We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Hotel”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant Hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at Hotel Pod Vezi this past week and had a wonderful time. We chose Pod Vezi based on the great Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. What a fantastic hotel.

We have stayed in hotels around the world, many of them 5 star but Hotel Pod Vezi is our new favourite. Perfectly located just at the end of the Charles Bridge within walking distance of all the main attractions, spotlessly clean and with the best service we have ever come across. Eva, Milan and the 3 Martins could not do enough for us whilst we were there. Eva was an angel, going above and beyond to help make our stay memorable, she could teach most hotel receptionists a thing or two! All the staff we encountered were kind and generous including those in the restaurant where we ate on our first night. The food at the restaurant is good and worth trying especially if you are too tired after a day's sightseeing to venture back into the town.

Also one evening we asked Martin (one of the three!) if we could exchange one of the small bottles of red wine in our mini bar for one at room temperature. He said he would bring one up but arrived with a tray with two large wine glasses and a full bottle of their house red, on the house! It was delicious and much appreciated. This is the kind of thing you can expect at this fantastic hotel.

Pod Vezi has an old world charm and our deluxe room was warm and spacious and the bed was really comfortable. Breakfast was good too with plenty to choose from, the usual cold meats and cheese, cereal etc but also cooked eggs of some kind daily and sausages, one day we even had pancakes and syrup. A great way to start your day and breakfast was served until 10.30 so you didn't have to rush out of bed to be fed.

We took Eva on receptions advise and tried the Grand Tour. A 3 hours tour of the city with a guide and minibus and they pick you up from the hotel. The tour is part on the bus and part walking with the guide. Lucky for us we were the only two people on the tour! It was brilliant. Ask at the desk about it. We also went 5 metro stops (15mins) to Vyserhad the site of the original Prague Castle. It was a wonderful escape from the city, very peaceful with the most beautiful church interior I have ever seen. Worth a trip if you are in Prague for more than just a couple of days. The metro is literally 5 minutes walk from the hotel and reception has metro/tram tickets they can sell you.

For our last night we wanted to go somewhere really special for dinner and Eva said that the restaurant most recommended for fine dinning by other guests was Mlynec. We were not disappointed. Amazing modern twist on the local cuisine. We loved it and although it was expensive it was worth every penny with wonderful views of the bridge and just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Afterwards we went to U Malého Glena, Jazz Blues Club which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel in the Lesser Quarter to watch Jamie Marshall and his band. Great little club where you can also eat if you want to. It's owned by the American who also owns the Bohemia Bagel shop that's virtually opposite the hotel down the side of the supermarket.

Re getting to the hotel from the airport we had the same driver for both journeys as arranged by the hotel and what a great character he was. He happily pointed out places of interest it's well worth organising and he was there waiting for us upon arrival even though our flight had been delayed by over 2 hours.

We really do recommend you try Hotel Pod Vezi. I am sure we will be returning to Prague and when we do we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Southdownsduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,426
    189
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
381
1,694
81
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very good hotel, small drawback in that our room was round the corner from the main hotel in an annexe. However, as the weather was kind we did not mind crossing over for breakfast. Also the annexe is wonderfully atmospheric The room was spotless, the service delightful - each day fruit or cookies placed in our room at teatime - the staff extremely helpful and friendly. The location is perfect and we even mastered the trams!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 850CandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We were a party of three generations. Location, accommodation, hospitality first class. Outstanding city hotel with staff who are caring and helpful. Faultless. Thank you for a wonderful stay and looking after us so superbly. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Pod Vezi for 3 nights during February. Having read the good reviews I have to say that our expectations were quite high but we were not in the least bit disappointed. The staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. Our room in the annex building, just across a small square from the main building, was well appointed and spotlessly clean. The welcome chocolates in the room when we arrived were a nice touch that I would expect in a much more expensive hotel. On our second night we had a plate of fruit and on the third night a plate of biscuits.
The breakfast buffet was excellent with something for everyone. We also ate dinner in the restaurant one evening which was very good value. We also had an excellent meal at the Tri Stoletti, just around the corner from the hotel.
The hotel is in a fantastic location at the castle end of the Charles Bridge so in easy walking distance of the Old Town.
Whilst in the city it's well worth taking one of the free walking tours (just tip the guide at the end). A great way to find your bearings and to learn a little bit about the city.
I can thoroughly recommend the Pod Vezi Hotel to anyone visiting Prague. We booked and paid in advance - around £70 per night bed and breakfast - a real bargain!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank instoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located, just a few steps away from Charles bridge. Comfortable rooms, friendly and helpful staff that will spare no efforts to provide information on the city, good restaurant with great breakfast. From there, one can easily reach on foot the most outstanding touristic spots of Prague. Needless to say that I would stay there again next time I visit this lovely city.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leandro_S74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

I spent two days in this hotel and will definitely go back again. The location is super and I could walk everywhere in the city from here. It is just 50 meters from Charles bridge. Some parts of the building are from 12 the century. The decor was pleasing and the room size was really big and comfortable. The bathroom was really nice and big with all facilities. The staff was friendly and gave correct advices on arrival. The breakfast was very nice, cappuccino is really super. They gave us free coupons for coffee and crepes for the last day when they realized that we were leaving at 5PM! Very generous! Everyday they gave us either cookies or fruits in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalindi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I went with 3 of my friends and can say this was the best hotel that I have ever stayed in. The rooms were quiet and warm and the staff could not be more helpful and made us all feel very special, delivering treats to our room every afternoon. The location within the city was also absolutely perfect, at the foot of the Charles Bridge. We also ate in the hotel restaurant one evening and the food was also excellent. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,095 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#9 of 649 in Prague
1,699 reviews
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,744 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,017 reviews
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Property: Hotel Pod Vezi
Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel set in two historical neighbouring buildings and located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive area and visited area of Prague it is proud of its quite and calm atmosphere. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing