We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value but set in a bad area of Prague”
Review of Cechie Praha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cechie Praha
Ranked #494 of 650 Hotels in Prague
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Great value but set in a bad area of Prague”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Myself and my partner stayed here as a last minute thing. From the outside we thought we were in the wrong place as it didn't look like a hotel and the area was quite run down. Once inside though we found the rooms more than adequate, spatious and above all incredible cheap. The breakfast was fantastic and the sports faciltities were great. It's a bit of a trek into town and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking back at night. For £35 however, as a total for both of us and included a fantastic buffet breakfast it is an ideal location for for a short weekend when you intend to spend most of your time visiting the centre of Prague.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
10
27
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We choose this hotel because of wellness, what had to be in price. But when we come, they told us, that it is not open. We were very disapointed beacasue of it. We love relax in sauna and pool. When we asked for compensation, they offer us only free gym. But gym was for us not acceptable, becasue we were tired from walking through Prague all day.
We wanted just relax, but we couldnt. We asked for anotzher compensation, but there was no discution with them... I think that it was not nice from 4* hotel...
From outside seems that the hotel is not very good. But from inside it was sufficient.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana_Durcikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prague hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Budapest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We have spent 4 days in Prague. We chose this hotel because the good price. As it seems the Hotel is 4* but only for the superior rooms. Our romm was in the old building and it was really a 3* room. It was clean, and we had a flat TV, but no fridge, and the aircon did not worked when we tried. (It was centralized I think, beacuse later it worked).

The staff was absolutely not helpful, when we left or arrived they ignoresd us.
If we had a question they did not want to answer or understand us.

We had also a journey, to discover where is the swimming pool, and how can we use it.

Advantage: Cheap, clean, nice breakfast, free swimming pool and sauna.
Disanvantage: Even 5 minutes walk from tjhe metro, nothing is near by walk. Rude staff!!!

The place where the hotel is "Retro", panel houses etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reality_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

A group of 20 persons stayed two separate two-night stays and I would not recommend this venue. Both times there were problems with electircity and/or plumbing (no water). The staff gave us the "run around" for 2 1/2 hours while we were stuck without the ability to freshen up at the very least and this was our last free night in Prague.
The "glass" hallway is like a steam bath, there are steps up and down to haul luggage (no help available) and the "other" rooms are like dorm rooms. The water came out brown for several guests the first visit.
Could not access internet, even in lobby.

The only saving grace was that the inclusive breakfast was acceptable and included fresh fruit.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank affinitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed ( me and my husband) for 15 nights in Hotel Cechie Praha. Actually we were initially booked for 8 nights but due to the air flight disruptions we had to extend our stay day by day for another 8 days. Overall the hospitality and service of this hotel is really poor.. The reception staff is very rude and were not willing to extend our stay and were asking us to fly when the flights resumed.. The hotel facility is also not upto the standard of a 4 star hotel.. Restaurant is also not elaborative. For 15 days we had to had the same pathetic breakfast... so we would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhhakkan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during our visit to Prague. The feeling we have about this place is a little mixed. We arrived in Prague in the morning and knew that the check in time in our hotel was 14.00 PM, when we arrived at the check in desk at 12.00 the lady was not able to provide us with any service at all and told us that we had to wait till 14.00, of course we understood that we were too early but she was acting in a VERY passive way and was definitely not looking for a sollution. Bad start!

Later on the other woman behind the desk was way more friendly and provided us with a well-manered check in.

The staff downstairs at the pool was very unfriendly and acted not very polite, or was it just the language barrier..I guess not. Talking about the pool, don't just dive in because the water is very cold.

Is there anything positive about Hotel Cechie? Yes, the location of this hotel is perfect. You just take the metro and in a couple of minutes you are downtown. Also the rooms were clean and proper, enjoyed the sauna and the breakfast, no complaints here.

Keep these things in mind and you can have a good stay here, but don't expect too much!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eelco_Kuijper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2009

At this hotel I stayed for three days (2 nights) when I was in Prague.
The receptionist Martha is very friendly and speaks decent English. I stayed at the "3 star" part of the hotel, a seperate building that is connected by a plexiglass tunnel to the main hotel.

There was some wear visible on the walls so I guess they should replaster it. While it may not be a top hotel, it is well-connected to the rest of the city via the metrostation Invalidovna, a few minutes' walk away. There is also a streetcar next to the metrostation.

I got quickly used to the sound of the railway that is running on the hillside next to the hotel. The sound does not interfere with your sleep and I very much prefer it to traffic noise and loud people that you get when staying in a hotel near the city centre.

Breakfast is excellent, 4 stars! I did not try out the sporting facilities as I chose this hotel as a relatively cheap and comfortable place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FirstPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Praha 6
Hotel Wertheim
Hotel Wertheim
#446 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Praha 9
Arlington
Arlington
#495 of 650 in Prague
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel U Divadla
Hotel U Divadla
#157 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praha 4
Michael Hotel
Michael Hotel
#401 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Praha 4
Hotel Nabucco
Hotel Nabucco
#259 of 650 in Prague
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Praha 8
Castle Residence Praha
Castle Residence Praha
#247 of 650 in Prague
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cechie Praha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cechie Praha

Property: Cechie Praha
Address: U Sluncove 618/25, Prague 186 00, Czech Republic
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Praha 8
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Spa Hotel in Prague
#259 Luxury Hotel in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cechie Praha 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cechie Praha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cechie Praha Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing