We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #109 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“central and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

recommended by a friend we went to this hotel two weeks ago got a really good deal and were nicely surprised to find we were upgraded to an amazing two roomed 4 bedded suite - beautifully decorated - probably the only fault was the dim lighting especially as the windows are small. But overall excellent room - quiet area - good breakfast

Room Tip: only two floors and no lift so be prepared to take suitcases up and down narrow staircase though ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bousoulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    290
    74
    40
    21
See reviews for
149
321
34
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here last month for way too many days. We were in an adjacent building that required us to unlock a courtyard door, then climb 15 uneven concrete steps, unlock the building's outside door, and then unlock our room door.
The courtyard we passed before entering was weed covered and poorly maintained.
The room had no charm. It was just old and dingy with a worn brown carpet. It overlooked the main entrance to the hotel and provided us with countless noises of arriving and departing vehicles and guests. The adjacent room's shower noise was so loud we literally could not hear our television when the other guests used it.
All that being said, the worst was the service. There was none. We had no toiletries and no clean glasses during our entire (5 day) stay. Despite requests for both, to several different front desk personnel, none were forthcoming. We had a portable heater in the room when we arrived. One day it was gone with no explanation and, despite assurances that it would return, it never did.
When we checked out we express our disappointment and were met with a shrug of indifference, not even an apology.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dwdwWausau_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We booked this through Easy jet great value quiet, comfortable and warm large well furnished rooms with lots of charm modern bathroom with power shower. Breakfast set us up for the day plenty of choice.
Staff very helpful.
Pity we did not realise until the 2nd day how close it was to the Castle would have saved us a long walk !! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had basic room no issues very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jansy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I chose this place mostly because I liked the look of the rooms - the big old furniture and the old fashioned photos on the walls. From reading other reviews I get the impression that all of the rooms are not to the same standard.
We went for one of the deluxe suites in the main building - these are only slightly more expensive and ours was good size and exactly what I had been expecting from having seen the photos. Have a look for yourselves as this is obviously an acquired taste - something different, a little atmospheric even.
The location is good, tucked out of the way just enough to be quiet but still only ten minutes from the Charles Bridge.
The breakfast was standard issue and did its job and I enjoyed the dungeon restaurant venue.
I did not have much cause to ask the staff for anything but they were always helpful and pleasant when I did.
Er, I guess the only other thing is - don't get a room that overlooks the central courtyard if you are not a fan of smokers.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrpheusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cley Next the Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Friendly, helpful staff, comfortable room, mega power shower, fantastic breakfast all within easy walking distance of the majority of Prague's top attractions. This is a lovely old hotel with vaulted or beamed ceilings and lots of antique furniture in the rooms. It just oozes old world charm whilst embracing modern life with free wifi throughout the hotel, new flat screen tvs, mini bar and electronic safe in rooms. The only meal available is breakfast which is served in the lovely cellar. The choice of foods is huge, something to suit everyone. I particularly enjoyed their scrambled eggs (not all overcooked and rubbery). It is surrounded by parliamentary buildings and embassies so there's plenty of security around. It is in a quiet little square and very quiet at night. The location is perfect for walking up to the Castle or across the river to the Old Town, or down to Kampa Island. My only bugbear is that the courtyard is the smoking area, it can be a bit smelly and the shape of the courtyard amplifies all conversations down there.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

The Hotel is situated in a prime area of Prague and within easy walking distance to public transport and a number of tourist attractions. The staff in general were efficient and helpful, and the buffet breakfast is very good.
However, the room[103]which we occupied for three nights resembled a bunker from the First World War.

Room Tip: view the options before settling-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jastrzebie-Zdroj, Poland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very good location to visit Prague by foot, huge room depend 3 bedrooms, bathroom and hall, but was a bit old-fashioned , free soft drinks and a bottle of wine in a room, pretty tasty breakfast and good choice of food, nice staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank very371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#41 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#167 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#135 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#50 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#36 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Bishop's House
Bishop's House
#20 of 670 in Prague
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Property: Hotel Waldstein
Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing