We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expo Hotel, Prague”
Review of Expo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Expo
Ranked #401 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The Expo Hotel is a 4-stars property. The Hotel is good, considering the average for the country.
The staff is friendly, but the facilities are somehow a little old, and not really well maintained.
Rooms are clean but very basic (TV set is really old, and small, with very few international channels). Wifi works well all over the hotel, and it's free.
The restaurant serves a basic breakfast buffet, but it's not comparable with other 4-stars properties across western Europe.

Room Tip: rooms are all very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I went on a city break at the end of September 2012, staying at the Expo in Prague. What a wonderful city and we were very satisfied with our choice of hotel. It wasn't near the centre but we only had a short walk to the nearby tram stop. Tram's were plentiful and provided a brilliant transport network. The hotel was clean and pleasantly furnished, although a little dark. Staff were very helpful, particularly a young lady on reception who spoke good English, not many of the staff spoke English which wasn't a problem to us, we prefer to muddle through and try learn a little of the language - the receptionist was teaching us a phrase a day - great fun.Our room was very spacious with a well stocked mini bar and free wifi (although some rooms due to their location did not have wifi). We stayed on a half board basis and found breakfast very good with ample choice although evening meals were less inventive they were still very tasty and well presented. We ate from a set menu of 7 choices (due to being half board) however we could have paid to eat from the main menu, there was ample choice and the restaurant was always busy. We would stay at this hotel again, we found the location ideal.

Room Tip: Some rooms did not have wifi due to their location, if this is important to you, it might be worth m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanetteOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

A nice budget hotel, but nothing special. Hotel is located about 10-15 minutes away from city center. The breakfast is quite good with a good selection. Other than that, the hotel is good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C8MAPTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Hotel Expo, of course, not the 4-stars hotel, as it positions himself, but good and very convenient 3-star hotel.

Is located near Expo-centre, 3-4 minutes by foot to tram station and 5-10 minutes of tram ride to city centre. Or 5 minutes by foot to metro station "Nádraží Holešovice" and 4 stops to metro station "Museum" in the very centre of Prague.

Rooms are rather big and have a separate bathroom and toilet (big advantage). Breakfast are very good, big choice of different cold and hot snacks. As the price of the hotel is also affordable and looks more like the price for the 3-star hotel, Expo definitely can be recomended.

Hint. 5 minutes by foot from Hotel Expo is situated train station "Nádraží Holešovice" (near metro with the same name). Here stop trains to Dresden, so if you plan a day trip to Dresden you have no need to go to city center and to main train station

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank andres16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Hotel Expo was chosen for a long stay (11 nights!). We asked for a quiet number and it was given. Hotel is wonderfully situated near the Expo centre, far from the crowds of tourists, very convenient to get to the center by metro or tram. Staff is helpful and polite! Restaurant - cheap and very tasty!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enamoured_in_itself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Was there for business, and as the hotel is near the Expo Center, it was completely handy. But, if you are coming as a tourist, it is a bit out of the way. Yes, the trams and buses take only about 10 minutes, but it is still not within walking distance.

That said, the rooms were of a good size as was the bathroom and separate toilet. The staff were always friends and accomodating. The breakfast was nice with plenty of choices. What I liked the best - the squishy pillows. What I liked the least, characterless.

All in all, this hotel was just really a good standard hotel, nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JC505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I was very surprised the hotel clims to be 4*, while it looks much more like a moderate 3* hotel.

It is not really in a central location (it's in Prague-7). There is a park nearby and the National Gallery section of Modern art is at a walking distance. The center and most attractions are easily accessible by public transport (mostly trams, because the metro station is 2 stops away). Tickets are sold at the reception which was very useful.

Room was clean, although everything looked somehow old. They do not offer wireless in the rooms, only plug-in network, which is an issue if you count on mobile devices as I did.

Saff was friendly. Yet they did not have maps of the city (only a printout with hotel's location). In another example, I booked a non-smoking table in the restaurant, but we ended up on a smoking one (the non-smoking department was closed ?!?). I cannot evaluate the breakfast, as I made it in time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JordanPanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 7
Parkhotel Praha
Parkhotel Praha
#200 of 648 in Prague
906 reviews
Praha 7
Plaza Alta
Plaza Alta
#330 of 648 in Prague
482 reviews
Praha 7
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#237 of 648 in Prague
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 9
Hotel Blue Orange Business Resort Prague
Praha 6
Orea Hotel Pyramida
Orea Hotel Pyramida
#203 of 648 in Prague
1,112 reviews
Praha 2
Prague Centre Superior
Prague Centre Superior
#542 of 648 in Prague
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expo

Address: Za elektrarnou 412/3, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 7
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #401 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Price Range: £41 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing