We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly hotel”
Review of Splendid Hotel

Splendid Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splendid Hotel
Ranked #549 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Reviewed 4 June 2006

stayed in hotel splendid, prague with my daughter for 3 nights. the rooms were a good size and very clean but thats the only positive thing i can say about this hotel. The staff didnt even acknowledge us except when we asked them to ring us a taxi. We found them to be very unpleasant people. On the last day i asked reception to ring the taxi company who brought us from the airport but it had to be pre booked by at least 2 hours and it wasnt until we came down into the lobby the receptionist told us he couldnt get through to them so we had to use their taxi company who cost 200 korunas more. We asked what number tram to catch to the town the day after we got there and they werent very helpful at all. I would never return to this hotel, i would choose one that was in the town itself but needless to say i would never ever return to prague as the language barrier is not good there and i find the people a little unpleasant and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WestMidlandsJoanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2006

I liked this hotel, i stayed for 5 days with a friend of mine. The hotel is cool in the summer and comfortable. Just a short walk from the Troja Palace (check it out, AMAZING). Although it is a 15 min walk from the centre but thats ok because its in a safe area. We got the airport bus there and some other passangers hotels looked drabby, and some next door to brothels!! So Hotel Splendid was very nice. The room was a bit old fashoined but we didnt mind because its only a place to sleep or chill out. Only problem i had was that i couldnt find any drinking water (which is what you need when your hungover lol) but the breakfasts were SUPERB. Yogurt, Toast, Cerials, Cakes, Buns, Eggs... luvly!!

This is a luvly hotel that i plan to return to, Prague is a wonderful place to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistermark_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2005

My sister and I booked for 3 nights in October last minute and the selection was limited so we stayed at this hotel but would not recommend it - even to those looking for a cheapie.

When you enter the hotel there is a pervasive smell of 'chip fat' (my sisters description!!) - I am a non smoker and I almost choked on the smell of fags. Mind you it seems that every single local person in Prague smokes and there are no restrictions anywhere so you could be having a nice meal and the next table 6 people all light up between courses. The hotels reception is dated and we were greeted by a very surly staff member (we named him Boris) and there was no help or trolley for the luggage - thank you who ever invented rolly luggage. We had to laugh at the size of the key ring but later realized we could use it for a weapon when we came home late at night if need be. There are a couple of local bars around the corner that are actually safe but there always seemed to be huge crowds outside which was a little off putting at first for two women on their own.

When we got to our rooms we were shocked at the condition. It was as if we had stepped back 50 years into a communist regime. The door (which opened outwards) from the drab hallway leads directly into the bathroom area which left a lot to be desired - many fixtures being bright red and the tiles are public toilet issue - the towels were so small and threadbare and the tablet of soap no bigger than a postage stamp. But there was plenty of hot water. The bedroom itself consisted of two single beds which appeared to be the bottom of an old fashioned sofa (without the cushions) and a thin foam topper which was covered by thin linen with holes in it !!! The top duvet's cover was not much better and I put one of my shirts over the pillow to sleep as it was "suspect "and filled with feathers - who knows how long it had been there! The curtains were so dirty that we put socks on our hands to pull them and as we did clouds of dust permiated the room.

The breakfast was not too bad, although I thought my sister was going to throw up (she did had a bit to drink the night before) when she saw hot goulash and curry on the breakfast bar. All the juice was squash type where they add the water (a little heavy on the water) to the syrup. Coffee was good. There was a selection of meats and cheese cut ultra thin, bacon, eggs, potatoes etc plus, cereal, yoghurts, prunes etc plus you could toast your own bread - be prepared for a wait!!! You could definately get enough to eat but not exactly gourmet. There are plenty of places to eat in Prague that are not expensive so its fine if you miss the "Splendid repast" which would be OK if you are a coffee and toast person but hard if you are the 'full english' type. We were not brave enough to eat in the restaurant but the bar does make decent coffee of an evening.

They do have internet access available in the lobby for a small fee - be warned you need to be wearing rubber gloves to touch the keyboard!

Although we were greeted badly we did encounter so other members of staff that were very friendly indeed.

The hotel is in a more residential area its quiet and not too far (walkable distance) from the Sparta Prague Stadium and there is a supermarket and shops nearby that are convienent. Although its out of the main area its easy to get a tram into town and they come frequently.

This hotel is far from SPLENDID and we saw the funny side of things - a bit a la Fawlty Towers - but you might want to check other places out before you decide.

Prague is a great place to visit and has something for everyone. We got a great guy from a small family run taxi business to transfer to and from the airport - they were really reliable and also knew about the hotels - he told us there were lots of other better hotels in this price range so do your research.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
764
Reviewed 1 July 2004

I stayed at the Splendid October 2003. I was in a school party. Rooms were a good size and clean, however my bed was broken. Dinner and breakfast were good. Good for a transit hotel.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Лучше брать номера с видом на улицу, двор не очень симпатичен.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Олег Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Александр Р
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Vinohrady & Vrsovice
Czech Inn
Czech Inn
#11 of 686 in Prague
782 reviews
Praha 7
PLUS Prague
PLUS Prague
#21 of 686 in Prague
901 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
A Plus Hotel & Hostel
#538 of 648 in Prague
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Occidental Praha
Occidental Praha
#182 of 648 in Prague
450 reviews
Praha 1
Hilton Prague
Hilton Prague
#140 of 648 in Prague
5,055 reviews
Praha 5
Occidental Praha Five
Occidental Praha Five
#112 of 648 in Prague
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Hotel

Address: Ovenecka 78/33 | Praha 7, Prague 170 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #549 of 648 Hotels in Prague
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Splendid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Hotel Prague

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing