We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Waldstein oozed essence of Czech Republic”
Review of Hotel Waldstein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Waldstein
Ranked #110 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Waldstein oozed essence of Czech Republic”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just had a great stay at the Waldstein. Forget your bland one-size-fits-all international hotel. At the Waldstein,you don't have to look out the window to see which country you are in. It oozed essence of Czech Republic. We had a Deluxe room which was massive, I would have called it a suite. OK, there were things you could pick up on. It is a little faded around the edges. If things like the ring holding the bath plug being distorted or the tile grout a different colour where they have done some repairs puts you off, then the Waldstein is not for you, but you will miss out on a great experience. Staff were lovely and very helpful and could not fault breakfast.

The position is fantastic.A very quiet square between the Castle and Charles Bridge, but only about 10 minute walk to the Old Town. Superb restaurants and bars (at a fraction of the price of Old Town) within 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank didgdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    304
    78
    41
    22
See reviews for
162
337
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from Prague, 3 nights at the Waldstein, perfect location for getting around. Have visited the city 4 times, this time as a tourist. Very central in Lesser Town, 10 mins walk across Charles Bridge to Old Town square. Easy to grab a 22 tram around the corner to get up to Castle. Many great pubs about enjoyed the ones literally around the corner, 2 mins walk, pickled cheese, potato pancakes, pork knuckle, steak, sausage, and wonderful Czech beer. There is also nothing quite like a Hot Wine when its cold! Stayed 30th Dec to 2nd Jan, new years eve was an experience, fireworks start as its get dark, we were on a dinner boat 10 mins before midnight the fireworks are going well! At the 12 all hell breaks loose with hand held, thrown, private party and a few firework boats at all the same time!! City display was 1st Jan at 6pm very sensible and orderly. Hotel serves at great location to a wonderful city, breakfast fits your needs, cold meat, cereals, hot stuff, toast, yoghurt,etc. Warm and inviting hotel, the walls are about 3 feet thick, old world styling antique furniture, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. A few creaky pipes at night but nothing but praise for a super hotel. Booked through Easy Jet as part of a package, looked up their website first. Ideal for the city, which is going to be out walking, shopping, food, drink, etc. 24 hour reception, good English, stored our cases on last day as we had an evening flight, Room was massive with hall way, bathroom and big double bed room. no real view to speak of but that was not important. Breakfast room is converted cellar with vaulted ceiling, very characteristic of location. As it was xmas, little trees about the place and lights and ivy on all windows....all very bohemian and just what we wanted for our 30th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bill_tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Hotel was very accommodating!! Told us main sights and suggested guided tours. Enjoyable time hotel was very near downtown and major tourist attractions! Complementary breakfast was wonderful. More than you could ask for!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeloBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A party of 10 of us stayed here to visit the Christmas Markets. We were really pleased with the rooms, comfort, breakfasts and the welcoming and helpful staff. We lived in Prague during the Velvet Revolution and visit regularly and can honestly say that in terms of location and the things already mentioned this hotel is excellent - our Czech friend said it was 'typical Czech' - so if that's what you are looking for we could really recommend it. We ate at U Snellu just around the corner who were very happy to accommodate our large party, good food and drinks. We could recommend the Evening Jazz Boat River trip with meal - good food, great band and can all be booked through the hotel. The Christmas Market stalls are located all over the city, with plenty of hot wine and sausages as well. All in all we had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not pleased with your room ask to move - the staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brook B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leawood, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location with a gorgeous view of the castle and in close proximity to Charles Bridge. The staff are all very friendly and helpful - particularly the breakfast staff. The room was fairly basic as was the breakfast, but they were both adequate, and compared to other hotels were excellent value for money! Just be careful about paying up front for airport transfers though. When I stayed, the driver asked me to pay even though I had already pre-booked the transfer. The hotel were very quick in removing the pre-booked transfer from my bill, however had I been prepared for this I would have taken more currency with me. Otherwise, a great find.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tr1pRev1ewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked a 4 day weekend in Prague in November and ended up staying at this hotel. We paid the extra £40 for a deluxe room and were surprised that we had an enormous room, a second bedroom with two more beds in it, a kitchenette and a large shower room. The staff were extremely friendly, the room was cleaned well each day.

When we initially walked into the room there was a faint smell of damp but then the building is exceptionally old and with the windows open for 20 minutes it was gone for the rest of the stay. There was enough equipment to have prepared meals in the kitchen area however we ate out each night. Breakfast was served in a lovely cellar with the curved ceilings above and had plenty of options for various tastes.

The location is what is great about this hotel, it is within 5 minutes of the Charles bridge and you can also walk up to the palace in about 10 minutes although the slope does slow you down a bit. There are a number of nice restaurants nearby as well which means you never have to go far for anything you want. If I was returning to Prague I would certainly stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: We paid the premium for a deluxe room and it certainly seemed worth it compared to some of the pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwEets10
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I love old but well kept. That would describe this quaint hotel. This hotel is within walking distance to pretty much all of the town squares and very close to the Charles Bridge. It has a gorgeous view, especially in the evening of the Prague Castle. The Breakfast that's included in your price is like none other. Love, love, love, this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwEets10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Hradcany & Letna
Hotel Red Lion
Hotel Red Lion
#129 of 649 in Prague
244 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Three Storks
Hotel Three Storks
#37 of 649 in Prague
683 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Certovka Hotel
Certovka Hotel
#124 of 649 in Prague
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel U Pava
Hotel U Pava
#184 of 649 in Prague
359 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Boutique Hotel Constans
Boutique Hotel Constans
#44 of 649 in Prague
791 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel u Schnellu
Hotel u Schnellu
#300 of 649 in Prague
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Waldstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldstein

Property: Hotel Waldstein
Address: Valdshtejnske namesti 19/6, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Waldstein 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The romantic Hotel Waldstein is situated directly in the historical centre of Prague in the neighborhood of the Prague Castle, close to all places of interest and a metro station. Due to the preserved unique architectural elements, the building was included in the Czech National Immovable Heritage List. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Waldstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing