We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Trip to Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #107 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Trip to Prague”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a long weekend in this hotel and it was very centrally located and a nice little hotel. We stayed in a ground floor room in the adjacent building to the hotel reception. A complimentary bottle of wine was provided with this room. Bathroom bright and modern. Continental breakfast was good and plentiful. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it. It was handy for the castle and trams. We used the trams on a few occasions to get to some places and it was very easy to use. Britain could take a leaf out of the Prague transport book. You bought your tickets in advance and were able to use them on either tram, subway or bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerSun-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    295
    75
    40
    21
See reviews for
154
327
35
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a suite at ground floor level in the adjoining building and were surprised by how quiet it was in the room. The room was beautifully decorated with antique furniture. Breakfast was lovely, well organised and good quality food. Prefect location for sight seeing and minutes walk from the tram station. All in all a lovely break.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Unkown186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I got to like this hotel, I must admit when I first saw it and was in our room I was a little deflated as was expecting a little more but, you have to remember this is an historical building (14th century) and is in Eastern Europe.

I stayed in a deluxe room (not a suite) on the 2nd floor and the only two gripes I could really have is the wi-fi only worked in half the room, (odd I know but basically once you got into bed, there was no using your laptop or ipad from there, swap ends and your fine) and the wooden bar down the middle which was actually the edge of two single (very large single but a single) beds pushed together to make a double bed.

The internet speed is great, beds themselves were comfortable and breakfast was nice in their basement wine cellar.

Staff were very helpful and on hand to book you any tours you need.

Tip for those going the first time and staying at this hotel, come out of the hotel, turn left and left again, follow the street and you will come to Charles Bridge, less than 5 minutes and there is a nice bar/hotel/restaurant on the corner before you cross the road into a square, cheap and very nice food, can't remember the name but you cant miss it.



offers accommodation in 34 rooms and suite comfortably equipped with antique furniture

You must remember

Room Tip: pay slightly more if you can for the suite, they looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

recommended by a friend we went to this hotel two weeks ago got a really good deal and were nicely surprised to find we were upgraded to an amazing two roomed 4 bedded suite - beautifully decorated - probably the only fault was the dim lighting especially as the windows are small. But overall excellent room - quiet area - good breakfast

Room Tip: only two floors and no lift so be prepared to take suitcases up and down narrow staircase though ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bousoulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here last month for way too many days. We were in an adjacent building that required us to unlock a courtyard door, then climb 15 uneven concrete steps, unlock the building's outside door, and then unlock our room door.
The courtyard we passed before entering was weed covered and poorly maintained.
The room had no charm. It was just old and dingy with a worn brown carpet. It overlooked the main entrance to the hotel and provided us with countless noises of arriving and departing vehicles and guests. The adjacent room's shower noise was so loud we literally could not hear our television when the other guests used it.
All that being said, the worst was the service. There was none. We had no toiletries and no clean glasses during our entire (5 day) stay. Despite requests for both, to several different front desk personnel, none were forthcoming. We had a portable heater in the room when we arrived. One day it was gone with no explanation and, despite assurances that it would return, it never did.
When we checked out we express our disappointment and were met with a shrug of indifference, not even an apology.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dwdwWausau_Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We booked this through Easy jet great value quiet, comfortable and warm large well furnished rooms with lots of charm modern bathroom with power shower. Breakfast set us up for the day plenty of choice.
Staff very helpful.
Pity we did not realise until the 2nd day how close it was to the Castle would have saved us a long walk !! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had basic room no issues very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jansy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

I chose this place mostly because I liked the look of the rooms - the big old furniture and the old fashioned photos on the walls. From reading other reviews I get the impression that all of the rooms are not to the same standard.
We went for one of the deluxe suites in the main building - these are only slightly more expensive and ours was good size and exactly what I had been expecting from having seen the photos. Have a look for yourselves as this is obviously an acquired taste - something different, a little atmospheric even.
The location is good, tucked out of the way just enough to be quiet but still only ten minutes from the Charles Bridge.
The breakfast was standard issue and did its job and I enjoyed the dungeon restaurant venue.
I did not have much cause to ask the staff for anything but they were always helpful and pleasant when I did.
Er, I guess the only other thing is - don't get a room that overlooks the central courtyard if you are not a fan of smokers.

Room Tip: Deluxe Suite was worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrpheusUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#43 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#147 of 670 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#50 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Monastery
Hotel Monastery
#36 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#136 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Kampa Garden
Kampa Garden
#84 of 670 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Property: Hotel Waldstein
Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 670 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing