We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like something different...”
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #117 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I chose this place mostly because I liked the look of the rooms - the big old furniture and the old fashioned photos on the walls. From reading other reviews I get the impression that all of the rooms are not to the same standard.
We went for one of the deluxe suites in the main building - these are only slightly more expensive and ours was good size and exactly what I had been expecting from having seen the photos. Have a look for yourselves as this is obviously an acquired taste - something different, a little atmospheric even.
The location is good, tucked out of the way just enough to be quiet but still only ten minutes from the Charles Bridge.
The breakfast was standard issue and did its job and I enjoyed the dungeon restaurant venue.
I did not have much cause to ask the staff for anything but they were always helpful and pleasant when I did.
Er, I guess the only other thing is - don't get a room that overlooks the central courtyard if you are not a fan of smokers.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OrpheusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 780 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, comfortable room, mega power shower, fantastic breakfast all within easy walking distance of the majority of Prague's top attractions. This is a lovely old hotel with vaulted or beamed ceilings and lots of antique furniture in the rooms. It just oozes old world charm whilst embracing modern life with free wifi throughout the hotel, new flat screen tvs, mini bar and electronic safe in rooms. The only meal available is breakfast which is served in the lovely cellar. The choice of foods is huge, something to suit everyone. I particularly enjoyed their scrambled eggs (not all overcooked and rubbery). It is surrounded by parliamentary buildings and embassies so there's plenty of security around. It is in a quiet little square and very quiet at night. The location is perfect for walking up to the Castle or across the river to the Old Town, or down to Kampa Island. My only bugbear is that the courtyard is the smoking area, it can be a bit smelly and the shape of the courtyard amplifies all conversations down there.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Hotel is situated in a prime area of Prague and within easy walking distance to public transport and a number of tourist attractions. The staff in general were efficient and helpful, and the buffet breakfast is very good.
However, the room[103]which we occupied for three nights resembled a bunker from the First World War.

Room Tip: view the options before settling-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very good location to visit Prague by foot, huge room depend 3 bedrooms, bathroom and hall, but was a bit old-fashioned , free soft drinks and a bottle of wine in a room, pretty tasty breakfast and good choice of food, nice staff

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank very371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great location Great hotel. Very close to Charles bridge and the Old town, excellent transport access with closest underground only 5 minutes away. This Hotel is the perfect base for sight seeing and is also situated in one of the prettiest parts of Prague.
Our room was very spacious, clean and quiet and had everything you needed. My wife and I like a comfy bed and The Waldstein didn't let us down. The Hotel is situated in a quiet side street, and was very quiet especially at night. Only down point would be the stairs, we were in room 32 which is on the top floor. Could have done with an elevator especially after walking all day lol.
Overall I would highly recommend the Waldstein,
Many Thanks

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a deluxe double room,these rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank JF1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our visit in hotel Waldstein was amazing,Everything worked out wonderful.The staff was so kind and awesome.The room was clean, big and nice.The hotel location was also perfect for visit in the old town and also the castle.Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank Jaana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Iasi, Romania
12
Reviewed 4 July 2013

It was ok with the room, the personnel and the cleanliness. The sleep quality was also good and the value was indeed ok. The location of the hotel is more then perfect, is close to the important sights and the metro station. But the services are for three stars, not for four stars.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with fru.pl
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#147 of 648 in Prague
254 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#34 of 648 in Prague
717 reviews
Praha 8
Hotel Mucha
Hotel Mucha
#187 of 648 in Prague
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 3
Hotel  Theatrino
Hotel Theatrino
#107 of 648 in Prague
1,219 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#56 of 648 in Prague
450 reviews
Praha 3
Hotel Seifert
Hotel Seifert
#230 of 648 in Prague
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £48 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing