We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of what a good boutique small hotel should be about”
Review of Hotel Pod Vezi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pod Vezi
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The epitome of what a good boutique small hotel should be about”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We chose the Hotel Pod Vezi for a short break in Prague because of the tripAdvisor reviews and its location and must say that it deserves the accolades.
Prague is a wonderful and easy city to walk around and the Pod Vezi`s location on the west end of the Charles Bridge could not be better, being midway between the Old Town (the easiest of walks) and the Castle (a bit uphill but you can always use the tram).
We stayed in the Depondance building for 3 nights, which is just a few metres around the corner from the main building. The room was very clean, well furnished, more than large enough and very comfortable. it was on the top floor which involved a few extra steps but to moan about that would just be petty!
All of the staff we encountered were universally happy, informative, unfailingly polite and efficient (we wondered if this is down to just good training or a national trait- or both perhaps?).
We also ate in both the Restaurant and the Creperie and they were up to the same standard as the hotel (the Creperie in particular offers a bewildering choice)
This is certainly one of the very best small hotels we have encountered- it gets my vote.

Room Tip: Our room in the top floor of the Depondance involved a three-floor elevator and a further 14 steps u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,371
    188
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
372
1,655
78
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great Location and great room. Excellent staff who helped make our stay in Prague memorable!
Discount offered to guests at their restaurant. don't forget to ask for free pass to tower bridge if they forget to offer it to you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St. Annes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed here for a 3 night break recently and absolutely loved it - a perfect base from which to explore the city. The location is superb - a lovely quiet hotel just minutes walk away from the bustle of the city centre. Our room (22) was beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean and with a wonderfully comfy bed. Breakfasts were lovely and varied and the evening meals we took in the restaurant were absolutely delicious. Unfortunately, I was unwell for part of our stay and the hotel staff without exception could not have been kinder or more helpful. The level of customer service here is exceptionally high. Very highly recommended and we would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickedshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for two nights. Prior to booking this hotel I was informed to expect the most enjoyable stay by friends who'd stayed previously. We were not disappointed. The room was in the new annex away from the Main Street. The appointments in the room including bathroom, bed comfort and furnishings were selected by people who really know what travellers want. Comfort, peace, security, impressive decor/amenities and, friendly, hepful staff. We were successful on all fronts. The Reception staff is so obliging and prefessional. We were escorted to our room by Martin (there are four Martins at the hotel including the restaurant manager).and shown all amenities. The location is at The Charles Bridge and you can walk between here and the City & Mala Strana with ease. It has easy acces to magnificent shopping, restaurants (don't under estimate the hotel restaurant. The Pork Shank is to die for) markets and just a 15 minute walk isthe funicular to the castle, gardens and monastory (breathtaking views from both the castle and the monastory).This hotel totally exceeded our expectations and I recommend it whole heartedly.

Room Tip: The new annex is very quiet and recently refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We arrived at Pod Vezi in late October 2013 for a three night stay to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We arrived late evening to a warm and extremely friendly welcome and we immediately got the sense of what this place is - a small, friendly family-run hotel of high quality. We believe it has just 28 rooms.
We were immediately given a whole range of tips on Prague, some helpful do's and don'ts for moving around the city, and a free pass for whenever we wanted it to go to the top of the tower next to the Hotel.
The Hotel is right at the end of the famous Charles Bridge on the Castle side in a quiet little enclave to one side. It is in an ideal spot to hit all of the key landmarks.
The room was superb, the bed extremely comfortable and there was a welcome pack surprise waiting for us in the room. Indeed there was a surprise of some sort left for us each night including a small bottle of bubbly one night. Breakfast was good and varied with a full range of options to choose from in buffet style within the small attractive restaurant.
We do not usually eat in hotel restaurants as we like to explore the local cuisine but we chose to this time as it looked so inviting. We were not disappointed.
We adored Prague, loved our visit and will return there at some point in the future. We will certainly ensure that we book a room at the Pod Vezi again when we do. Cannot recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the street as this is such a lovely part of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Pod Vezi for a week recently. The location is at the end of Charles Bridge and within walking distance of most of the major sites in Prague and close to excellent public transportation.

We arrived a 8:00 am tired from an overnight train and much too early to check in. Immediately the person at the desk took us to the restaurant for a sumptuous breakfast at the hotel's expense. Everyone on the staff made us feel comfortable and valued, like true guests rather than customers.

The breakfast included with the room was great with fresh coffee or cappuccino, real freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruits, croissants, breads, cheeses, ham, salami, cereals, etc. Everything high quality as well as the service.

Our room in the annex was large, comfortable and sunny with a refrigerator and safe and a large cabinet for our clothes and robes. The bathroom did not have a counter to lay things out. While it was not a bad bathroom it was not at the level of the rest of the hotel.

The front desk staff found us two excellent private guides after stumbling with the first guide from Greyline for a group. What was most important was the culture of the Hotel Pod Vezi staff which wanted to make sure everything was right and to the highest level of service possible.
Hotel Pod Vezi is a really great hotel for this reason and a great value as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnhenrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Couldn't ask for a better location. Within walking distance of all the sites. Front desk staff Very helpful in finding sites. Breakfast was the best we had on our one month trip. Rooms were good except for shower. See room suggestion. On site outdoor restaurant good with good food and good people watching. 15%discount for hotel guests.

Room Tip: If you don't like taking a bath, ask for a room with a shower. We didn't think about that an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prague hotels
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Hotel Residence Agnes
Hotel Residence Agnes
#1 of 649 in Prague
3,060 reviews
Stare Mesto (Old Town)
Unitas Hotel
Unitas Hotel
#10 of 649 in Prague
1,675 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Golden Well Hotel
Golden Well Hotel
#3 of 649 in Prague
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mala Strana (Little Quarter)
Aria Hotel Prague by Library Hotel Collection
Nove Mesto (New Town)
BoHo Prague Hotel
BoHo Prague Hotel
#6 of 649 in Prague
743 reviews
Hradcany & Letna
Questenberk
Questenberk
#11 of 649 in Prague
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pod Vezi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pod Vezi

Property: Hotel Pod Vezi
Address: Mostecka 58/2 | Prague 1 - Mala Strana, Prague 118 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Prague > Mala Strana (Little Quarter) , Praha 1
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 649 Hotels in Prague
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pod Vezi 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pod Vezi is 4* boutique hotel set in two historical neighbouring buildings and located in the city center right beside the famous Charles Bridge! Despite it is located in the most attractive area and visited area of Prague it is proud of its quite and calm atmosphere. Free wi-fi and coffee/tea making facilities are at your disposal in all rooms! All important sightseeings like Prague Castle, Charles Bridge, Old Town Square, Jewish Cemetery, National Theater, etc. are in walking distance from hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pod Vezi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing