We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try a different place”
Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1
Ranked #236 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
1 review
“Try a different place”
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The hotel was not bad, rooms are clean and the staff was very nice. The elevator broke down once but taking the stairs wasn't a big deal since you will definitely have to get used to walking a lot to do things. The shower was designed for a skinny midget (I'm a 6.1 slim/athletic guy) but not a huge deal compared to the hotel's location. That was my main disappointment. It looked good on the map, but it really is out of the way compared to other better located hotels. You'll be walking all the time so a couple of blocks when coming back from walking all day makes a difference. I'm telling you this because I walk miles and miles everyday at home in NYC. Try to find something closer to the river or further north closer to the Old Town. Cheers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max86NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    273
    106
    23
    16
See reviews for
109
279
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Seven of us stayed here for a city break, perfect location within walking distance of Oldtown and staggering distance from the nightlife in Wenceslas Square! Rooms were large, comfortable and clean. Unfortunately it was nearly impossible to shower in the tiny shower cubicles in all our rooms as any washing type movement inevitably involved nudging the contol lever so that extremes of temperature caused scaldings and freezings in turn. However the staff were helpful and flexible, and keen to help us have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergalileo, Room division manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 19 May 2009
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for positive review you gave us. We are sorry for problems you had with the size of the shower cubicles and believe it did not leave a negative influence over your stay in our hotel.
We would be happy to welcome you by us again.
Kind Regars,
Olga Zrckova
Roms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights from 15th March, staff spoke excellent english, were efficient and friendly.
Booked total package through easyjet out of Bristol, excellent value, room 301 at rear very quiet, no road noise, over looked church tower.
Breakfast more than adequate - help yourself to coffee, chocolate, tea, toast, pastries, cheeses, cereals, sausages and eggs etc.
Easy walk to all attactions but you can tram it to the Castle, suggest purchase travel pass at airport which covers bus, tram and metro for the duration, I purchased a 5 day pass for £16.00 ish. As it was March it was a tad cold so we jumped on the tram to warm up and toured the city ( no extra charge), Get bus from airport to Devicia where you get on metro, metro to either Mustek or Museum then 10 - 15 minute walk to hotel - shimples !!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerrywDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergalileo, Lucie Spirovova, Room Division Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 23 March 2009
Dear Sir/Madam. Thank you for leaving your message, that is how we see, we are doing our job well. It is a great award for all our employees. We are looking forward to see you in Praga 1 next time ! Lucie Spirovova, Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham Rutland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The staff at the Hotel are extreemly helpful especially Lucie who could not do enough to make our stay comfortable. It is a great location and very easy access to the rest of the city. Very good value, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexoharared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergalileo, Lucie Spirovova, Room Division Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 23 March 2009
Dear Sir/Madam, I m happy you had a great time in Prague and even happier, I was the one who helped as well. Thank you for sharing your comment with others and I want you to know, we are looking forward to welcome you here soon again. With Best Regards Lucie Spirovova, Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Great location, good value clean accomodation.. clean towels daily....Staff friendly .
Rooms very basic as with the breakfast .They had no English breakfast tea so I would advise to take afew Tea bags if you want this.
I can not find complaint other wise for the money we paid for this hotel.
OOps! It was so hot in the hotel reception and breakfast room.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuffolkSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managergalileo, Lucie Spirovova, Room Division Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 2 March 2009
Dear Sir/Madam, we are all happy you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. Thank you for your comment you decided to share with us and thank you also for the suggestion. I have arranged the English breakfast tea to be part of the breakfast . We are looking forward to welcome you in hotel Praga 1 next time. With Best Regards Lucie Spirovova, Room Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

just returned from a stay at this hotel. rooms were clean and spacious and the bathroom spotless. air conditioned. The staff at the hotel did not have very good engligh exept for one member. The Breakfast was standard hotdogs, boiled eggs, breads etc. extremely close to the square and we walked everywhere. i would get yourself a good map before you head there as the staff will not direct you in any way. Would definatly stay at the hotel again excellent value and location.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank yahoogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We spent a weekend at this hotel and were quite impressed, the rooms were nice, the breakfast was excellent value, location was good, not too far from the main sights and the staff were pleasant. Price was excellent and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#175 of 649 in Prague
1,274 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#213 of 649 in Prague
849 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#154 of 649 in Prague
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#103 of 649 in Prague
716 reviews
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#112 of 649 in Prague
942 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#104 of 649 in Prague
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Property: Hotel Praga 1
Address: Zhitna 1670/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing