We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to revisit”
Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1
Ranked #207 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This Hotel was a fantastic stay in Prague. Hotel staff friendly and very attentive. On arrival check-in staff were excellent. Could not fault breakfast. The room was a little hot at times but this was because the weather had caught us ALL out - not the Hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for posting this great review on Tripadvisor, as well as for choosing the hotel Praga 1. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our breakfast and staff.
Whenever you decide to return to Prague, our door will be always wide open for you.
With best regards
Federica Fiori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Don't be fooled by the pictures. You are not getting one of those rooms. Instead, you will get a VERY CLEAN, functional room. Ours was non-smoking and was smoke-free. 6th floor. under the eaves with a sky light window. Kind of neat. Hardwood or tile floors. Easily regulated temperature.

The bathroom is good although the shower would be best used by rail-thin super models. I could not get my arms over my head to wash my hair without my elbow hitting the lever for the water, which was on a hair trigger between scalding and freezing. Once in the sweet spot though, the shower was great...good water pressure. There is space for two in the bathroom if one person is in the shower, showering otherwise, no way.

The beds were firm and there were good pillows per person. The furniture is Ikea, so modern, blond and black woods. I felt like I was in my first apartment again. Fun. The beds were twins pushed together against a low sleek head board. No clock radio. There was a bistro table and chairs and two other stool/cubes with cushions and a flat screen TV on a desk. The electric tea kettle was handy for boiling water for tea (provided). BYOTB if you want a flavor other than bluberry or english breakfast. bring coffee if you want that in the room. Mini fridge is useful for left overs or to chill water to take along on explorations of the city. There is probably enough room for 3-4 people if someone does not mind crashing on the floor.

Tap water was good to drink. Neutral, flavorless.

Breakfast was simple and filling. Coffee was strong and good. Wifi was free in room and in lobby. Safe neighborhood.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CORJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for submitting your review to Tripadvisor and staying at the hotel Praga 1. We're really happy to hear that you had a good time in Prague and hope to have you as a guest again soon.
With best regards
Federica Fiori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Traveled with a friend and stayed here one week. Location was nice, away from the action but a very short walk to Old Town Square. Room and hotel were very clean. Breakfast was simple and convenient. Not the fanciest place by any means, but very clean and felt safe. Free internet access and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAB314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear Traveler, Thank you for staying at the hotel Praga 1and sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad, that you were happy with our facilities and location of the hotel.
I hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back at the hotel Praga 1 in future.
Greetings from Prague
Federica Fiori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Travel was very interesting as the hotel was near to all sights

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minatavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Praga 1 and also for a comment on TripAdvisor.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
With best regars
Federica Fiori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

we booked into hotel praga1 mostly as it had a free airport transfer! we were staying a week and would need lots of space and peace and quiet as i was undergoing some medical procedures while there. I had informed the hotel of this, and of the fact i would need to be certain there was a mini fridge for my medications.

the room was massive, i mean huge for european standards. the decor for a four star hotel was pretty bad, in particular the cold tiled floors, but the room was spotless, as was the bathroom, and were continually cleaned during our stay.

The breakfast was your standard buffets with cold meats fruit breads and cereals and did not vary during our stay.

staff wise, all were lovely and helpful except for the grumpy older night porter, he was abrubt and made you feel even saying hello was an intruption for him.

location is perfect, five minutes stroll to wencelas square, ten mins to old town. would recomend this to friends.

Room Tip: rooms to the back of the hotel are totally quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shalloecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, Team leader at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about your stay with us. We do appreciate it very much.
We would be more than happy if we have a chance serving you again in the future in one of our hotels.
Kind regards
Federica Fiori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was our second trip to Prague for the Christmas markets, last year we stayed at the hotel Meteor Plaza (closer to old town square) but booked Hotel Praga 1 this year as it had good reviews on Trip Advisor and they were offering some amazing early booking deals. It is a bit further to walk to the Christmas markets, but Wenceslas Square is about a 10 minute walk and old town square (with the best market) is about a 15 - 20 minute walk.
Our flight landed too late to use the free shuttle bus but we got a taxi from the airport for 680ck (about £20 but they offer a 20% discount on the return journey to the airport)
On arrival at the hotel we were checked in very quickly and directed to our room which was massive! - as mentioned in other reviews we were provided with tea and coffee making facilities but there was no coffee or milk - a minor detail for us. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, which was stocked with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries.
Breakfast buffet was the usual continental fare, scrambled eggs, cheese, meat, bread plus cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit.
We stayed 4 days and on our last day our flight was not until 8pm. The man on the reception desk was very helpful, offering to look after our bags and arranging our taxi (the company offering us 20% discount, NOT the hotel's own which was more expensive)
I would recommend the Hotel Praga1 to anyone, who is looking for a friendly well priced excellent value for money hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enchanting1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed 4 nights & found the hotel in good location, good breakfast selection, hot & cold choice, the hotel is very clean, staff friendly & helpful. My only complaint was that when we booked it included free transfer, our flight was delayed & we did not arrive till midnight, a taxi collected us at the airport, looking at his list. When we arrived at the hotel he asked for 650ck, I explained the transfer was included in the price but this is only to 8pm. So allow for this & it is only from airport to hotel with no return trip. The shower tray could be bigger as too small. Even so I would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petervine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#182 of 648 in Prague
1,328 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#210 of 648 in Prague
913 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#150 of 648 in Prague
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#111 of 648 in Prague
979 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#112 of 648 in Prague
752 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#103 of 648 in Prague
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Address: Zitna 1670/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range: £40 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing