We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special hotel in the heart of Prague, full of character but with every amenity too. A gem!”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A very special hotel in the heart of Prague, full of character but with every amenity too. A gem!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Fantastic hotel right by the Charles Bridge, just across the Vlatava River in Lesser Town. The location was perfect - so easy to walk to all the sights but perhaps a little quieter than in the heart of Old Town - suited us perfectly. Had a suite with a view over the Bridge - so pretty. The hotel is full of character but has all the amenities you need too - lovely bathroom, tea/coffee facilities etc. The staff were wonderful - so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was lovely - plentiful, fresh and tasty. We really appreciated the little extras too - chocolates in the room on arrival, a platter of fresh fruit brought up with compliments, a little plate of pastries. We ate at the hotel's own restaurant one evening and had a delicious meal with a great view. The whole stay was a delight and can't recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelwallPowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,370
    188
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
371
1,655
78
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews, and were very happy with it. It is an excellent boutique hotel with friendly and attentive staff and a strong desire to take care of the guests. We have been in a "Classic Double" in the main hotel. It is large, quiet, nicely furnished, and perfectly clean. The location is absolutely perfect with access to both sides of the river, but back far enough from the Charles Bridge crowd that you don't hear it. We have eaten twice at the hotel restaurant (very good) and once at Tri Stoleti just down the street (outstanding). The highlight of our trip to Prague however had to be our private guide, Petr Zidek. We had a highly educated and discerning good friend in the country. We highly recommend him.

Helpful?
Thank renoel14
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
The location is perfect- right next to Charles bridge.
The service is perfect. Eva was graceful, helpful and nothing was ever a problem. We kept being surprised with nice little presents and surprises. She also organized several trips for us.
We stayed in room 125, which is across the road from the main building. I was nervous about this but shouldn't have been. The rooms have comfy modern decor but also real old charm and character - the wooden stairs are worn and polished with hollows from a hundred years of footsteps. There was a cosy heated wooden parquet floor. The beds were amazing.
We ate at the restaurant and I had some of the best lamb of my life.
At breakfast they made us fresh cappuccinos.
I kept looking for something- anything- not to be perfect and never found it.
Cannot recommend this place highly enough

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineQLD112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just back from my 50th birthday trip to Prague (12-16 April) and enjoyed this hotel (and the rest of the trip) so much that I wanted to write my first Trip Advisor review. We booked this hotel based on other great reviews and were not the tiniest bit disappointed. This is a little jewel. So very quiet even though the hotel is just at end of Charles Bridge - Pod Vezi means 'Hotel by the Bridge' we were told. So whilst we were literally only 7mins max from Old Town Square we had the advantage of being away from the big crowds when we wanted peace and quiet. The hotel roof terrace provides some private outside space and we were able to relax there and enjoy the first spring sunshine after our days spent pounding the cobbles of around Praha. Our room was in the Dependance building and was large with really comfy beds. Only tiny personal preference would be one big duvet rather than two smaller ones but despite not being great sleepers we slept really well all 4 nights so maybe we should try this at home! Breakfasts were superb; from the freshly squeezed orange juice to the huge ham you carved yourself; to the porridge, danish pastries and cappucinos/espressos we loved it all - best meal of the day. Staff were lovely and all very friendly - the little gifts of chocolate, fruit etc each day were a welcome extra touch. Hotel residents get 15% discount at the Pod Vezi Restaurant and the Cafe Creperie beside the Dependance and we found both great. We honestly could not recommend Hotel Pod Vezi enough and if we go back to Prague (I really hope so) we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. I have been trying to come up with a negative to make this review sound more realistic but I can't without being extremely picky. If you are reading this review save yourself some time and book Pod Vezi - I hope you enjoy it as much as we did - I'm jealous just thinking about it!!

Room Tip: Haven't stayed in the main hotel but Room 134 in the Dependance was great and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrekBidieIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed four nights in this hotel during April 2013.
Best possible location, we explore the town walking from the hotel. 5 minutes to the public transport if you prefer not to walk.
Great staff – professional, nice and helpful.
Nice breakfast, nice rooms (we stayed in the Dependence building in Superior room, booked since the standard wasn’t available) – simple, spotless and comfortable.
The nice bonus was the little treats each day – nice touch.
Definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sggali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel is FAR better than it looks in the pictures. As everyone says, the location is perfect, but the staff are even better, so friendly and helpful. also, I like the fact they leave you along and the cleaners don't come knocking on the door at 9am to clean out the room. they really could do not enough for us and i would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone who like me want a bit of character and does not like chain hotels. The breakfast was fine, nothing exciting, but perfectly acceptable. we didnt eat there for lunch or dinner but there is so much to choose from nearby there was no need.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Pod Věží Depandance which is opposite the main hotel and more like an apartment. we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraashleyfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I spent a total of five nights spread out in two visits. I was in the "depandance" building both times, which was just fine. The short walk to the breakfast room outside was no big deal. I was in the back of the "depandance" building, which meant there was no view, but the rooms were utterly quiet, which is all I really look for in a hotel. The rooms were clean and well designed. The staff was really knowledgeable. Usually, that sort of thing isn't important but in this case it helped out on a number of occasions. We had to leave at 4:00 a.m. for the airport and the taxi they arranged was ready and waiting, and for a very fair price. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the metro and a 2 minute walk to a tram stop. I used both frequently. I also walked to the Old City in about 10 minutes. I have nothing negative to say about the Pod Vezi. I wish there was a hotel like this in every City I stayed in.

Room Tip: If you value quiet, ask for a room at the back of their secondary building, which they call the &quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vulpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Property: Hotel Pod Vezi
Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel set in two historical neighbouring buildings and located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive area and visited area of Prague it is proud of its quite and calm atmosphere. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing