We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but room not as expected”
Review of Hotel Praga 1

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Praga 1
Ranked #236 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location but room not as expected”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Very well placed for Wenceslas Square etc. Room 102 had tea tray but only two herbal teabags and no milk, even in the mini fridge. Shower cubicle very small and shower control easy to knock to either scalding or freezing due to poor placement within the cubicle. Nowhere in cubicle to put soap, shampoo etc. Excellent double glazing but very poor air conditioning. Only English channel seemed to be BBC World News. Room not made up until gone 3pm on one day, but there were always nice quality clean towels.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bosmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, receptionist at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 14 September 2010
Dear Sir/ Madam,
I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Caesar Palace. We very appreciate it.
I am very sorry you did not meet your expectations during your stay.
Your findings give us chance to improve our service.
We hope, that we will have a chance to welcome you back in the future.
With Best Regards
Zuzana Engererova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    273
    106
    23
    16
See reviews for
109
279
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

lovely hotel couple minutes from the town centre and wencelas square, friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and comfy bed!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for your stay at hotel Praga 1 and also a comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us.
I hope we will have a chance to welcome you back in future.
With Best Regards
Markéta Fialová
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The location was perfect as it was near to most if not all must-see's in Prague. Public transportation was also nearby and the train station wasn't that far. I have to suggest though to change the directions written in the website. It's much easier to say to take a walk through the park from the Karlovo Namesti metro station taking the E3 exit.
The hotel staff were very helpful, kudos to Jacob for trying to find that adaptor we requested.
I would definitely recommend it. The price as well was very affordable.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joahnna1407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,
I would like to thank you for your stay at hotel Praga1 and also for sharing your experiencies on Tripadvisor.
We very appreciate it.
Greetings from Jakub.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again in future.
With Best Regards
Markéta Fialová
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubbock, tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My adult son and I arrived in Prague on a very hot day, after some very hot days in Budapest. Being from Texas (the 110-degree Texas) we naturally wanted some good air conditioning, which is not so easily found in Europe. Boy, were we surprised! We cranked ours down to 16 degrees Celsius (about 60 F.) and we about froze to death. It was wonderful!

The staff was very polite, spoke enough English to suit me, gave good directions, and generally were very satisfactory. My son was really impressed when he left his pajamas on the bed and the housekeeper folded them and put them under his pillow. We had plenty of clean towels each day, a hot pot in the room with cups, spoons, and tea bags, a good view of Prague, and the tram is about a block away. With a Prague Card we were able to go everywhere we wanted to and leave the crowds behind at the end of the day.

The breakfast is varied and plentiful, if a little strange for Americans. However, it had more on it that appealed to us than the other places we'd been.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelc, Front Office Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Dear Sir/Madame,
It was pleasure for us to meet you here. Hopefully we will have opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you for such a nice review.
With Best Regards
Markéta Fialová
Hotel Praga 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Our room (504) was very spacious,clean and quiet.Staff varied widely from very friendly to curt,and very knowledgeable to not a clue.
The lift would fail every now and again,but not their fault.The breakfast was a superb buffet well presented in the purpose built basement.
WiFi would fade but if you went to the bar ( gnd Floor ) it was very strong.
Very good location for the centre, and some very good restaurants within 5 mins walk

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonGoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRomaPrague, Manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 16 May 2010
Dear Sir/ Madam,

thank you very much for your stay at hotel Praga 1 and also a comment on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us.
Plese accept my apology for inconveniences what you experienced here. I hope we will have a chance to welcome you again to make your stay perfect.

Thank you
Kind regards
Anezka Nekovarova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2010

Nice hotel and good location i.e.: close to subway and tram station and major recreational attractions.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, manager at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 23 January 2010
Dear Madam/Sir, let us thank you for your stay at Praga1 and also for positive comment on Tripadvisor.We are looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel
Kindest regards
Yvona Pecková
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

I would love to write a review on this hotel! Unfortunately this is not possible as, although we'd booked several months in advance, when we arrived we were curtly told that the hotel was overbooked and we would not be able to stay there! We were furious as we did not receive a feasible explanation or an apology . We were expected to get a taxi, after we'd just spent approximately £30 getting there from the airport, and travel to their sister hotel, which was considerably further away from all the main attractions! After showing extreme displeasure we were begrudgingly told the hotel would pay for the cab. An apology would have made things not acceptable BUT more appeasing. The staff were rude and abrupt and i am also extremely annoyed at e bookers for taking our reservation and would advise caution if you choose to travel with this firm.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Praga11, manager Yvona Pecková at Hotel Praga 1, responded to this review, 23 January 2010
Dear madam/sir,we are deeply sorry for the misunderstanding over your stay at our hotel.We only ask our guests to kindly move into one of our sister hotels in the last resort.In these situations we always pay taxi for the clients and offer welcome drink in vindication of the uncomfortable conditions.
Of course our employees will have to face the consequences of this issue.This time we were forced to move your stay to another hotel because of a company that has booked the whole hotel for the whole week.
We hope we will get the chance to retrieve your unpleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Caesar Prague
Hotel Caesar Prague
#175 of 649 in Prague
1,274 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Beseda Prague
Hotel Beseda Prague
#212 of 649 in Prague
851 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Hotel Roma Prague
Hotel Roma Prague
#153 of 649 in Prague
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 2
Hotel Galileo Prague
Hotel Galileo Prague
#116 of 649 in Prague
944 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Hotel Suite Home Prague
Hotel Suite Home Prague
#99 of 649 in Prague
717 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
Archibald City
Archibald City
#106 of 649 in Prague
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Praga 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Praga 1

Property: Hotel Praga 1
Address: Zhitna 1670/5, Prague 110 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Nove Mesto (New Town) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#187 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Praga 1 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Praga 1The Hotel & Residence PRAGA 1 is situated in the centre of Prague at 5 Zitna Street.There is an underground and tram station nearby (approx. 100 m) named ″Karlovo náměstí″, from where you can get anywhere you need to go. The famous Wenceslas square is only 5 minutes' walk from our residence. We look forward to your visit and we wish you a pleasant stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Praga 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Praga 1 Hotel
Praga 1 Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing