106 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Waldenstein is a great little storybook hideaway at the base of the Prague Castle. My husband and I spent a week in Prague for our anniversary and the hotel was the perfect spot. The tram is 5 minutes down the street, the Charles Bridge is about 10 minutes away, the Castle is a 15 minute walk up beautiful Nerudova St. There are lots of little restaurants and bars just minutes a way so you can always get a nightcap or a hot wine on your way back. The breakfast buffet is great offering sausages, eggs, cheese, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee and tea and its open until 11am, which is perfect for sleeping in. The reception was very nice and helpful and available whenever needed. We would recommend the Waldstein for couples looking for a romantic cozy spot and we would stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeblegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2013

The Waldstein is a very authentic hotel situated in the "Lesser town" a few minutes walk from the famous "Charles Bridge". The rooms are gothic in style and has some beautiful furniture. We have stayed here twice previously, each room varies in size and layout.
Last time we stayed it was more of a suite which for 2 people was a little too big. This time it was a lovely size with plenty of space, twin beds and a separate bathroom.

We also had a cloakroom area so plenty of places to hang coats which you need in Prague during the cold winter!

The rooms were warm and cosy and it was a relief after being out in the cold air to come back into a nice warm room.

The staff are very friendly and will arrange Airport transfers for you and also trips around the city can be booked with them.

Breakfast is served in the cellar which is also very authentic and offers a wider range of foods/fruit and cereals to suit most tastes.

There is free WIFI throughout the hotel which is unusual these days as in most hotels you have to pay! Also there is a computer available in the lobby which you can use anytime for free.

Unfortunately on this visit the hotel were having some renovations carried out and through the day there was a lot of banging, drilling and loud noise. It would of been helpful if the staff on reception had warned us of this in advance as we then would of been prepared and probably stayed out longer during the day.

Getting about is easy, the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the metro station (Malostranska), or 2 minutes from the square (Malostranske Namesti) where you can grab a tram. Public transport in Prague is some of the best and most frequent we've ever encountered. Travel passes are available for various durations. Ours was a 3 day (72hr) pass which worked out at about £10. This entitles you to use metro, tram or bus anywhere in the city. It also allows use of the funicular railway to Petrin Park. The palace (Prazky Hrad) is a short but steep walk from the hotel, this is well worth a visit. Especially in the warmer months when you can visit the gardens for free. The view from the palace over the city is breathtaking.

A perfect break in what we consider the most beautiful city we've ever visited!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We were glad to be back at this lovely hotel, this time we took my 80year old dad with us!
The hotel is full of character and the location is first class being right in the old town, and a stones throw from the castle and the Charles Bridge. There are numerous places to eat on the doorstep so a bar or restaurant isn't really needed. The breakfast room is a pretty vaulted cellar and the breakfast was good.
The rooms within the main building of the hotel have a nicer "feel" than the two bed apartments but we liked having our dad with us just in case he needed us.
We did however, have to change rooms as the previous guest did not move out of our specially booked room (for my dad) in time which was a shame but the staff did their best to resolve the problem as soon as they could (although we were nt offered help to move our luggage!) we also neede to ask for toilet roll and toiletries that the cleaners did not keep stocked up.

Room Tip: The rooms within the main hotel are the best. Very characterful and traditional. They are all off a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevsue123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This hotel is near to Charles bridge and just across the river from the Old Town.
Very nice and helpful staff, free wi-fi and use of a computer. Facilities basic, no bar or lounge.
but it was very reasonably priced.
Clean, authentic and the breakfast room is in the cellar!

Room Tip: don't have room no 1 it is a bit small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

You will find this hotel right in the centre of town and minutes from Charles bridge and all the other landmarks. The hotel comes with all the historical charm of the 15th century Czech history. It is filled with antique dark oak furniture and was very warm when we were there in Jan 2013. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast in the vaulted cellar was very good and relaxing. I recommend walking up the hill to the Monastry brewery where the beer is very good and the Czech food excellent (Klášterní pivovar Strahov)

Room Tip: We were in room 31 which was an excellent suite of 2 rooms including 2 Tv's and tea and coffee m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I was there in Januari 2011. It's a little, but very beautiful hotel,middle in the center! I found that the price for the room was OK( januari).Service and breakfast, and everything else superbe, No noice from cars or walking people. Constantly police, because the parlement is just in front! You're only 5 minutes from the famous bridge, but also only 10 minutes(I mean by walking) from the famous castle and church etc...

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We had a great time here, beautiful large bed, all original furniture (early 20th century) wonderful interior. We had the little appartment on the floor. Breakfast was average but very satisfying.
The location is perfect 5 minutes from the center, but its very calm area. Loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pumukliboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradčany & Letná
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#183 of 646 in Prague
262 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#33 of 646 in Prague
741 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#64 of 646 in Prague
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#111 of 646 in Prague
1,271 reviews
Malá Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#14 of 646 in Prague
807 reviews
Hradčany & Letná
Golden Star
Golden Star
#18 of 646 in Prague
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 646 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £47 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing